We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Stars in the Middle of Nowhere”
Review of Cabier Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabier Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Crochu B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“5-Stars in the Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A bit off the beaten path, Cabier's provides a wonderful alternative to the more developed western side of the island. We split our week on Grenada between Grand Anse Beach and Cabier's and, while there's undoubtably appeal to Grand Anse, the seclusion of Cabier's and the eastern side of the island is precious.

After a beautiful drive across the island (the views of the rainforest are stunning), we wound down a pot-holed road for 10 minutes before arriving at the gorgeous grounds of Cabier's. Two adorable dogs and a donkey made us feel both welcome and aware that we were staying at a different kind of hotel.

The pace here is a little different. You feel like you're at Bruno and Iris's house -- we chattered away with each of them as well as the two other couples couples staying there. There's no menu -- you just tell them you're interested in having dinner on the following day, they pick up ingredients in the morning, and their wonderful staff serves you an amazing 5-star, multi-coursed dinner of Bruno's imagination -- and he's a damn good cook.

Definitely rent a car as Cabier's is a great base for exploring the east side of the island. Grenville and its farmer's market provides a slice of island life that's less impacted by tourism, Belmont Estates and Rivers Antoine are must-sees, and Levera may be the best (and certainly is the most secluded) beach on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at Cabier Ocean Lodge. We stayed there over the Christmas and New Year's holiday. Bruno and Iris were wonderful hosts. We cannot say enough good things about Bruno's cooking - it was amazing! We looked forward to dinner every night and couldn't wait to see what wonderful dishes Bruno was creating. The staff at Cabier were amazing! Seriously, we have never stayed any place where the staff have been more friendly and helpful than they were at Cabier. One of the locals who worked there, Joseph, brought us fresh coconuts and almonds. Cabier has its own secluded beach and the staff will set up chairs for you if you like. And as a bonus, if you like dogs they have 3 wonderful and friendly dogs. We loved going down to the beach and playing with Lassie. We hope to come back to Cabier in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a wonderful and happy wedding we experienced for our daughter, Bryony, at Cabier.It was a stunning location. Bruno, Iris and all the staff were so helpful with the preparations and Bruno's food was amazing! Thank you all for the dance lessons!
We enjoyed a relaxing week after the wedding and so enjoyed the variety of well balanced meals.
Thank you Bruno, Iris and all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margiethorneycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our wonderful wedding at Cabier Lodge with Bruno, Iris and their amazing staff. They all worked so hard to make the day so special and we cannot thank them enough.The service was absolutely excellent and the food exceeded our expectations. Cabier is located in a beautiful spot right by the sea and was the perfect place for our small Grenadian/English wedding.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has got to be the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BryonyThorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We begin with a drink or two at the bar (fresh Passionfruit juice and locally produced rum). Iris (Chef Bruno's partner) appears with a small plate of wonderful nibbles: a delectable pastry with a solitary escargot within. Mouthwateringly garlicky, with just a hint of buttery crunch. A couple of slivers of smoked salmon with local cream cheese rolled up in a crêpe. And a Quail's egg nested upon a delicately flavoured slaw made from fresh, site grown produce. Game on!

The lunch begins with a small slice of Lobster quiche, warm foie gras, cauliflower soup and a small vegan salad. Every component bursts with flavour with each bite I take.

My second course is Coquette St. Jacques. Tasty. Creamy. Good!

Today, for my main course, I have opted for the fillet of site raised Lamb (offered by Iris on arrival, in favour of the Chicken I have ordered in advance. She is getting to know my preferences it seems); a first for me on Grenada. As usual Bruno does not disappoint. The meat is done medium rare and is served with a mushroom gravy and home fried potatoes decorated with a 'French fried' bean. Zucchini tempura rounds out this plate. I am now officially in heaven.

Desert today features Nutmeg ice cream, Mango tart and a shot of Bailey's Irish Cream. When will I awake from this treat of a culinary dream?

Cabier is truly singular: Idealic setting; 5 star French Chef; super friendly service. All this together with the freshest, most novel menu on the Island.

It's a no brainer. You've got to try this place. Satisfaction is virtually guaranteed.

Note: Cabier is a bit off the beaten path. Allow about 45 minutes (scenic) travel time from Grand Anse beach. And... Reservations are a must.

P.S. You can also plan to spend a night or two or three. This small resort hotel has a variety of rooms available. More fun!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crannogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sadly we only had one night here but we would have loved to stay longer, as it's in such an idyllic setting - with great views in every direction. Bruno is a great chef. Our only concern was the very restricted space some of the animals & birds were kept in, even though it was explained they are rescued animals, we felt that with all the surrounding land, something could have been done to improve their living conditions (especially armadilloes & mongoose).

Room Tip: Most rooms seemed to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was realy nice there! Beautyful place in the nowhere... 5 days stay we were unfortunately a little unlucky with the weather.

Iris and Bruno are so helpful and friendly too. But have a look to Judy! ;)


Thank you for some beautiful days...!!!

Greets Sven

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crochu
12.4 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
365 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
134 reviews
9.8 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
257 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
52 reviews
8.6 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabier Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabier Ocean Lodge

Property: Cabier Ocean Lodge
Address: Crochu Road 1 | Cabier Beach, Crochu, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint Andrew Parish > Crochu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crochu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabier Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive hideaway is peaceful and quiet, situated on a stunning rocky outcrop between two secluded bays. Our intimate Lodge offers 10 bedrooms including a Vila, Studios, Apartments. Grenada's average daily temperature of 31° C (87°F) combined with a sea breeze is very suitable for spending a relaxed Caribbean holiday. No special vaccinations necessary. Our sandy beach is kept clean and bathing is safe for children with good swimming and offshore reef protecting it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cabier Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabier Ocean Hotel Crochu
Cabier Ocean Lodge Grenada/Crochu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing