We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding 30th Anniversary get-away!!”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, BC, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding 30th Anniversary get-away!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have done some travelling but never have we enjoyed a get-away as much as our time at Sonora. Such a unique experience. Saw Orca whales passing right by us on the boat ride in, sea lions in the harbour, bald eagles everywhere and grizzly bears on a tour we took. What an experience! The resort is second to none. Buildings have been built around tall trees keeping the wilderness feeling. Grounds are so well kept. Rooms were spotless and housekeeping team was in twice a day. Great views from all the rooms we saw. Food was outstanding and service was as well. We found all staff members were quick to help or just offer a friendly greeting. Would love to visit again soon and highly recommend Sonora Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnightchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank-you very much for taking the time to share your Sonora experience. We are so delighted that you chose to share your special 30th anniversary with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
149
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

You travel an hour up the jaw-dropping coastline of British Columbia by helicopter to land at Sonora Resort. Now prepare yourself for it all to be taken up a notch! Sonora is something special. The air- it's sharper, crisper, cleaner. The scenery is high drama: steep mountains, roiling, boiling waters with some of the most amazing tides in the world. (At one point we were going downhill as we travelled through a narrow passageway during high tide--go figure!) Out on the boat you see frisky Dall porpoises, huge sea lions sunning themselves, grizzly bears (from a safe vantage point) and it's always nice to catch a 23 pound Chinook.

If you are travelling to Vancouver and want an intense, magical, way to experience what British Columbia is all about book an extra 3 days and go to Sonora Resort. It absolutely lives up to its reputation as the highest level of luxury and the experience is truly one of a kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank-you for sharing your Sonora experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our long awaited trip to Sonora did not disappoint. From the moment the helicopter landed at the Resort it was a matter of superlatives - outstanding food, friendly and efficient service and very comfortable accommodation.

Wildlife viewing opportunities are totally on the whim of the wildlife - but my oh my. Transient Orcas, pods of Pacific white-sided dolphin, seals, sea lion, eagles and of course the mighty Grizzly bear fishing for salmon in the Orford River. The walk amongst the giant cedars in old growth forest, despite the pouring rain was simply wonderful.

Aaron, our guide on three excursions was the best - passionate and knowledgeable he added so much to the experience. Restaurant staff catered and even anticipated our every request. I have never been to a restaurant where I have ordered the same thing for lunch three days in a row - Tagiolini Scoglio (spot prawns, scallops, mussels, clams, garlic, olive oil, chili and cherry tomatoes on linguine) - absolutely mouth watering (especially with a nice glass of pinot grigio).

Sonora is a magical place with its stunning views of the ebbing and flowing tide. No matter where you have been in the world or what you have seen you will not be disappointed. Once you experience it, you will never forget it,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write this fabulous review. We will be sure to pass along your appreciation to Aaron - he is indeed an amazing passionate guide and we are happy to have him on our team! We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went there for a quick one night getaway. It was by far the best service we have ever had, and the meals....oh the meals.......I have never had such fine cuisine prepared and served so nicely. Every single staff person was very pleasant and friendly. Zero issues or problems whatsoever and I would recommend Sonora Resort to anyone who enjoys a beautiful place with top quality service and dining at its finest.

Room Tip: ll the room are amazing. Get a view room......always something to look at overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank-you for choosing Sonora as your Anniversary celebration! We look forward to having you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spend four days at Sonora after it was recommended by a friend and it certainly didn't disappoint. My husband and I took my mum there as a surprise birthday present and it couldn't have been more perfect. From the helicopter rider (magical in the bright sunshine) to the grizzly bear tour (the highlight of our whole holiday in Canada) we couldn't fault it. The staff were lovely and the extra touches are what make this place amazing - the impromptu bottle of complimentary champagne on my mum's birthday and the flowers in her room made it feel so special.
Piece of advice - although the activities are brilliant, make sure you allow some free time to just sit and soak up the beautiful surrounds. We loved sitting on the decking outside our rooms watching the seals and sealions in the waters surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank-you for choosing Sonora for your mum's birthday celebration. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the moment we checked in we found the staff, amenities and surroundings simply fantastic.

The restaurant is excellent for both food quality and ambience. I truly enjoyed the tasting menu as it gave us samplings. Each portion was both delicious and well presented.

The day of fishing was a wonderful adventure as the guides are extremely knowledgable and friendly. Don Martin, our guide and skipper, was most accommodating as I had never done this type of fishing before. Lunch on the boat was great as well. Sonora Lodge provided the fishing gear including boots, jackets, snacks and refreshments.

Another great feature is the numerous hot tubs around the resort. I did not count them all but there must be around 20 of them! The hot tubs are very clean and conveniently located with beautiful views of the property and surroundings.

My room was very clean, comfortable and well proportioned with a great view of the property, water and surrounding area. The comfy bed, gas fireplace, stocked bar/fridge, spacious bathroom and the rain shower made it a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

There are plenty of other amenities that made my stay enjoyable and productive at the same time. There is a business office, movie room, a well diversified games room and a bar. I loved the fact there is free wifi in the rooms and throughput the resort.

I recommend Sonora Lodge highly as my experience here made me feel like I never want to leave! I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveandbeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience! We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I recently used the spa again at Sonora Resort. As always, the experience was outstanding topped only by attentive service of the spa staff. Facial, pedicure, massage - all great. After our treatments, two friends and I had our pre-ordered lunch outside on the deck. What a wonderful, relaxing afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Island Currents Spa! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
19.8 mi away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#3 of 9 in Quadra Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing