We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonora Resort
Nearby Hotels
Painter's Lodge(Campbell River)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage River Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Centre Inn(Campbell River)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbourside Inn(Campbell River)
$67
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Discovery Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$126
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Above Tide Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Suites(Campbell River)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whiskey Point Resort(Quathiaski Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
300
16
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
16
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco tourfishsea lionstop notchbear watchinggrizzly bear tourtasting menucampbell riverfirst classhot tubout of this worldour honeymoondining roomhelicopter ridewater taxiattention to detailbritish columbia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 323 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a great stay three years ago, we made a second trip with some degree of apprehension that the experience would not live up to the fond memories of our prior stay. We're happy to report that the resort, in terms of the accommodations, services, dining, available activities is still awesome. In both this trip and three years ago, we subsequent stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim in Vancouver, a nice hotel in its own right, but was made to feel anticlimatic after the incredible experience at Sonora. When we arrange our next visit, it might be best to reverse the order of the stays.

The best part of this visit was when our daughter, now strong enough to reel in a fish, caught a pink salmon (a big thank you to Mike Sear for guiding us!) We ate a little piece on the dock; freshest and best tasting sashimi we've ever had. Terry Pichor, the extremely talented Executive Chef, cooked the rest of it for us for lunch. Amazing.

Sonora Resort is, by far, the best lodging experience we've ever had...anywhere. If it were possible, it deserves a six circle rating.

Room Tip: We've enjoyed rooms in the Arbutus and Gillard Lodges.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us, and that your youngest angler caught a delicious salmon. We look forward to having you back again soon. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent four days at Sonora on a quasi business retreat with two other couples and every second was beyond outstanding. The food was mouth watering, the accomodations first rate and the attention to detail by the enthusiastic staff was tireless. Seeing sea lions, eagles and dolphins in their natural habitat was a once in a lifetime opportunity. I'm already trying to figure a way to come back

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your retreat with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Sonora Resort in July 2007. Simply amazing. The food, the facilities, the staff. You get full value for your dollar here. We also enjoyed a few of many available excursions, salmon fishing, grizzly tours, etc. You leave feeling like you were really taken care of and that you've just experienced something you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to have you again as our guests!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not enough can be said about the resort and the food. Due to throat cancer I have a very limited diet. The whole staff was made aware and I never had to request a thing, each meal was great and custom made for me. The other three people in my party raved about the diverse menu and quality of the meal. Our rooms were fantastic with great views. Fishing was a little slow but it has been great on previous trips, that's fishing. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us (and particularly the food!), and hope to have you again as our guests!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were a group of two families with teenage kids. My wife is a coeliac. The waitstaff made no mistake about that, always thinking of her dietary needs. No request was too hard for them. Everything was done courteously and promptly. Nothing was done begrudgingly.
The facilities were superb, the food and wine were excellent and our kids thought the experience beat New York!
We stayed 4 days, which was long enough for a wonderful time. It is the best resort we've been to, and we've been to a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hothan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that our Chef was able to meet your dietary needs. Safe travels!
Sincerely,
The Sonora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews