We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales out the window”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Grand Bank B&B and Inns
Hampton Bays, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Whales out the window”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

It is impossible to review magic. A lovingly restored and enhanced old hotel. Forget the B&B title; Dinner is also offered to guest and public alike and is prepared and presented in a world class setting. The stuff of dreams. And yes, I saw whales out my window.

Room Tip: Make reservations way in advance, and ask for the room with the claw foot tub. Try to be there when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerann_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We were not able to get a reservation for the B&B but were quite impressed by the restaurant. The food was interesting, tasty and reasonably priced. It is a bit upscale for area as there are not too many good places to eat in Grand Bank. The staff were pleasant and the service was reasonable. We enjoyed the view from the balcony as the restaurant is across from the ocean. It is a beautiful old home that has been transformed into a B&B and restaurant. It's a must if you are staying in the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

When we walked in the front door of The Thorndyke we were warmly greeted by the owners, Colleen and Glynn. Throughout our stay they made us feel like old friends.

The Inn is appointed with antiques, some a little on the funky side. (That's a good funky, not a bad funky.) The rooms are ample size and the bathrooms modern and large

Glynn does most of the cooking. Both dinner and breakfast were very good.

If you're heading to the end of the Burin Peninsula, perhaps to take the ferry to St. Pierre, I highly recommend staying at The Thorndyke. Book well in advance as it just has four rooms and fills up early during the tourist season.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the two rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The dinner was to die for!! It was our best meal in Newfoundland. Many kudos to the chef. Great place to stay. Great service and we loved the heritage look and touches. We were very comfortable there. We were sorry to have missed the theatre. We'll just have to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hadrian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed two summers ago and loved it - the owners, Colleen and Glynn are friendly, knowlegable and absolutely lovely to chat with. I tried to book this summer but was too late - they were all booked. I just had to return for a chat and was more than pleased to see a new full restaurant in operation and the food was delicious! Next time I go I'll be booking early to make sure I can eat and stay at the same time!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jppitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Thorndyke. We stayed in the "Captains Quarters" room. The bathroom was a bit small, but understandably so....I am sure plumbing was not part of the original home. The house was beautifully decorated and the view was spectacular. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The front porch is very comfortable with a spectacular view of the ocean. The upstairs balcony was also great for watching the ocean, the fantastic sunset and for meeting other travellers to share experiences of their visit to Newfoundland and Labrador.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The view from the balcony on a warm day, the great breakfast, seeing whales was wonderful but by far the best thing about our experience is when Glynn drove more than 10 km on haunch to bring us a cell phone we had left behind! The night before, we had told the owners that we would visit a park near Fortune Nl when we left the next morning. When Colleen found the phone in the room and could not reach us, they came all the way to the park to try to find us. Now this is above and beyond.
Also, by far the best dinner in the area can be found at the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 Water Street, Grand Bank, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Bank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Bank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thorndyke Hotel Grand Bank
The Thorndyke b&b
The Thorndyke Bed And Breakfast Grand Bank, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing