We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
100
40
9
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
40
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringwonderful viewst georgecaribbean islandsa wonderful staybig balconyfishbelmont estaterental caraccommodationseabaysgrenadianparadisevillagesidespromontory
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 158 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2016

When driving down the rough entrance road I wondered what we had let ourselves in for. The lodge turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Basic, but the room (6) was large and airy with a nice balcony overlooking palm trees and the bay. Cooking facilities were available for those wanting to self cater. Tradewind breezes flowed constantly keeping the room pleasantly cool. Found no need for fan or aircon and no sign of any undesirable insects. Being on the Atlantic side of the island,the constant wave action stirred up the sand and he water isn't as clear as on the less turbulent Caribbean sea side. The bar area is a great place to relax with a drink and free wifi.One of the surprises in this out-of-the-way place is chef Bruno. This rather amusing and enthusiastic Frenchman prepared us 3 delightful dinners including lobster on our last night. Bruno also runs tours and took us on an interesting tour to the north part visiting Grenville fish market,Belmont chocolate factory,rum distillery,nutmeg factory and waterfall. We drove roads we never would have found by ourselves. Lunch at a little restaurant called Aggies up on the north coast was very nice...The whole day was very enjoyable with nonstop commentary from Bruno..

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Just to echo what other reviewers have said: if you want the Four Seasons, go elsewhere. Cabier is a nicely run lodge, some rooms nicer than others, with a strong ocean breeze (at least in December). We were a large party so were able to see many of the accommodations. The large Beach Star apartment was a huge room(!), including small kitchen area. It has a connecting door to another very large room, so is good for families. It is nothing fancy but certainly serviceable. There are balconies for a nice breeze although the view is mostly of the tops of trees. It is very close to the restaurant so good for anyone who has a hard time with stairs.

Some of the smaller rooms had more character than others; all that I saw (four of them) were quite small. None have air-conditioning. A large fan in each room would be nice.

One family stayed in the Large Family Ocean Flat and were very unhappy. There were a lot of windows but for whatever reason absolutely no breeze at night and they woke covered in bug bites.

The beach on one side is nice and relatively calm. Was fun to play in the waves; great for kids to bob around on an inflatable.

The most disappointing part of Cabier is the "snorkeling" which they advertise as such on their website. It is snorkeling to the point that you can wear a snorkel and fins and swim around but there is very little to see on the dying reefs. To make it worse, unless you want to swim around the entire point, there is no easy way to get into the water. Don't try; it is a big waste of time if you have ever snorkeled and seen a healthy reef.

Food at Cabier is excellent on some nights and just okay on others. Service is always with a smile and the staff at Cabier is always willing to help out, including having rental cars come out to the lodge. The best part is the bar area and outside tables--beautiful views!

Cabier is close to nothing so be prepared to relax and read and swim. If you do head North a few miles, our favorite spot was Annandale waterfall with a natural swimming hole and not another person there.

Room Tip: Beach Star Apartments are the largest rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Codeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the ocean view studio as part of the Two Bays complex. We arrived late at night therefore we couldn't see much on arrival. The room was decked out very nicely however the journey down to the lodge restaurant is mostly in darkness along a dirt road so you do risk a stumble. We had been warned about mosquitoes and we were happy to put spray on. The bed had adequate netting so we were looking forward to sleeping with the doors open and listening to all the wonderful sounds this part of the world brings - ocean, frogs, birds. There is no mistaking you are somewhere very tropical! However two out of three fans were broken so we had to opt for using the air con instead to get air flow through the room. Unfortunately this left us quite cold as only sheets (no blankets) are offered in the rooms. When we woke in the morning we were absolutely blown away with the view. Overlooking Crochu Bay we saw a very rustic side of the Caribbean that was truely breath taking. The Two Bay complex does also offer an infinity pool to the guests staying at this part of the lodge and we had to keep pinching ourselves with how gorgeous it was! The studio did come with an adequate and well equipped kitchen but we were happy to eat at Bruno's restaurant as the food was excellent there. We received wonderful service from everyone who worked at the lodge with a particularly huge bonus having Bruno escort us on the weekly HASH. This is an absolute must if you are looking for a truely unique Grenadian experience so just ask Bruno and he will make it happen. Overall despite some minor hiccups in the beginning this had been one of our favourite places to have stayed at. Helpful hint is to have a car as the location is a little more remote, but very well worth it!

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016

We were staying at the Two Bays Villa, which is maybe the nicest accommodation offered at Cabier Ocean Lodge, with lots of space, a garden and a great view to the bays facing east. The beach at the northern bay is remote, the water quiet, but the beach littered. The southern bay beach is more accessible, tidier, and the water clean. There are some possibilities to walk in the surroundings, but it is frustrating to see litter and dumped waste at almost all beautiful spots. The villa is extendable with the two adjacent studios, so that you can be a group of six people or more.
Warning! The villa and the studios are not designed to keep out mosquitos (no nets on the windows), so you must follow all precautions to avoid mosquitos, including hard core DEE repellent. We had a battle every night and left some bloodstains on the walls – sorry guys.
What you may not see from Cabier’s homepage is that they keep animals in a mini-zoo, and have several loose dogs that feel at home everywhere, chase the goats and sometimes bark at the guests.
You should also know that the infinity pool is accessible for the guests staying the studios and the villas. Having said that, the pool is a great opportunity to take sun and cool off while enjoying the spectacular view on the Atlantic Sea.
Cabier makes a somewhat sleazy appearance on us. The staff is nice, but a bit sloppy. We would recommend management to give the staff new t-shirts.
People often emphasize Bruno’s restaurant. We would like to recommend dishes prepared by Florence. She did a marvelous job with the barracuda and the local vegetable, and when she was in charge of the breakfast it was a real treat. I was helped to pick herbs for my tea in the lovely spice garden, and I had the best tea you could ask for.
Cabier is located at the southeastern part of Grenada and a bit away from Grenada’s attractions. Be prepared that a car and some travel time is required if you want to explore Grenada.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigmor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile

I liked this place great view and knowledgable staff. Food was great and so was the drinks. The location is have one of the best view . The is also an animal petting zoo which was great.There was monkeys, rabbits ,chicken , donkeys , snakes etc.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank spicemovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews