We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Trip”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a great choice. We will certainly return. Hard to descripe the beauty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 32655Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
149
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andrews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at Sonora for 4 days. A very unforgettable experience in the wilderness. We will definetly be back!!!! The food is the best we have had in the world!

Room Tip: Everything is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Who knew that a 5-star all-inclusive resort was right here under our nose! The staff at the resort were amazing - very personable & friendly; our server, Julie, in the dining room always remembered something special about each guest and had a good sense of humour. I can remember names of many of the staff because they treated you like you were the only ones around. My husband & I were there for our 28th wedding anniversary and tried kayaking for the first time (a 2-hour tour) with a guide who went at a reasonable pace and made sure we saw some of the sites around (seals, eagles & nests, even some ancient pictographs). We went on a harbour cruise, and eco tour (where we saw 3 transient Orca whales), learned to fly fish, and went salmon fishing for the first time ever - and we caught 2 Chinooks with a total weight of almost 50 lbs. There were many more things to do, but didn't have time. Maybe next time. Well worth the money spent. Even the "getting there" was an adventure.

Room Tip: Our room in Gillard lodge was roomy enough for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Have just spent 4days at the most incredible resort I have ever been to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyd_stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Sonora Resort is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in around the world. We stayed here with my two teenage stepsons in late Aug/early September and we were so incredibly impressed. We stayed for 7 nights and we really would recommend that you stay for longer than a few days. There is so much to see! We saw black and grizzly bears and stellar sea lions and bald eagles and orca whales and what the guide estimated to be 200+ dolphins. Seeing the wildlife up close brings tears to your eyes and the knowledge of the guides like Aaron is incredible and really adds to your enjoyment on the eco tours and bear trips. I tried my hand at salmon and fly fishing, much to the amusement of my sons! The spa is gorgeous, the hot tubs out side the rooms are just great and I wish we could go back every year. As I type this I am remembering so much and I can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

imagine a huge island in the stunningly beautiful northwest and the only thing on it is a first class resort. so, if you like whale/seal/bear watching, salmon fishing, hiking, kayaking, breath-taking views and outstanding food & service, this is your place. the manager does a superb job recruiting staff: to a person, they're friendly and helpful. they REALLY want you to enjoy yourselves. and you do.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Sonora is a little corner of paradise. From the moment you arrive the staff create an atmosphere of calm and relaxation. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is quite delicious and I thoroughly recommend the tasting menu each night. The tours are well organized and every detail is thought of down to a tuck box for snacks and drinks. Go to Sonora and you will have the vacation of a lifetime!
 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
19.8 mi away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#3 of 9 in Quadra Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing