We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic...the real amazon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tefe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tefe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“magic...the real amazon”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed on a 4 day package in December 2011. I specifically chose this lodge as it is a sustainable development project that involves and benefits the local community as well as being far enough into the amazon to experience it as the awesome place it truly is. the wildlife, nature viewing, the floating cabins, the food, the people...every single part was as imagined and truly a magical experience. the lodge is not a 'mainstream' lodge that is easily accessible, however if you choose to visit, you will not be disappointed. this place gave me access to the amazon i imagined.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minimoonflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    37
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
76
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Want the best of the Amazon rainforest and at the same a relaxing stay with no worries? Go to Uacari Lodge. A bit expensive, but still worth the money. Everything fixed from you depart the plane till you board it again some days later.

All food is natural from the forest, with lots to chose from. You will never leave the dining room hungry. The service from the guides? Exelent!

Only two things to put my finger on:
- The guides does not speek very good English if any at all.
- If you arrive by anything other than plane you need to find the office yourself (there is no pickup).

Conclution? Most relaxing place and serviceminded people in a very long time!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the lodge on the 4 day package. Yes -its an adventure even getting to the lodge but it's all worth it !. We saw pink river dolphins ( boto), sloths, caimans,loads of birds. We were kept awake by giant piraricu fish slapping against the side of our floating bedroom. The staff were amazing and the food was good. I was rather ill during my stay ( probably due to the harsh effects of anti -malarials which I did NOT need ... despite what the GP said ) and the staff were briliant. It's a magical place- the rain forest smells of fruitcake and you soon get used to being woken each morning by the noise of the howler monkeys. I didn't realise a 10 foot black caiman slept under our bedroom .Don't be surprised if you walk over for breakfast and you find you've met a caiman crossing over the walkway. At this point you may scream very loudly and the caiman will hiss at you and disappear asap... what an experience !
Like other comments , its not for your 'normal 'holiday type person . But if you care about the environment and want to be inspired go to Mamirua and stay at Uakari.I plan on returning . Top tip - take your own wind up torch or headlight.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellar00ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012


We spent three nights here and loved it. The chalets and lodge are in the middle of the river. You can hear the sounds of the birds and jungle animals all around you. It is very peaceful. The rooms are built on 14 year old floating logs and are very spacious. Each chalet has two rooms, a verandah with hammocks and lounging chairs where one can spend time watching caimans in the water around you, many flocks of birds and listening to the howler monkeys. There is a small swimming pool near the main building and it is fenced to keep out the caimans. The location of the pool depends on the force of the current  which was quite strong during our stay.

Our beds were very comfortable,  the solar heated shower was excellent and there was an unlimited supply of bottled water available. All walls have large shuttered and screened windows so are well ventilated. During a terrific thunderstorm with incredible winds and lightning we were dry and cool.  There was a very good mosquito net over each bed which we used at night. There was no Internet connection during our stay.

All meals are included and they were all very good with at least one dish typical of the region at every meal. The bartender also makes a wicked passion fruit caipirinha. Meals were served in the main building. On the second floor of this building there is a small library with DVDs of the Reserve and its research.

This is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed a week at this wonderful lodge. The individual floating cabins are very spacious, bright and comfortable. The food is incredible and varied- very impressive considering the remote location. The experience was great from the start to finish. Our guide made every attempt to make sure that our outings were special. We saw a lot of wildlife during our stay including the Uakari monkey on our fifth day. We thought we were extremely lucky to see a whole troupe at a relatively good distance. During our stay we also briefly spotted a harpy eagle- very rare. This lodge gives you the opportunity to really commune with nature unlike other lodges located too closely to Manaus. The outings were very informative and educational. We spotted pink and grey dolphins, various types of monkeys, heard the pirarucu under our cabin, observed the caiman near the property and enjoyed the sight of numerous species of birds. The visits to local communities were also very worthwhile. Overall,
this lodge represents great value for money for those who want to really experience the Amazon. We'd love to return.

Room Tip: All cabins are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Wow! What an experience! We dreamed of seeing the amazon, but never imagined it would be this awesome. If you are looking for the best nature viewing on the planet, uakari is the only place to go. It is not for the tourist at heart, but if you are looking for the true amazon experience, this place will blow your mind. The staff was extremely knowledgeable. The lodge was in a pristine environment. We saw everything we wanted to see. It was a perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherGallivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Uacari Lodge is a truly amazing place. If you want to experience the real Amazon, where it's still pristine and untamed: go here. It's not so easy to get there, but once you're there, you'll have an unforgettable experience. The staff is very very helpful and friendly, and care about individual wishes you might have. The food is good, the lodge is clean and nice and the location is simply fantastic. A true eco-lodge. The money you pay, is not for some rich boss, but goes directly into the eco project. All the trips we made were spectaculair. On top of that, our stay was also educational. We got interesting presentations about the Marimaua Reserve and we visited researchers who know all about the flora and fauna. The Marimaua Reserve is packed with animals. We saw lots of caimans, piracurus, howler monkeys, squirrel monkeys, capuchin monkeys, uacari monkeys, river dolphins, sloths, bats, tarantulas, and many many birds like hoatzins and macaws. Simply amazing! The Uacari Lodge is a remote place, away from civilization, and gives you a chance to experience nature at its purest. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathalijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge

Property: Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge
Address: Reserva de Desenvolvimento Sustentavel Mamiraua | Mamiraua Sustainable Development Reserve, Tefe, State of Amazonas, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Tefe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tefe
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Uacari is located in Mamiraua Sustainable Development Reserve, in the heart of Amazon.Mamiraua was the first sustainable development reserve in Brazil and is a world Natural Heritage site. The reserve is one the most important protected tropical forest blocks in the world and harbors a rich ecosystem home to endemic species, such as the exotic bald uacari monkey and the black-headed squirrel monkey.The lodge floats peacefully above water and consists of 05 comfortable bungalows with an exceptional location from where you set off on tours to see fauna, interact with residents from local communities and meet researchers who work on the reserve.Pousada Uacari is an initiative of the community-based tourism program of Mamiraua Institute. It is administrated through shared management between the Institute and the communities of the reserve. The objective of Pousada Uacari is to generate income for local residents and promote the conservation of natural resources. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Uacari / Uakari Floating Jungle Lodge Tefe, Brazil - AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing