We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I never want to leave here!”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I never want to leave here!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the moment we checked in we found the staff, amenities and surroundings simply fantastic.

The restaurant is excellent for both food quality and ambience. I truly enjoyed the tasting menu as it gave us samplings. Each portion was both delicious and well presented.

The day of fishing was a wonderful adventure as the guides are extremely knowledgable and friendly. Don Martin, our guide and skipper, was most accommodating as I had never done this type of fishing before. Lunch on the boat was great as well. Sonora Lodge provided the fishing gear including boots, jackets, snacks and refreshments.

Another great feature is the numerous hot tubs around the resort. I did not count them all but there must be around 20 of them! The hot tubs are very clean and conveniently located with beautiful views of the property and surroundings.

My room was very clean, comfortable and well proportioned with a great view of the property, water and surrounding area. The comfy bed, gas fireplace, stocked bar/fridge, spacious bathroom and the rain shower made it a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

There are plenty of other amenities that made my stay enjoyable and productive at the same time. There is a business office, movie room, a well diversified games room and a bar. I loved the fact there is free wifi in the rooms and throughput the resort.

I recommend Sonora Lodge highly as my experience here made me feel like I never want to leave! I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveandbeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience! We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
161
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I recently used the spa again at Sonora Resort. As always, the experience was outstanding topped only by attentive service of the spa staff. Facial, pedicure, massage - all great. After our treatments, two friends and I had our pre-ordered lunch outside on the deck. What a wonderful, relaxing afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Island Currents Spa! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is without doubt the best resort that I could recommend to anyone. It was our second visit and we were so impressed previously in 2010 that we returned for our honeymoon this year. The management and staff at the resort simply cannot do enough for you to make it a perfect stay. The food and service remains outstanding and we went on numerous excursions on this visit, all arranged through the resort and all delivering on what was promised. If you are looking for genuine 5 star plus luxury in the wilderness then this is the place. We will always come back here!

Room Tip: They are all brilliant rooms so don't worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you so much for sharing your Sonora Resort experience - we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Often times when you think of an 'all inclusive vacation', Mexico, Hawaii or other Destinations come to mind first. Being well travelled myself, I can honestly tell you that Sonora Resort is and will be my first choice vacation destination moving forward. I can't even beging to describe the experience. It is one of those "special" places that you want to show everyone closest to you, almost like your secret place because it doesn't seem real. I still can't believe we were forunate enough to experience Sonora and now I can't stop talking about it friends, peers or guests. The helicopter ride over is a must, they personally greet you seconds the helicopter lands where you are led to a private, sit down reception (check-in), where you are served wine and cheese to discuss everything the resort has to offer. Its almost like you don't have to think, everytime you turn to do something, there is someone there smiling, ready to assist you or it has already been taken care. You are truly relaxed and at peace. The rooms are modern and extremely well kept (the bedding was beautiful) and the bathrooms..speechless, wow. The facilities are stellar - tennis, mini golf, the decks, the gardens. The Spa was an experience out of this world, don't miss the spa! If you can, get out and do some whale watching and the Eco Tour. Again, an experience that blew us away. Our tour guide was Aaron and man he knows his stuff, we'd do it again just because of him! The dining was flawless. The Chefs do an exceptional job and are so present through the whole dining experience. A special thank-you to Brittany and Shanna for their always making us feel so welcome and looked after.

As a couple who works in the Hospitality Industry for a reputable internationally known hotel chain, we thought we understood what providing the top notch hospitality was. We were wrong. Sonora re-defined luxury service for us and we both can say this was the BEST vacation we've ever had. Thank you Sonora Team!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JarretL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your incredibly kind words. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/a
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the flight in, to touchdown at yvr, it was an incredible experience. Every aspect of our stay was incredible. The stunning sunrises and tranquil evenings were most enjoyable. Every meal was perfect, no request was turned down and the atmosphere was perfect. Some of the best meals I have had in a long time.

The fishing and watching the sea lion feed were definite highlights of the trip. We were lucky enough to have Alexandra as our server for most meals. She was great in all aspects and very helpful in ensuring we had a pleasant stay. Don't miss the swiss shower in the spa. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purelywasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora Experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have had the pleasure of visiting Sonora Resort several times over the past few years and can confirm that it only gets better with each stay. One of the great joys of the resort is the overall feeling of peace and tranquility contributed to by the incredible natural beauty, the many outdoor activities and the amazing service provided by the attentive staff. For an added level of relaxation consider a visit to the spa which offers a great array of high quality services (every bit as good as in a furst class city spa) in a beautiful setting. You may end up being so relaxed that you are unable to leave the island!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed Island Currents Spa and that your vacation was a relaxing one. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As I write this review, I see the ratings of this resort as 69 excellent, and not a single other score. Well make that a well earned and deserved 70! The resort itself is perfectly situated to highlight all the natural wonder that BC has to offer...and yes, the whales, eagles, dolphins, deer and bears are all really at your doorstep with wonderful guides like Aaron to bring them all to life. Outside of the truly magnificient infrastructure, what makes Sonora so special? Simply, it is the people. Sean Ross has assembled a first class team, from Terry Pichor's wonderful culinary skills, to the staff (Maddie, Anastasia, Laura, Brianna ) who consistently exceeded our expectations serving us, to even the gift shop (Lauren and Stephen) who made our vacation so memorable by sharing in First Nations artwork.
Sonora - the best resort ever that you must experience!

Room Tip: Views from the upper rooms of Arbutus are magnificient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank-you for choosing us as your honeymoon destination - and thank you for the terrific review! We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
284 reviews
25.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
353 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
94 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
432 reviews
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing