We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot - very friendly staffcold beer and a clean pool”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Xpujil Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Xpujil Town
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice spot - very friendly staffcold beer and a clean pool”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in the middle of a jungle I didnt expect nothing! Maybe for this reason I loved my stay there. I visited that Hotel for 2 nights in June with my Family!

They had amazing food, a great pool, friendly staff and it was clean! There was even a guy from the staff waiting at 4am for us with hot lunch bags. Cheap beer and cold! Great soups and helpful and save!... and hell... they had air condition! I slept like Zeus on the Olymp!

Com'on! Sometimes some people should just understand that you can't visit the jungle near the Guatemalan border and at the same time have a cheap and clean hotel - like switzerland standards! You wanna see the most amazing ruins.. so don't complain about small details! If the restroom is not clean, clean it on your own like you do at home! Smile to the staff and try to speak Spanish and they will be nice! Dont worry if all takes longer than some occidentals are used to! During this time grab a beer or a juice and have some chats with them!

The only thing i did not like was the shower! It was not working properly and I burned my but! But it was fun:)

Personally I will go back to this place and wanna visit all the ruins again!

Tipp: you can pay a lot more and go to the Puerta Calakmul Hotel - which is more in the luxury style!

Thanks to the staff again - you guys are great!

Estábamos en medio de una jungla, y yo no esperaba nada! Tal vez por esta razón, me encantó mi estancia allí. Visité ese hotel por 2 noches en junio con mi familia!

Tenían comida increíble, una gran piscina, personal amable y estaba limpio! Incluso había un chico de los camareros a las 4 de madrugada para nosotros con bolsas de comida caliente. Cerveza baratas y frías! Unas sopas y útiles y ahorra! ... y el infierno ... tenían aire acondicionado! Dormí como Zeus en el Olimpo!

Com'on! A veces, algunas personas sólo deben entender que no se puede visitar la selva cerca de la frontera con Guatemala y al mismo tiempo tener un hotel barato y limpio - como normas suiza! ¿Quieres ver las ruinas más impresionantes .. así que no te quejes de pequeños detalles! Si el baño no está limpio, limpiar por su cuenta, como lo hace en casa! Sonrisa para el personal y tratar de hablar español y van a estar bien! No te preocupes si todo lleva más tiempo que algunos occidentales están acostumbrados a! Durante este tiempo, tomar una cerveza o un zumo y algunas charlas con ellos!

yo soy seguro/certo que en Europe ninguna pessoa va a preparar comida en le 4 de madrugada!!

El único punto negativo fue la ducha, que no funcionaba correctamente y estaba caliente como la lava! Pero fue un momento divertido!
Personalmente voy a volver a este lugar y quiero visitar las ruinas de nuevo!

Tipp: usted puede pagar mucho más y ve a la Puerta Calakmul Hotel - que es más al estilo de lujo!

Gracias al personal de nuevo - ¿Ustedes son grandes!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
42
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived late in the day and drove through Xpujil looking for a hotel. There are some seedy looking places on the main street, but we went one block south of the only traffic lights in town and found this hotel. Looks ok from the road, much like a Motel, and in fact is best described as a motel for weary travelers.
The room was small, perfectly clean with 2 double beds and a small bathroom. Mexicans must have short legs, because when I was sitting on the toilet, my knees were longer than the wall was away from me! (I am 6 foot tall).
Another quirky thing was the room power outlets were only the 2 prong variety, not the 3 prong plugs, so if you had a 3 prong plug it would not fit.
Tv and air is provided, but don't think of sleeping with the air on all night. It is loud. Road noise was not an issue for us during the night, as our room was well back from the road.
The central swimming pool was empty and undergoing maintenance or an upgrade of sorts, so lots of early morning power tools to wake us up.
The restaurant was perfectly adequate, with a tasty well priced dinner for 2 for a little over $20 but breakfast coffee was of the instant variety. They called it expresso, but it was just black coffee out of a jar. Bit disappointing on the coffee front!
Overall this place offered a value night at about $55 and a more modern hotel with all amenities than you may otherwise find in the town.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is as far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiKirkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kukutyim
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Xpujil was just a short stop for us on the way to Calakmul. It is a small village and we were at first worrying where we landed. The place looks abandoned and a bit like an old westend-town but with 21th century cars. Anyway after a good walk we reached this hotel. The reastaurant is beautiful with carved-wood chairs and friendly personnel. The same is true for the hotel. It is relaxed with comfortable and clean rooms. We spent a good night here. You can also meet interesting people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

In preparing for our stay in Xpujil, I had read several earlier reviews of various hotels. I'm glad we ended up here. Although the room was small and a bit dark, it was quite clean (including the bathroom), and well-cooled by the air-conditioner. We did not have a problem with road noise, which others have mentioned. There were a few trucks, but the hotel is set back and somewhat screened from the road, and the AC provided white noise (latter would not be on in cooler weather). I would have given it 3 stars, but at a price of 500 pesos ($41-42 dollars) per night, plus the convenient and good restaurant, I felt it provided quite good value. There was an on-site parking attendant, which was nice, and the staff were helpful (the waiter one day seemed a bit distracted, and we had to work to get his attention). We spent most of our time at the ruins, and found this hotel to be very convenient and comfortable. It doesn't have a resort feeling, but then we didn't want that...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We found the accommodations to be decent. The beds were a bit too stiff and the rooms were a bit stuffy. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the staff was all very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

...the bathrooms at the local Mayan ruins are cleaner than the bathrooms in your hotel. Really, this was our experience at Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul. This hotel has so much potential, and it used to get great reviews but maybe the management is suffering from being too popular.

The rooms would be great if only they were cleaner. Our room had two double beds, a small closet and a TV (which we never used). But it needed a good scrubbing. It was one of those places where you are grateful for the clean sheets but you don't want to touch too many surfaces. There were thick layers of dust and smears of grime everywhere, and some previous guests had stuck their airline luggage tags to the closet, and no one had ever pulled them off.

The hotel's method of cleaning the toilet seemed to be to dump a bunch of cleanser on the seat and into the bowl and then just leave it. The first time this happened, we thought they must have been in a rush to get the room clean. But the next day the toilet was left exactly the same way: as a wet and nasty seat with bowl full of some kind of cleaner. The "bathmat" in front of the shower looked like a rag that had been used to clean the floor. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the shower head was so dodgy that the water sprayed all over the place.

We had mixed experiences at the restaurant. One morning breakfast was good and came promptly. The next, we got our breakfast in fits and starts, and after twenty minutes, never got any instant (!) coffee. We went to the truck stop across the street and had steaming cups of instant coffee after waiting only for the water to boil.

I hope the guidebooks that rated this place so highly revisit it soon and revise their recommendations. I don't know if there are any good alternatives to this place in Xpujil: it's OK for a couple of nights but take your shower shoes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night when we went to Calakmul. It is thirty minutes driving time to the turnoff to Calakmul. The rooms were ok, clean nothing special. The windows are screens with wooden hinged slats that do close and lock, but are not sound proof. Since it is right on the highway, the trucks driving through in the middle of the night can be quite loud along with the chickens that start crowing at 10:00PM at night and continue through the night. We paid $35 for the room so we have no complaints. The restaurant was very reasonable and very tasty. We would stay here again if traveling along the highway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xpujil Town
5.7 mi away
Chicanna Ecovillage Resort
Chicanna Ecovillage Resort
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Balam
Hotel Maya Balam
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirador Maya
Mirador Maya
#2 of 3 in Xpujil Town
2.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Maya Calakmul
Hotel Casa Maya Calakmul
#1 of 23 in Campeche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Global Express Escarcega
Global Express Escarcega
#2 of 6 in Escarcega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chaac Calakmul
Hotel Chaac Calakmul
#1 of 3 in Xpujil Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul

Property: Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul
Address: Highway 186, Xpujil Town, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Xpujil Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Xpujil Town
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing