We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
181
40
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
40
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal communitiesdry seasonhowler monkeysflooded foresteco tourismpousada uacarifishthe riverpink dolphinsthe entire staffrainy seasonsolar powerenglish speakingamazon basinlocal staffwonderful experienceprivate guide
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 229 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Pousada Uacari & absolutely loved it. The program is the best example of Eco-tourism we've experienced. One thing I want to highlight is the emphasis the lodge puts on high-quality food & keeping you well-hydrated. Water was never a concern. Light sleepers might want to bring ear plugs. The fish & caiman can keep you awake during the dry season as they jump against the cabins at night. We saw lots of animals on the tours, including 3 breeds of monkey, including the namesake, & thousands of birds, fish, & caiman. They give presentations on the reserve in different forms--movies, on boat, & they even brought in a jaguar researcher. It's expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a truly great place and offers an amazing and unique Amazon jungle experience – but beware, the conditions won’t be to everyone’s liking.

The hotel is well managed and very efficient. You are looked after from the moment you get off your plane in Tefe to the moment you check in to leave. After a brief car ride to the river, a boat takes you to the lodge – which takes between an hour and 2 hours depending on the size of boat.

The accommodation is what you might call rustic or basic - you’re in a wooden hut floating on the river. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in September. This is the end of the wet season so bugs and mosquitoes were few and far between. But it’s still reassuring to have good mosquito nets over each of the twin beds. The ensuite bathroom has running water and a flushing loo (waste water is treated). A small terrace area outside your room has hammocks for you to recline in after lunch. Our only complaint with the room was that the small bedside fans weren’t very effective in cooling you down in such hot and humid conditions. Surely the rooms could have larger, more effective fans?

Most of your stay at Uakari revolves around boat rides on the river (either in canoes or motor boats). As it was the start of the dry season and the river level had dropped and the forest trails were clear, we also did a forest walk.

In terms of wildlife viewing, it was excellent and in 3 days we saw several mammals, including the river dolphins, Uakari monkey and two types of sloth, as well as loads of beautiful birds. Cayman are everywhere. You go to sleep at night listening to the giant Pirarucu fish slapping the water surface as they come up to breathe.

As well as wildlife viewing in the reserve, the lodge arranges other activities, and we visited a local village (where an interesting village guide told us how his community lives) and the dolphin research station (also a floating log cabin in which we got a talk from one of the dolphin researchers).

It’s a magical place and our stay was fantastic, made more so by the great staff. The guides are warm and informative (though only one had good English, the others just about got by). Every tour started spot on time. The cook was amazing and each day served tasty fresh meals, including a veggie option.

Overall it was an unforgettable trip. We will try to go back and would recommend it to anyone else who is after a genuine Amazon experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swiss_voyagerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 5 days at the Uacari floating lodge and will never forget it. The wildlife was totally stunning!! The companys attention to conservation and sustainability was supported by a wonderful staff and led by our lovely guide Iris. This trip is highly reccomended and worth the money.
Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millsy2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We both absolutely loved this lodge and our 5 day stay here was the highlights of our 3 weeks in Brazil! You have to take a one hour flight, a 14h speed boat or 2 day slow boat to Tefe from Manaus and it is then a 1-1.5h boat trip to the lodge. This is probably partly what makes this such an amazing experience as you are right in the middle of the rain forest, but if you want air condition, a room with all the modcons and a swimming pool this might not be the place for you.

The lodge only has 10 rooms so the maximum number of guests at any time is 20 and it was only 7 of us for the 5 days we were there. The rooms are a bit bare (see photos) but clean and we absolutely loved the balcony and every afternoon was spent lying in the hammock looking out at the river (there are very few mosquitoes here, probably because of the fast flowing river). The day would start at six when just after our alarm the howler monkeys would start howling accompanied by an amazing sunrise. It was then time for breakfast which normally consisted of fruit, bread and jam before we went on our morning excursions at 7. On the first day we went to a local community which was really interesting and we also had the chance to swim (the swimming pool is only up in the dry season). The other days we went on canoe trips (the same trails are done by foot in the dry season) with a local guide who spoke no English but was excellent at spotting wildlife. We would normally come back just after 11 and have a short break before lunch at noon. Lunch would consist of rice, beans, salad, one chicken, one fish and one vegetable dish as well as desert. We then had an afternoon siesta before going out again from 3.30- c6 where we would either go out in a canoe or the whole group together in a bigger boat, in which case an English speaking naturalist would come. One evening we also went up to Mamiraua lake and drove back in the dark looking for caimans. Dinner was served at 7 and had the same number of dishes as lunch. The food is simple but very good and varied and you get to try a number of local dishes. All the meals were accompanied by fresh fruit juices and water, coffee and tea is always available (at no cost).

Seasons – June and July is what they call the flooded season and I have to say that floating through the forest in a canoe was amazing. The Amazon in Brazil is as far as I understand the only area where this happens and if you can I would really try to come at this time of year. This is also the best time to see animals as you are about 10m closer to the tree tops where all the monkeys are than in the dry season. The dry season starts in August with September being the driest month and the wettest month is February and I think the months either side are very wet too. We had two heavy rain storms in the night when we were there and it is actually quite amazing to see how much it can rain here!

Animals – the Uakari monkey with its red face is what most people really wanted to see and 5 out of the 7 of us saw that while here. We also saw lots of howler, capuchin, spider and squirrel (black and common) monkeys as well as 7 sloths, 3 coaties, a number of birds including many types of green parrots and two types of toucan and grey and pink dolphins. There are lots of caimans here with a couple living in and around the lodge. The best time for seeing caimans is the dry season when you apparently sometimes even get them on the lodge walkways… Piranha fishing can only be done in the dry season. We saw lots of animals but they were all quite far away and although the wildlife viewing is better in the Pantanal the scenery and experience in Amazon is not to be missed!

We have travelled a lot and we both agreed that this is maybe the best travel experiences we have had! We have already started talking about going back in the dry season to see the difference.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KDBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My brother, sister and I stayed here for a 3-day package in July 2012. In hindsight, i wish we had stayed for 4.

Flying into Tefe, you are picked up by the hotel by the lodge's employees. Odds are people on your flight are also heading to the lodge. After a quick bus ride down to the docks, you are on a boat and off to the lodge. If you go during the flooded season (as we did), that will be the last you touch land until you come back to Tefe.

From Tefe, it's a 60-90ish minute boat ride to the lodge. As we approached the lodge for the first time, I knew we had made the right decision. Pulling up to a floating structure in the bend of a river in the middle of an Amazonian flooded forest is a memory I won't forget.

After a quick introduction (and signing a document saying you understand there are all sorts of animals around you that can do you harm), you settle in your room. Our 3-person room was more than adequate. We made good use of the hammocks on the balcony during downtime. And the mosquito nets were invaluable.

The main lodge serves all meals. Lunch and dinner usually consisted of both fish and chicken options with the fish being locally caught. The types of fish changed every day. It was definitely good eating. There's a small bar in the lodge that will sell you beer brought in from Tefe at (what I thought were) really good prices.

This lodge is an educational experience for travelers, so your days are planned out for you. You are up with the sunrise, and then it's time for breakfast and you're out for a morning activity by 7. You'll be back by 11 where you'll eat lunch and then rest during the hot period of the day. And at 3:30 you're out again for an afternoon activity. Then you're back for dinner. Then there's a presentation about something pertaining to the reserve - whether it's animal research or about the lodge itself, and it's bedtime.

I was excited about the canoe trips through the flooded forest, and they were magical, but one of the highlights for me was going to visit one of the local communities within the reserve and learning how people live in/with the river year-round. It was really a great educational experience.

Can't really think of many negatives other than you should know what you're getting into before you go here. This lodge is in the middle of nowhere! If that's attractive for you, great! You'll love it. If that's scary for you, this place may be too much for you to handle. There is no air conditioning. There are lots of bugs (don't forget repellent!). We had a large frog living in our bathroom during our stay - at first it freaked us out, but we came to make him our room's mascot. There are bats that fly around the rafters outside your room, and we saw a couple get into the main lodge. When you go on a ride through the flooded forest, large spiders will definitely jump into your canoe. Our guides kept on telling us of caimans that have been known to swim up onto the lodge's structure. You are in the middle of the Amazon, so be expecting these things!

But those minor inconveniences are part of the charm of the place. And there's so much more to enjoy - you wake up to the screams of howler monkeys mixed in with all sorts of other birds and monkeys. The sunsets are breathtaking. The stars are unbelievable. You'll see all sorts of birds and monkeys - we were lucky enough to see the uakari monkey....a monkey so rare that the only place in the world it exists is around the lodge. We spotted a few pink river dolphins.....And the whole time you'll be floating in the Amazon river system.

It's an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank webegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews