We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I would say this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip to experience the raw nature of British Columbia (in luxury), but from the people we spoke to at Sonora Resort, once is not enough! Different seasons offer different experiences. Sea lions the size of small cars parked on the rocks in the spring, eagle central and the whale highway up and down the BC coast in the summer, and experiencing grizzly bears 'grocery shop' for salmon in the fall. Oh, and the fishing. People were catching 25 lbs plus chinooks on a regular basis. Last year the biggest salmon in decades was pulled out of these waters. Add to this some of the most wonderful and innovative cuisine. (We were there during spotted prawn season for the sweetest prawns imaginable.) The staff are top-notch and they will fill any wish you may have--immediately. The rooms have a National Geographic show happening outside your window 24/7. The tides, the whirlpools, birds, seals, boats, float planes are your specialty channel! Sonora Resort feels that you are a million miles away from civilization but it's a 45 minute helicopter flight from Vancouver. Like everything else at this resort, the helicopter service is top of the line and part of the Sonora experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
144
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Unique is not enough to describe Sonora. Neither is Wonderful. The Accommodations, the Spa, the Fishing, the Nature, are something you will never forget. First Rate. A great place to get away with friends and small groups. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of water, the seals, the whales, the snow-capped mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHarkleroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Every aspect of our stay was perfected while the location & surroundings were stunning. Both the food and accomodations were beyond our expectation and the staff treated us like family. Can't wait to visit again....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

From the moment our luxury helicopter lifted off the pad at Vancouver airport's south terminal, to the moment it returned us there 4 days later, this trip was pretty much perfect.

Sonora is fairly remote: access is by water taxi (from Campbell River on Vancouver island), private boat (i.e. you have to own one yourself), or helicopter only. We chose the helicopter transfer, which is quite expensive, but a great experience: a huge 12-seater luxury helicopter with two pilots up front.

After our 50 minute flight up there, during which the pilots pointed out places of interest, we were warmly greeted by name on the resort's helipad by the manager and his deputy, whilst our luggage was taken ahead to our rooms. Drinks of our choice, plus a selection of cheeses and nibbles, awaited us in the bar, where we were checked in and given a brief orientation.

Over the next four days we saw black bears, a grizzly bear, porpoises, dolphins, orcas, went salmon fishing, sea kayaking, eco-touring around the neighbouring straits. All activities are effortlessly arranged by the resort staff, who go out of their way to make sure everything is exactly as you want it.

One sunny afternoon we mountain biked up to a lake on the island with the resort's two extremely friendly golden retrievers in tow (they help keep black bears away), and all four of us had a swim to cool off (the trail is steep, particularly towards the end).

The food is fantastic: a la carte breakfast, lunch (have the buffalo chicken wings and the Sonora burger), and amazing 7 course tasting menus in the evening. The wines and range of other drinks are great too; barman makes superb cocktails (try the French martini).

The resort is in a stunning location, perched on a gentle slope down to a narrow section of the Strait of Georgia, which looks like a river but is in fact part of the Pacific, and changes direction twice daily with the tides. But it's the superb staff and the outdoor activities they provide that make Sonora such a wonderful place. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjh44_cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves and are we glad we chose here.
Arrived in style from Vancouver in a $15m LAS Helicopter, a 47min trip up the Straight of Georgia, clear day so a fantastic flight. We were warmly met by the pilots before the flight and warmly met by Rebecca when we landed. Upon arrival our baggage was whisked off to our room and we went to the bar for our orientation and given our itinerary.
The resort is immaculate, the rooms are immaculate and the 10 boats that are lined up on the dock are immaculate, and to top it all off the staff were amazing, they could not do enough for you.
Whilst we were there we did a couple of hikes with the dogs, fly fishing in both the stocked ponds, 4 hours of salmon fishing in one of there Grady Whites , 3 hour kayak eco tour, Eco tour on the resorts rib (the guide was very knowledgeable and we listened to him through headphones) , harbour tour with wine and cheese, massage and best of all we completely relaxed, oh and we ate and drank too much :-).
We have eaten is some very nice restaurants but they do not come close to the food we had in Sonora, so fresh, impeccable presentation, just mouth watering.
Before our first meal we were asked if we had any preferences and dietary needs, my wife does not eat meat, so they only went and prepared a separate tasting menu for her. Just over and above our wildest expectations.
Before we booked we read through some of the reviews on here and it was hard to believe that it could be that good, well i do have one complaint, I had to leave.
I highly recommend you visit this resort you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sportbilly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We just got back from the resort Oct 8-10 2010. After arriving in Vancouver there was a 2 hr stop over and we highly recomend going to the Flying Beaver its walking distance from the helicopter hanger fantastic food and not too pricy . (you need to get to the reort by plane, helicopter or boat) we were lucky enough to go on the helicopter a 45 min flight from the airport.
When we arrived at the resort it was raining just a little the staff was there ready with umbrella's and take you to the main lodge. There was nothing the couldn't do for us, check-in is with a glass of wine and chocolate truffles sitting at a table while they explain the resort. A games room with xbox, playstation3, pool tables, Virtual golf , then a movie theater to watch movies or sports (with popcorn!) Fishing pond you can fish.
Information... Everone at the resort seemed to be very knowledgeable from the wine right down to the animals. The food... 5 star! no question they take a lot of pride in the food they serve if you want somthing else just ask! I recomend the taster its 5-6 small servings of different food about 1/2 was seafood.
The tours ... The bear watching was great if you have not seen a real grizzley then this is the safest way. After an hour boat ride you get on a small bus and they take you to different towers (so the bears can't get you) and you will see them looking for salmon in the water.
Fishing... It was late in the yaear so fishing wasn't the best but I managed to reel on in anyway. It was great just being on the ocean with a hot coffee and balies. The guide was outstanding. On the way back to the resort we got lucky, we noticed a lot dolphins around, the guide slowed the boat down making a bigger wake and the dolphins jumpped in the wake and swam with our boat it was so cool.. they were so close I could almost touch them.
Spa... 5 star no question according to my wife I was fishing but she said it was a once in a lifetime experience they went above and beyond again to make everything perfect.
We were only able to go for two days so there were parts of the resort we were never able to experience but whenever they could go above and beyond they did, I know the resort is $$$ but it is a once in a lifetime experience (try and go in early September the fishing is better)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryander154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Sonora Resort and Spa is a luxury secluded hideaway where nothing is too much trouble. The staff are dedicated to making your stay 'special' and certainly achieved this. The food is simply amazing and unlike other "all inclusive" resorts is top quality including the drinks available to you throughout. The location is simply stunning with rooms that look out across the waters full of sea lions and seals playing, whilst a short walk away are walks galore through temperate rain forest where Black Bears are easy to spot - a wildlife photographers paradise! The resort also offers a variety of trips from guided fishing to white water rafting - they will even arrange things that are not in the brochure - you just have to ask! This resort is not cheap, but it is definitely a case of you get what you pay for and if its luxury and being totally spoilt that your looking for then this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
25.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing