We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your best bet to stay before the ferry to "France"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Grand Bank B&B and Inns
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
900 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Your best bet to stay before the ferry to "France"”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Built in 1917, this is a quirky old house, with a few draughts here and there, especially in the en suite bathrooms. However, the welcome is warm, and the breakfast tasty. The owners were a bit vague on the ferries to St. Pierre, so do your own research beforehand. The Newfie ferry is tiny, and dives up and down on a windy crossing like a bucking bronco. Yes, some passengers were sick. Try and get the huge, stable French government ferry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed here three nights in August 2011. Colleen, Glynn & Josh couldn't be nicer folks. The Thorndyke is a beautiful, restored fishing captain house built in the early 20th Century. Very comfortable. Your hosts do whatever it takes to make it a first class experience - whether it's getting up and making breakfast sandwiches for the early ferry to St. Pierre, or drinks on the Widow Walk watching fireworks during the Grand Bank Summer Festival. They'll even screech you in if necessary!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank majormajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey Point
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at the Thorndyke B&B Oct 9th and 10th and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. You know that your stay will be memorable from the moment that Colleen greets you at the door. The bed was like heaven, and along with the sound of the waves sleep was wonderful.Our hosts were just lovely and ready to impart information not only about their historical B&B, but about the region in general. Glynn, who loves cooking is the morning chef does a superb job at his "secret eggs". The bed and the breakfasts are definitely the best we experienced anywhere in NL.
All in all if you decide to visit NL, do not miss the spectacular Burin Peninsula and be sure to stay at the Jewel of Grand Bank. The Thorndyke!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWOntcans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Thorndyke B & B in Sept. 2011 and had a great experience. Colleen and Glynn and oh yes, Sexy Josh (their son) were very gracious hosts. We were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped in. They were very informative and answered all our questions about the area and surrounding places. Glynn makes a most delicious creamed egg breakfast, not to be missed.

We loved hearing about their experiences they had with prominent people who have stayed at the Thorndyke.

Great spot to catch ferry boat to Saint Pierre/ Miquelon, Fr.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had the biggest bed ever seen! quiet night, warm welcome geat breakfast, Wish I could still be there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We really loved the house, a victorian beauty restored lovingly and with wonderful details. The bedroom was absolutely charming with a canopy bed overlooking the water front and a huge ensuite bathroom decorated with a victorian flair, with modern facilties. Very nice and interesting hosts as well as the other couples we met at breakfast. We accepted a visit to the widow's walk which offered a lovely view of the town and waterfront. Delicious and filling breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed just one night as we were on our way to St. Pierre the next day, but there were other guests who were there for a whole week, and we could understand why they chose this place for as their temporary home while in the area. The house is full of charm and history. Our spacious, comfortable room faced the sea--the sound of waves lulled us to sleep at night. And the other rooms we saw on the second floor were extremely attractive. Colleen and Glynn made us feel very much at home. Glynn took us up to the catwalk the night we arrived, and recommended a terrific little place around the corner to get dinner (Sharon's). Colleen called the purser of the ferry we were taking the next day to ask if there was room on the later trip so we could switch (we decided that 7:15 am was too early after a long day of driving!). And the breakfast was one of the best we had on our whole trip. (Eggs beautifully prepared by Glynn; five kinds of jam, all homemade by Colleen.) Like one of the other reviewers, we were impressed by Colleen and Glynn's ability to make us feel comfortable, welcomed and informed, while allowing us privacy and space. We are recommending this warm and charming B&B to anyone we know heading for the Burin Peninsula!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieBraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 Water Street, Grand Bank, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Bank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Bank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thorndyke Hotel Grand Bank
The Thorndyke b&b
The Thorndyke Bed And Breakfast Grand Bank, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing