We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elkhorn Resort Spa & Conference Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westway Inn(Neepawa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
169
178
106
50
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
178
106
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselkhorn resortgolf coursepool areamineral poolclear lakethe outdoor hot tubriding mountain national parkspring breakgames roombuffalo barhorseback ridingbisonget awaytime sharehotel roomthe main hotelpull out couch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 528 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Each year we bring out parents for a lunch to the Elkhorn when we visit them near Dauphin. I must say the experience never gets better! Come in - disinterested staff at the dining room entrance. Ask to sit at a booth for the comfort and ease of my elderly parents ( 85 & 90)and it was a big deal. No smiles or real interest in servicing their customers...The girl advised " we do not seat people at that booth under the TV". Then two people walked in and sat there. We wait while they cleaned a booth table. Our waiter was a very pleasant young man from Dauphin and he was friendly and did a great job. The food was good... not great. BUT THE FLIES - OMG they were everywhere. I realize this is a horse stable kind of place but not only did they have tons of flies... the windows were dirty... the rustic wooden tables - edge gaps were full of old food. The place has been changed to a more pub style atmosphere which is okay and can be great. But the staff needs to be trained in friendly service. The girl at the front never even acknowledged us as we walked in - busy folding napkins at the restaurant desk? This could be such a great place - too bad management is lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Played golf at the resort and great little par 3 course for the family. Tried to eat lunch at the restaurant and waited for 10 minutes at table to get anything. Left after 15 and were still waiting for kids menus and waters for the table. Eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slacker2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a wedding. Ever heard the phrase "tired carpets"? I thought that was kinda funny until I stayed here! The hotel tries to be country-chic but is just country-cliched. Worn carpets, weird smell, generally tacky. We had a room with golf course view... not really because we faced a parking lot with the golf course on the other side! Towels needed some fabric softener and the shower was genuinely the weirdest shower ever - seemed like it was missing the shower head. Would I come back ? No way, no how. Not sure a B & B would be better but I would not subject myself to this again - and it was $200 + by the time we paid taxes etc. That's almost as much as a 4 star hotel in Toronto!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Not worth the cost of the room. The room was to be a non smoking room yet had a very strong smell of stale cigarette smoke. It could use different window coverings to allow for some privacy on ground floor rooms. It could use a spring cleaning, the phone was gross. It is a beautiful location. Watch for woodtics, yes even in August, we found one in our bed!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedrock1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Best things about resort:proximity to Clear Lake, Wasagaming townsite, and Riding Mountain National Park. Also the Solstice Spa at Elkhorn, and the beautiful natual setting.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby: In Onanole: Poor Michael's Used Books, Coffe House, and Imports. In Wasagaming: shopping, Whitehouse Bakery for breakfast and cinnamon buns, the Parks Canada Centre, the oldest, in-use log-construction movie theatre in North America, and Clear Lake Boat Tour. Clear Lake Golf Course, the Restaurant at Clear Lake Golf Course, and hiking & biking trails in Riding Mountain National Park.

Review: The resort is nice but needs some updating and refreshing. The units do not yet have Wi-Fi. The restaurant is under new management and its menu will hopefully be improved and updated. The bbq supper buffet was delicious, but the brunch buffet was mediocre. An expansion is planned for the pool area, over the next few years, which should really add to the aquatic experience. The Solstice Spa is a lovely place to spend a day. The new horseback riding facility is state-of-the-art.

Hiking trails abound in Riding Mountain National Park and there is great strolling and sightseeing around the townsite of Wasagaming. Some attractions in the area are not available until the last week in June, but it is less crowded, and the shopping in Wasagaming is better, before the crowds arrive. You can rent canoes and kayaks at the public dock in Wasagaming. The water in Clear Lake is usually not warm enough to swim in until late July.

We don't golf, but we've heard that the Clear Lake couse is spectacular. The Elkhorn Resort course is more beginner and family oriented.

Room Tip: Request one of the newest units.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthAirFireWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews