We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The minute we landed in our helicopter to be greeted by the manager and senior staff i knew we had made a good choice... We were led to the bar where we were served drinks and a cheeseboard with an upmarket welcome from the general manager. Our room (The Presidential Suite) was incredible! It had its own hot tub and steam room, 3 drinks fridges full of spirits, soft drinks and loads of snacks which were unlimited and already paid for. It had a very large main bedroom with a gorgeous bathroom and a large twin room with a great bathroom as well. Downstairs had a bar area, a bathroom and a very comfortable living room with a massive flatscreen and loads of channels. Every night at turn down you would get a lovely gift aswell, which was a nice touch. The restaurant was incredible food, amazing ambiance and impecible service. The staff were proffesional, friendly and personal to you. Also i would like to point out that Michael and Alexandra were especially amazing. The activites were great too- we went on the eco tour and saw amazing wildlife and went through some rapids at the end which was fun! Aaron, the guide was great. The mineral pools in the spa were great- a sunbathing hotspot outside! There was amazing facilities too, a great games room, ps3's and xboxs, a golf simulator, an outside putting course and mountain bikes to rent. You could also fish and hike. It was seriously the best hotel i had ever been too and was hard to leave. Best service i had ever encountered, amazing food, incredible facilities and outstanding rooms! Heaven in so many different ways!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite is much recommended. Expensive- but so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelExpert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
144
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at Sonora for six days in the first leg of our honeymoon. Whilst our expectations were suitably high given the cost, we were blown away by everything about Sonora. The location is magical a full of wildlife. The range of activities is superb. The food is quite simply sublime which explains the Relais & Chateaux gong. What topped it was the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. Thet made our stay such a wonderful experience. Leaving Sonora was very difficult as it is an incredible place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_emmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Travelled to Sonora Resort with my Mom and my 4 year old daughter and what an incredible vacation we had! The resort itself, the amenities, the service, the food are absolutely spectacular. The scenery just takes your breath away! We live in Vegas and just wanted to run away from 110F, but not in our wildest dreams did we expect to see such stunning natural beauty everywhere you turn. I do recommend the Zodiac tour, our guide Aaron was knowledgable and fun, my daughter was in heaven seeing the black bears, dolphins and eagles i just hope she remembers this adventure. I agree with most a trip to Sonora is once in a lifetime experience, we will treasure the memories. The staff was attentive and very kid friendly. Thank you for that!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We brought our three boys aged 8,6 and 2 to Sonora Resort for our summer vacation. What an incredible vacation indeed! We fished and caught 2 awesome Salmon with our super guide Steve! The boys loved fishing! They woke up at 5 am and couldn't wait til 7 sk they could get out there! The ECO tour with Aaron was incredible! We had the most awesome experience of seek g a pod of Orcas in the wild- Eagles about 300 of them, seals, a rapids excursion and much much more! The boys also loved trying to fly fish in the trout pond!! The rooms are impeccable and the staff top notch! Incredible food and value!! We will be recommending this place to all our friends and family! They think of everything! The staff know your names, what you drink what your childrens' preferences are etc- a definite oasis that you must visit!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Was just brought here for my birthday. Excellent food. Excellent service. Beautiful resort. More activities than you can do in a weekend. Your every whim catered to. The only bad thing is having to return to reality. If this is not the best resort in Canada, I would be surprised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coalharborvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Señora Resort is a once in a lifetime experience.
The spectacular surroundings of wildlife and scenery will just take your breath away.
The dining experience is one we will remember foa a lifetime.i have never been so pampered.You will not regret coming to Señora resort.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivers1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We needed a well-deserved break. We found ourselves on a beautiful, modern helicopter that was piloted by Rupert Kaile on our way to Sonora Resort. Four nights and five days in the Canadian wilderness was something we were really looking forward to. From the moment we landed on the private helicopter pad we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We were escorted to the Tyhee Lodge which became our home away from home. We were introduced to all the amenities that Sonora featured by Rebecca and Sean, the Manager. There was fly fishing for rainbow trout, salmon fishing, mountain hikes, spa, tennis, you name it – they had it. The trick was how to fit it all in!

Our room in the Gillard building had a very beautiful northwest outlook on to the rapids and Stuart Island. Lots of time was spent mesmerized simply watching a deer and faun playing in the grass or seals splashing in the ocean.

Meals in the Tyhee Lodge are five star and the staff is six star! We were served by Maddy, Shannon, Alexandra, Laura, Brittney, and numerous other incredible staff under the leadership of Michael. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all spectacular. We had many wonderful experiences including a boat excursion with Ben, who had a captivating mixture of accents and a calm, cool, skilled handling of our vessel “The Victory”. A couple’s massage looked after by Kimberly and Angie was a definite highlight. The entire spa is run by the very skilled and professional Miranda. They assisted us with workouts, time in the mineral pools and ensured we received lunch and beverages; it was incredible.

The staff to guest ratio is incredible. We tried to capture as many names as possible and quite frankly we know we missed a few, which we regret. However, every staff member seems to work in tandem to ensure every guest has an exceptional experience.

Our room had a fireplace and, as mentioned earlier, the captivating view. It was all kept together by incredible housekeeping staff, who regrettably we did not see that much as we were always out but we did meet Megan and Sarah who were always cheerful and helpful.

If you have the time and energy, we really recommend the Top Loop hike. There are portions that are a little daunting but if you take your time they are easily conquered. The best part is going with the two camp dogs – golden retrievers, Lucky and Stella. When you’re not laughing at them for running into every pond and pool of water they can find, then rubbing themselves down in the door, they are monitoring your every step. They waited and walked with us until we were back from our lodge, ensuring we had a fabulous outing. It was a great two and a half hours to be in the woods, enjoying the peace and quiet.

Any Canadian, any North American, and any visitor from around the world that doesn’t take an opportunity to experience the beauty, the excellent service, the tranquility of Sonora Lodge will definitely miss something spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suvina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
248 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
378 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
91 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#3 of 9 in Quadra Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing