We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic new owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottages at Clear Lake
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic new owners”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here last year when it was Johnson Cabins and were very disappointed in the cabin. We heard they had new owners so we thought we would give it another try, and it was fantastic!!!!! If you are looking for a modern Cabin this is not, but for us Cabins aren't supposed to be modern, it is very cute and as clean as it could get being these owners are still trying to replace things. It felt clean, and I didn't have to worry about sitting on the couch or making sure I had my shoes on when walking around the cabin. Yes the pool is a little run down, but it was clean! We had some cooler days so they had the pool closed, but when the sun came out and our girls wanted to go swimming, they saw us checking out the pool and came out to open it just for us, they did this for us twice. These people are going above and beyond what they really need to, GREAT PEOPLE!!!! They even offered us to keep the cabin for the day that we checked out because they knew we were going to be around for the entire day. These cabins are fantastic and please give them a try!!!! They have great BBQ to use, and we also had a fire pit! We had a fantastic trip and stay while in Clear Lake!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktstrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    5
    3
    15
See reviews for
32
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I needed a cottage on short notice, so I was advised to call The Cottages at Clear Lake. The person on the other end of the phone was very friendly and accommodating. We rented a three bedroom cottage for one week. We were very pleased, the cottage was clean, and we were provided with a fit pit and bar-b-que. The beds were awesome, and the location was great. The kitchen is not too well stocked with dishes, but we made due. The furniture is pretty old but seeing that the new owners have only had the place since May I think they are doing the best they can. I can't imagine taking on such a big venture as the new owner have and look forward to seeing the finished results. Great job & best of luck!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimber03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed at The Cottages at Clear Lake with my spouse and young child. It was our first time back to Clear Lake after more than 10 years. I was so saddened to see the awful state of The Cottages at Clear Lake! I used to stay here when it was Johnston's Cabins, I understand that the state of the grounds and cabins is not the fault of the current owners and wish them the best of luck. However, next time I will spend my money at one of the other rental companies. Every other company has clearly put energy and money into the upkeep of their grounds and cottages, and therefore it's a much, much better value for your money. When we arrived, I was told we were given an upgrade, which was a lie. We were told upon reservations that we would have a specific cottage, which is the one we got. The cottage was dirty, and smelled. The pool area was not well maintained, and the pool looked dirty. We had trouble checking out. The other companies had people enjoying the pool, grounds, BBQing outside, playing. It felt like we were the only ones at The Cottages, other than 2 very yappy dogs in the next cabin. While the beds are comfortable, we were told we'd have a queen sized bed, and it was actually a double.

I can't wait to go back to Clear Lake, and stay at one of the well kept, modern and comfortable cabins offered by a different company. I would stay here again in 5 years when it's up to par. I really wanted to like it here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LICL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottages_at_CL, General Manager at The Cottages at Clear Lake, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you for your review.

It is an absolute priority that our guests are provided with care, courtesy and comfort. I invite you to call me at 1-888-848-2524 so we may address your concerns.

Since receiving keys to the resort less than four months ago we’ve replaced dozens of hot water tanks, installed several new roofs, upgraded electrical wiring and installed safety equipment in every cabin. We also replaced the pool pump, sand filter, pool heater and have hired a professional to sandblast and resurface the pool before we open in the spring.

The work continues as I write, with many more improvements scheduled in upcoming months. I genuinely appreciate the support and understanding of our guests as we journey through this process together.

Over the course of this summer I had the pleasure of seeing our guests enjoy family gatherings, tell stories around the campfire, toss a football and cook mouth-watering barbecues. It was a pleasure to help set the scene for many wonderful memories and I look forward to doing so once again in 2011.

Sincerely,

Natasha Kaminsky
General Manager/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I wish the new owners all the best in their new venture managing this cottage/hotel property! You are off to a great start.

We found the customer service to be excellent; from working with us on the dates that we wanted, to ensuring that all appliances worked well, to saving the day by providing the salt and pepper, to coming over for a bonfire, beer and great conversation!

The cabin is neat and clean, and the beds were great!! Big beautiful duvets that hug you to sleep and leave you well rested in the morning!

It was great being guest #1 - I have pictures!!! Thanks Melanie!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMcAllister911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasagaming
0.4 mi away
Elkhorn Resort Spa & Conference Centre
4.1 mi away
Honeycomb Bed & Breakfast
22.6 mi away
Fairmount Bed & Breakfast
Fairmount Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Minnedosa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Arrowhead Family Resort
#2 of 2 in Wasagaming
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Clear Lake

Property: The Cottages at Clear Lake
Address: 109 Ta-Wa-Pit Drive, Wasagaming, Manitoba R0J 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Wasagaming
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wasagaming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the pristine wilderness of Riding Mountain National Park, The Cottages At Clear Lake is a comfortable retreat. We are conveniently located within the historic town of Wasagaming within two blocks of the lake, beach, shops and restaurants. Our cottages feature:• Luxurious new featherbeds, down comforters & quality linens• Fully stocked kitchen with fridge, stove, cookware and dishes• Gas barbecues and access to firepits. We offer weekly and shorter term accommodations for groups of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Cottages at Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Clear Lake Hotel Wasagaming
The Cottages At Clear Lake Manitoba/Wasagaming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing