We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay”
Review of Fudge's Motel

Fudge's Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Triton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fudge's Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Triton
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Clean room with nice decor. It smelled a touch stale and, yes, as a previous reviewer noted, hte coffee maker was a little dirty. But no big deal. They have the regular motel rooms and also have the "efficiency units" with something more in the way of appliances such as stove tops and bigger fridges. But the cheaper units had everything that I need: fridge, micro, coffee maker, large table, good cable and internet and everything worked too. There was also a guest laundry room. The only reason I can't rate this motel 5 stars is because it was $85+tax for a single. But I've learned that is actually cheap for Newfoundland. But not in my book.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_S36669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were traveling with a small pet so very fortunate that this motel had a room for us. The room was extremely clean, a very good size with 2 comfortable queen beds. It had a small table with chairs to enjoy our take-out from their restaurant and a small coffee station for the morning with glass coffee mugs and no shortage of coffee at all. The restaurant staff was exceptional and provided glass wine glasses also for our room. The next day was Sunday and we were told by the staff to take our time the next morning when checking out-no rush on our part at all. A short drive continuing on the highway will bring you to Triton. If you are up early, take the drive there and come back for breakfast at their restaurant. The cook even made us homemade oatmeal with fresh fruit which was not on their menu. Even though this is a road side motel it was very quiet and we would definitely recommend it to anyone. Excellent service and stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJL_AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

There's no getting away from it , its a roadside motel that incorporates a simple cafe/restaurant that specialises in fried dishes of diner/pub-grub standard and which doesn't stay open very late. But if you want to see Triton and the area around-and its worth seeing IMO- then you'll probably stay here. We found the ladies that ran the complex very helpful and amenable and no problems with an 8am breakfast. Our room was clean as far as we could tell; its just not terribly grand, thats all and to be fair no-one ever told us it would be. I'd stay again if I revisit the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The room looked clean but smelled dirty, only they tried to cover it up with cleaning supplies.
The coffee pot was dirty and the filter basket was filthy.
The bedclothes seemed clean but the smell of the room was a real turnoff.
I will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniard's Bay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this motel after a bad experience at another place. The owners were so accomodating since we were looking for accomodations for a hockey team and their parents on very short notice. They were very warm and welcoming. They had the rooms all ready for us. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The reasaurant had the most delicious homemade food. Try the squid rings!! Their Newfoundland hospitality was second to none. They could not do enough for us. You will not be dissapointed. We are planning to go back in the summer. Beautiful scenery!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenette if you need it-well worth the extra cost. Let the owners know if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calculus Rock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It's good for the price. When you grow tired of every crumby motel in Newfoundland charging $140 for a sterile room, it's nice to get a clean, fair place to sleep, for a price in the $70 or $80 range.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Level Contributor
159 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked this room based on an advertised boat tour. When we got there the tour was no longer. The rooms were adaquate, clean, and quiet. The restaurant was at best fair, with some really weird breakfast hours. This is not up to the standard of rural Newfoundland inns. The best thing was the excellent whale museum in Triton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fudge's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fudge's Motel

Property: Fudge's Motel
Address: P.O. Box 34, Triton, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Triton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Triton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Fudge's Motel Triton, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing