We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why don't they care about noise?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Lala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dona Lala
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tlacotalpan
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Why don't they care about noise?”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Terrific bright suite with great view, in one of the loveliest un-touristy spots in Mexico, but potentially ruined by horrendous extractor fan noise from restaurant below. With much fuss, they turn it off at night. Restaurant has a front terrace, but another fan blasts straight onto it, so it is impossible to sit there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Covgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice hotel operated by the VIVES FAMILY....Good room with flat-screen TV and remote controlled A/C..you will feel at home because the family and staff go out their way to help you out.Breakfast at the restaurant is great. Parking and pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MexicoMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax beach, florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After being stopped for 4 hours on the main highway due to a manifestacion, and then driving very slowly to the coast behind innumerable doble, doble semi-remolques hauling sugar cane, we were totally delighted to arrive in Tlacotalpan and find a room at Dona Lala. Fabulous 19th century building - our room had french windows and small balcony with plants, 14' ceilings, and a totally updated bathroom with stone vessel sink. 750p. Tlacotalpan in the evening seems almost like a Hollywood stage set - street after street of beautifully maintained 19th century houses. Streets extremely clean - no trash anywhere. The hotel has parking on river side and also faces the zocalo which has several open air cafes. Ate at one next to the hotel - 3 killer panuchos w/pollo pibil and toppings for 35p total. We were there midweek - understand the town gets much livelier on weekends with visitors from veracruz. A great overnight stop. And a great hotel - lots of memorabilia about previous owners including La Dona Lala.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fls35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hotel is found one block away from the main attractions of the town.

It's an old building so don't expect any luxury or state of the art facilities.

Some rooms can be very noisy at night because of bars that are located near by, but if you are assigned one of those rooms the manager will let you know and see if there are other rooms available.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We reserved a suite at the Hotel Dona Lala for four nights over the long Easter weekend. At the time of the phone reservation, I was told that the rate would be $5,400 pesos for the whole stay. Upon arrival, however, we were informed that the rate would really be $6,600 pesos. Since it would have been futile to search for another place at the beginning of a busy holiday weekend, we had to accept the higher rate.

This, however, was only the beginning of our problems with the Dona Lala. Other issues we faced during our stay:

1. The area between the hotel and the Papaloapan River fills up with young people after midnight who blare music from their car stereos and drink copious amounts of alcoholic beverages. The noise makes it very hard to sleep.

2. The beds were hard as rocks, meaning that even after we changed from an exterior suite to an interior suite to avoid the noise, we still couldn't sleep well and woke up with back aches.

3. When we changed rooms, the hotel reception claimed that the previous guest had taken the key with them and that they were working on getting a copy of the master key made. Unsurprisingly, they "couldn't find anyone" to make the copy and we had to ask reception to send someone to open our room for us during the whole four days of our stay.

4. The hotel does not have any parking of its own. They claim that if you park on the street in front of the hotel, their personnel will watch the car overnight. Unfortunately, they didn't watch all that well because our car antenna was stolen during our last night there even though we were parked right in front of the hotel's entrance.

5. The water in the hotel swimming pool was a murky, gray color throughout our stay except for one day when they actually changed the water and we were amazed to be able to see the bottom of the pool.

The only good thing about this property is the restaurant, which is under separate management and serves delicious fish dishes. Easily the best place in town to eat. Interestingly, they don't permit hotel guests to charge their restaurant meals to their room bills. I wonder if the restaurant owner hasn't been cheated in the past, but that's just speculation on my part.

In sum, eat at the Dona Lala but don't stay overnight whatever you do.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tlacotalpan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tlacotalpan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Rio
Hotel Casa del Rio
#1 of 2 in Tlacotalpan
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Juana
Hotel Dona Juana
#1 of 6 in Tlacotalpan
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De La Luz
Casa De La Luz
#2 of 6 in Tlacotalpan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estancias De Sotavento Las Mariposas
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 5 in Tlacotalpan
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Aromas
#4 of 6 in Tlacotalpan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Lala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Lala

Property: Hotel Dona Lala
Address: Avenida Venustiano Carranza # 11 | Col. Centro, Tlacotalpan 95461, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Tlacotalpan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tlacotalpan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Lala 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dona Lala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing