We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosemere
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple and very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I used to live in Rosemere, so it was strange staying in a hotel. I'm pretty sure somewhere nearby there used to be a by-the-hour motel, so I was a little Leary to book into La Rivage. Great place, nice rooms, good continental breakfast. The only issue was that parking was a hassle since I had to compete with the spa users to find a spot. If there is hotel reserved parking no one mentioned it to me. But v. Good for the price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
12
67
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here Oct 12th-13th for a short overnight stay. Arrived around 930pm with a short wait to check-in (there was only one person working the front desk). Check-in was smooth and staff were pleasant. Arrived in room which was clean, however the bathroom smelled as if someone had smoked in there. The bed was also very wobbly, seemed as though the frame had previously been broken and it was nailed together with more wood but very poorly. Felt like it may collapse at any time. Although wobbly, the mattress was comfortable. In the morning, I took a shower to find that the shower had poor water pressure. The one perk about this stay was that it included a continental breakfast. The spread was great! I thought the spread was awesome. There were cereals, fresh fruit, different kinds of bread for toast, bagels, yogurt.. Different juices, tea, coffee, etc. LOTS of options! Even my boyfriend who eats really clean was able to find something to eat!

Overall, I definitely think this hotel is a 2.5 or 3 AT BEST. I think that the value for this hotel could be better.
Might consider staying somewhere else if we're ever around there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel was in an excellent location for us, as we were visiting family in Rosemere.

I agree with another reviewer about the "sour puss" faces at the front desk. Not welcoming at all. I had to book an extra night as I had made a mistake with my dates...and was informed that I would have to do it online as we were receiving a special rate.....stated in a patronising tone and not discreetly.....I did book another night on-line and when we arrived back for the extra night.....we found the room key did not work.......waited a while.....there was no-one on the front desk........it was sorted out by the same young man with not a smile or apology.....

On our last night.....the fire alarm went off at around 3pm......no-one came to let us know if it
was a false alarm......we were in a ground floor room and would have hopefully escaped through the window ....but there were no fire safety instructions to be seen in the room.....
very poor. I had to ask another guest who was standing in the corridor what had happened and he thought it may have been a cigarette.....no staff were apparent during the whole time the alarm was ringing.....and it rang on and on for more than twenty minutes....ruining our night's sleep........

The breakfast buffet was the same every day......and we stayed for 14 days......boring, and one
of the more mature ladies on the breakfast staff was so obviously unhappy in her job......that she made breakfast times (when she appeared to fill up the milk etc......) an unpleasant
experience.......

Overall, I know that people come to use the Spa......but that was not the purpose of our visit and we were two of the guests staying for the longest period......we watched people come and go...and felt like another reviewer states "like second class citizens"

I would not stay at this hotel again.....because of the previous reasons given and would recommend people to go elsewhere.

....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anrol45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed recently for a weekend family event close by. This hotel and accompanying spa is a hidden gem! Rooms are very comfy (great beds!) and clean. complimentary breakfast decent.
about 45 min north of airport, an hour to centre of Montreal, so not handy for those, but close to Ste. Rose village and more rural areas. Spa access at 25.00/day is a good deal..excellent services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avion85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The sour puss faces at the front desk was our greeting to this hotel. Not impressed. I was amazed at the hard core porn playing on the tv (channels 77 and 78) I thought good grief, can you imagine bringing kids here? Not impressed. The Spa is extra charges and you have to run across a busy street to get to it. Not impressed. Speaking of busy street , our room was right beside it. Nope. Not impressed. The panick parking in the lot, as there is not enough room to park? Not impressed. For the price you can do better Im sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I checked in at the Rivage on January 1, 2012 for one night with my girlfriend. I had booked my room (queen bed) online through expedia. The room they gave us was very small and was right beside the entrance door thus very noisy location. We went back to the front desk to ask for a different room. They said that there was only this room and another one for people that book online and not through them. At this point, I started feeling like a second class client. I obviously chose to take my only other choice. The cable in the room did not work and the carpet was dusty with a coke capsule laying on the floor, it was pretty obvious that it was not cleaned properly. To make matters even worse, there was a sniper crawling above the bed.
The blinds of the window did not work so I could not position them in an angle to block the sun the next working.
furthermore, everytime my girlfriend and I would receive a call or a text on our phones, all the radio frequency would start making an untolerable noise.
As you could see, our experience was far from behind pleasant. The whole purpose of our this an this hotel was for the Spa Finlandais across the street.
The continental breakfast was croissant and juice. The croissant was very mediocre and uneatable.
When checking out, we wanted to express our disatisfaction to the front desk, the person behind the counter was a middle aged woman who had "responsable" on her little tag, which i assume is a manager. Instead of apologizing for the experience we had, she argumented that the spider is not there fault and that we should of called room service to clean it.
I worked in customer service for 10 years, and this lady has no customer service skills and is unqualified to assume such position. She looked at the paper and she stated that she cannot do anything for us because we had taken the room as a special rate. Again making us feel like a second class client. I told her i dont want to be compensated but i want to bring it to your attention. The lady did not give a crap and seems pissed. That woman deserves to be on wellfare or at ost working for McDonalds. Terrible experience, terrible service, I know its convinience if the purpose of your trip is the spa but look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The room we booked was immaculate with two very comfortable queen sized beds, a wide screen TV and a mini fridge. I had the best sleep in 10 years on this bed. They also had a nice continental breakfast with a sitting area in the lobby which was included in the price of the room. The pool was located outside and there was a nice sitting area adjacent to it that overlooked the river.

The only complaint that I did have was that parking on hotel property was at a premium and the parking places were very tight and somewhat difficult to get in and out of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger_1953_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemere
4.8 mi away
Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites
4.7 mi away
Le Fabreville Motel et Suites
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laval-Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Suites Laval Quebec
4.3 mi away
Hilton Montreal/Laval
3.0 mi away
Motel Ideal Ste Rose
Motel Ideal Ste Rose
#8 of 14 in Laval
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais

Property: Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais
Address: 125 Boul. Labelle, Rosemere, Quebec J7A 2G9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Le Rivage)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Rosemere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Finlandais invites you to discover the originality and elegance of its 70 unique rooms and suites. A complimentary continental breakfast is included.Also, discover Spa Le Finlandais, footstep form the hotel and take advantage of its preferential rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa & Hotel Le Finlandais Rosemere, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing