We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
181
40
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
40
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal communitiesdry seasonhowler monkeysflooded foresteco tourismpousada uacarifishthe riverpink dolphinsthe entire staffrainy seasonsolar powerenglish speakingamazon basinlocal staffwonderful experienceprivate guide
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 229 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although it has been two years since I traveled to Pousada Uacari the experience has remained. I took the fast boat up from Manaus, spent an evening in Tefe, and was picked up to be delivered to this magical location. To be in the center of the Amazon enveloped by unaccustomed sound and visual luxury is not to be missed. The dug-out canoe excursion opened the door to an eco paradise. But be prepared for what the Amazon has to offer: snakes, spiders, jacari, an explosion of unfettered wildlife. My only regret was not being able to stay much, much longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying in a floating lodge in the middle of the Amazon jungle means a few things: jus the basics, no luxury, no comfortable sofa, no air-conditioning, no glass in the windows (just bug screens and shutters), no socket in your room, limited electricity, and you might find the odd cockroach in your bathroom.
But, considering that this lodge IS floating in the middle of the jungle, they do a remarkable job of providing everything you need. The beds are pretty comfortable and come with mosquito nets. We didn't sleep much on the first night, because the jungle is quite noisy at night. On the second and third nights we were used to the different sounds and slept much better. Our shower had plenty of hot water and excellent pressure (not always the case in rural pousadas).
Besides a bed and a shower, you will need food. I was surprised by the meals. They are typical Brazilian, home-cooked meals, consisting of a salad, rice, beans, often a potato dish, a chicken dish, and a fish dish- All ingredients are fresh and everything is VERY tasty. There is also more than enough. Desserts are even better than the main courses! For breakfast there are lots of fresh fruits, and a different fresh fruit juice is served with every meal.
You can also order drinks from the small bar menu (beer, wines, soft drinks, caipirinhas).
At night many bugs and the animals that eat them (bats, small lizards) put in an appearance, so you will need insect repellent. There are always plenty of caiman around the lodge too (no repellent available for them, just keep your distance - meaning don't go swimming).
The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The guides are very knowledgeable and are incredibly good at spotting birds and other wildlife.
The activities are varied and interesting, and complete the unique Amazon experience you will have by staying in this pousada.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, and there are only twenty.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Pousada Uakari is a very unique and special place, a floating lodge in the middle of a natural reserve, a little paradise with amazing excursions everyday, lovely staff, and delicious food. A fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc0nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The thought that we are spending the last week of our amazing Brazil journey, in the heart of the Amazon jungle surrounded by the rain forest and the beautiful river with the nearest village 100kms away by boat seemed like the perfect finale to this wonderful trip. We began this journey from Manaus, the capital of Amazonia state. Most tourists visit parts of the Amazon around Manaus due to east access to cheap accommodation as well as modern amenities.

Wanting to be as close as possible to “the real Amazon” we headed 500kms away to Tefe from where we took a boat to reach the beautiful Mamiraua reserve. A lot of people are disappointed by the Amazon expecting it to be a replica of national geographic footages showing man eating piranhas, playful dolphins and other exotic creatures. Finding that it takes many hours of hiking or patiently waiting to actually spot these amazing animals in their true element and the certain impossibility of finding grass clad, spear toting tribals is a reality you need to know before you plan a trip to the Amazon. The Amazon is quietly dangerous and, as we found out later, walking through the forest you are on equal ground with the wild, no safe trails, no ropes to climb with and no safety signs anywhere. Just you and nature at its wildest.

Mamiraua reserve promises nothing but delivers on every count with a magical location and limited access. The reserve is in a protected part of the Amazon, 1.124.000 hectares in size dedicated to research and protection of its natural resources. Pousada Uacari, named after the Uacari monkey found only in the Mamiraua reserve, is a tiny portion of the reserve available for ecotourism and the only place to stay in the reserve. 10 basic cottages are available, 20 guests are allowed at a time. Each cottage is made of floating logs and thatch and joined by floating walkways leading back to a central lodge with reception area, restaurant, bar, TV room, library and conference room. Here you will be treated like family where every employee knows you by name and where your needs are met even before you have a chance to ask. The rooms are basic, but considering that you are in the middle of nowhere it is a luxury. In the river surrounding the room are huge Pirarucus, fish more than 3 meters long splashing around and jumping every five minutes to take a huge breath of air. Needless to say, it is unbelievably hot and the temptation to jump into the waters is strong but the giant alligators (jakare), clouds of piranhas and tales of the largest anaconda living right here in front of our lodge make us happily suffer the heat to the alternative. The surrounding rainforest is full of different species of moneys and birds and is a bird watchers and photographers paradise!!! Eco tourism is not just a name here it is a way of life. The entire pousada runs on solar power for lighting and hot water, has a rainwater collection system, and a sewage filtration system and the local indigenous people manage and run the lodge. The local communities are educated, informed about the benefits of preservation and have been taught to live sustainably. The money from guests goes mostly to the communities and the rest to the research going on in the reserve. While fulfilling our dream of being in the Amazon knowing that every cent of the money we spend here goes towards protecting and preserving this special place is very satisfying.

Our itinerary included plenty of river trips on a canoe, long hikes into the forest, visits to the local communities, visits to research centers ( dolphins and Jaguar) and informative presentations about the reserve. We were here during the dry season in September but we learnt that this is also the world's largest floodplain. Every year an area the size of England gets flooded up to the tree tops (a 40 feet rise in water level) for six months which turns the forest floor into an underwater world! The communities living here have adapted to this water rise by building houses on stilts, floating houses, floating grass pastures for the cows and little floating islands of vegetables for their food.

We are vegetarian but were well taken care off, although we had less options than the others. There is fresh fruit, juices, tea/coffee available all day long. The only issue we had was that, after we were dropped back at Tefe by boat we were taken to a restaurant without much vegetarian options, in spite of repeatedly reminding them of our dietary restrictions. Just a minor hiccup in otherwise a wonderful tour!

There's always a tourist guide at the lodge who speaks English (usually a research or tourism student doing their internship at the lodge). This guide meet all the guests at Tefe and are always involved in all the activities and translate what the local guides are saying from Portuguese to English. We were there for four nights/five days. Because all stays are scheduled to begin on a Monday or Friday, guests arrive together and over the length of the stay strangers from different parts of the world have usually become friends, which makes the entire experience very special. We will definitely visit again...maybe in the flooded season to experience a different Amazon!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A floating lodge in the bend of the river-you couldn't pick a better location for a stay in the Amazon.
The lodge is very comfortable considering where you are. The rooms are spacious and the hammocks on the balcony are an ideal way to pass a siesta in the afternoon. We spent 3nights here with family but in hindsight wished we had booked a couple more days. There is wildlife to be seen from the lodge itself-lizards caiman Boto (pink dolphins) many birds and pirarucu which come up regularly to breath.
We had thought that we would be irritated by Mosquitos seeing as we were on the river for the whole of the stay but to be fair the insects are only really a problem at night. The rooms have mosquito nets which you really need and we took deet insect repellant and anti mosquito clothing which I think really helped. We did get a few bites but I am convinced it would have been worse without the precautions we took. Food at the lodge is very good. We are vegetarian and this wasn't a problem for the kitchen staff to cater for. One night we even had Amazonian pizza!!!. There is fresh fruit and juices available and tea/coffee is available all day long. When we booked our stay we had understood that drinks are not included but you get water juice with meals and tea/coffee it's only soft drinks like coke etc and alcoholic drinks that you have to purchase additionally and these are very reasonably priced.
We really enjoyed meal times as we were there with some great guests and the banter around the table was fun.
We did see a lot of wildlife but the experience is different to say the Pantanal, as animals have a much bigger area to hide in and also the forest at the time we visited is flooded which makes accessibility harder. In the evenings we had talks about the conservation efforts by the local community groups and one night some researchers working with the Boto (pink dolphins) gave a fantastic presentation on the work being done on these fascinating animals. We wanted to see the famous Uakari monkey but unfortunately didn't manage it in the time we had.
The lodge uses local guides who don't speak any English so sometimes it's difficult to appreciate the knowledge that they have, however this doesn't detract from the overall experience as they carry guide books with pictures of the wildlife so that they can point things out to you.
We felt we had a very authentic amazon experience the location is unspoilt and with minimal human impact. The location of the lodge is beautiful tranquil and totally natural. Sleep quality at night depends on how lightly you sleep the jungle is a noisy place, but it was part of the whole jungle experience and we loved it, the caiman that lives under the lodge happened to spend its time at night under our room and thoughtfully shared his antics with us which again all added to an experience we will not be forgetting in a hurry.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same quality.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManchesterKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews