We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming historical home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Grand Bank B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Thorndyke. We stayed in the "Captains Quarters" room. The bathroom was a bit small, but understandably so....I am sure plumbing was not part of the original home. The house was beautifully decorated and the view was spectacular. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The front porch is very comfortable with a spectacular view of the ocean. The upstairs balcony was also great for watching the ocean, the fantastic sunset and for meeting other travellers to share experiences of their visit to Newfoundland and Labrador.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

The view from the balcony on a warm day, the great breakfast, seeing whales was wonderful but by far the best thing about our experience is when Glynn drove more than 10 km on haunch to bring us a cell phone we had left behind! The night before, we had told the owners that we would visit a park near Fortune Nl when we left the next morning. When Colleen found the phone in the room and could not reach us, they came all the way to the park to try to find us. Now this is above and beyond.
Also, by far the best dinner in the area can be found at the B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This house has significant historical value and the room we had was lovely and comfortable. The only disapointment was that we could not get much information on the local sights and had to go downtown for our breakfast which was covered.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I did the requisite "due diligence" on accommodation in and near Grand Bank. Consequently, I elected to stay two nights in the lovely "Dorothy Melita" room at the Thorndyke. My choice could not have been better. This historical residence harks back to the great sea captains' houses at the turn of the century. It is warm, cozy and beautifully maintained. As a plus, the cuisine is some of the finest you will find in Newfoundland.

The real charm of the Thorndyke, however, is the gracious hospitality of the hosts, Colleen and Glynn. They are simply wonderful in extending a warm welcome to weary travellers. You simply cannot go wrong choosing the Thorndyke. It is superb in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

comfortable and friendly service.
rooms are ok, bathrooms dated. More than made up for in the service and hospitality. dinner is only 5 star in the Burin peninsula - don't miss it. they only serve non guests on the weekend. Try to be there in time for the sunset, spectacular views.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiseforreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

On very short notice, Colleen and her staff (family) accommodated our group of 14 traveling senior French students enroute to St. Pierre! Merci!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Fourteen of us, heading to St. Pierre, were stranded in Grand Bank because the ferry was cancelled due to bad weather. They say, when you are given lemons - make lemonade! And that we did. Colleen, Glynn and Josh accommodated us for dinner at the spur of the moment. The prime rib was tender and delicious and the desserts, devine. We throughly enjoyed our dinner but more importantly, our hosts were engaging and lovely - and that made us very welcome. Thank you Colleen, Glynn and Josh - continued success! I recommend Thorndyke B&B for people wishing to experience history and culture.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast

Address: 33 Water Street, Grand Bank, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Bank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Bank
Price Range: $106 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thorndyke Hotel Grand Bank
The Thorndyke b&b
The Thorndyke Bed And Breakfast Grand Bank, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing