We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking - In the real heart of the Amazon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tefe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tefe
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking - In the real heart of the Amazon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Between all of the 'eco-lodges' that are more akin to full-fledged tourist traps, the Uakari Floating Lodge is an authentic gem I'd recommend to anyone who is looking for a real experience. You are surrounded by the sights, sounds, and smells of thousands of species of animals - not to mention the black caimans that tend to swim near the lodge (they're harmless if you don't disturb them). One of the best trips I've ever been on. A++++

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFung88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are working here to provide to all of you a great (and real) experience at the Amazon floodplain. we are very happy that you enjoyed stay with us and had such a great trip.

It will be see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    36
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
69
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Uacari is an incredibly unique place. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in issues of sustainability and seeking a deeper appreciation for Amazonas. Uacari is clearly mission driven and dedicated to the preservation of both the reserve.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Anna, thank you so much for recommend us! It´s very important to our work here.

We hope to host you at Uakari Lodge again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Uacari lodge is very unique. Literally in the middle of the Amazon, for you to enjoy a very relaxing time, see amazing birds migration on the sunset and getting to know about the not well known reality of the Brazilian people that live in the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Juliana, Thank you so much for you comment.
It was great have you here and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Uakari lodge is located in a wonderful location, floating in the middle of the river.
The sounds of the birds, fishes, monkeys and other animals is just marvelous

Best of all, this lodge is community run and aims at generating income for the indigenous people in the area.

Go and check it out! You will love it

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed stay with us and also for recommended us!

Was really great have you here! We hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, US
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I loved how isolated the lodge was. It is nested in the reserve, on the river and truly allow visitors to experience the Amazon, see the birds, monkeys, caymans, river dolphins and all the nature in its original state. If you want to see really what the Amazon is like, come and stay here.
The lodge is administered by the development reserve and integrating closely with the local communities that work and are guides for the visitors. The goal is to have the communities independently run this business eventually. This is a noble, sustainable mission that you I am happy I helped with.
I was very surprised at the high level of service and room quality given the location. But it was super clean, and the rooms are cute!

I wanted to meet the locals, discover the beauty of the forest and the animals in their home... Uakari did deliver in style !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyrilFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações públicas at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoy stayed with us. Be sure that you became a part of our mission just visiting us. Thank you so much.

Uakari Lodge staff had a great time with you! And we hope to see you in another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Truly unique experience!

Just few facts that made it unforgettable:
1) It was a 36-hour (slow) boat ride from Manaus to Tefe and then extra ~2 hours to reach the Reserve itself. No mobile range. Surrounded by water and the jungle. All combined gives you a sense of how remote the location you're heading to
2) Abundant wild life - sometimes hard to spot, sometimes extremely easy (2-hour hike through the forest with no single sighting, then 4 monkey species in 15 minutes; dozens of caymans all around - 19 spotted on a very first boat ride, quite often getting very close to floating houses; lots of pink and grey dolphins; thousands of birds)
3) Interesting activities - great mix of what you can expect in such surroundings - day and night hiking, canoeing, motor boat rides, sleeping in the jungle (on a 5-meter high wooden platform) and more
4) Educational value and sustainability aspects - you actually learn about the reserve itself, endemic animals, lifestyle of local inhabitants, and research work going on to protect local species; lots of locals working at the lodge; minimizing impact on local ecosystem - you really get the feeling that you're taking only pictures and leaving only footprints
5) Comfort - large rooms, all areas/rooms/toilets kept clean all the time, no problems with electricity (we were encouraged to save energy but no problems with charging cameras/ mobile phones), quite decent wi-fi Internet connection, great food

Room Tip: All rooms are equally brilliant! (floating on the water in the middle of the jungle, open to sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adammwos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We are very glad that your stay with us was above all expectations!! It´s very good read all you wrote to keep up with the good work in such an important conservation area as Mamirauá Reserve!

We hope to see you in another opportunity, maybe during the wet season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We wanted to visit somewhere deep in the Amazon region, far from the cities and crowds. We found Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge at Mamiraua Reserve, and it was an excellent choice. It was amazing how comfortable and welcoming a place Uakari was in such a remote location. The meals were excellent. The cabin was spacious. The beds were perfect for a good night's sleep. The views were terrific. Uakari Lodge provided boat transportation and guides to allow us to see a small portion of the vast Amazon forest. The guides gave us a great opportunity to see the beautiful wildlife of the Amazon, to explore the forest and river, and to visit local villages. Mamiraua Reserve does good work to protect the forest and the wildlife and to support the indigenous people of the Amazon. Glad we went there. The visit was a highlight of this trip in South America.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uacari, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
How lovely know that your experience with us was so great!

We are working hard to improve this very important Ecotourism project and have a good feedback, such as yours, is very positive to keep up with the good work!!

Hope to see you in another opportunity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tefe
Amazon Tarzan Lodge
#4 of 12 in Careiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#19 of 215 in Amazon River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
City Center
Hotel Cuca Legal
Hotel Cuca Legal
#3 of 7 in Presidente Figueiredo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge

Property: Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Address: Reserva de Desenvolvimento Sustentavel Mamiraua | Mamiraua Sustainable Development Reserve, Tefe, State of Amazonas, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Tefe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tefe
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Uacari is located in Mamiraua Sustainable Development Reserve, in the heart of Amazon.Mamiraua was the first sustainable development reserve in Brazil and is a world Natural Heritage site. The reserve is one the most important protected tropical forest blocks in the world and harbors a rich ecosystem home to endemic species, such as the exotic bald uacari monkey and the black-headed squirrel monkey.The lodge floats peacefully above water and consists of 05 comfortable bungalows with an exceptional location from where you set off on tours to see fauna, interact with residents from local communities and meet researchers who work on the reserve.Pousada Uacari is an initiative of the community-based tourism program of Mamiraua Institute. It is administrated through shared management between the Institute and the communities of the reserve. The objective of Pousada Uacari is to generate income for local residents and promote the conservation of natural resources. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge Tefe, Brazil - AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing