We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a Curry and a Beer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best of India Restaurant

Best of India Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in Oliver
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Curry and a Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Best of India says it all! A superb place for a curry and a Kingfisher beer!

Great food, friendly service and good atmosphere!

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes Indian food. They will adjust the spiceness of your curry to your palate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly owners/staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We mistakenly thought the restaurant was open until 8 PM and showed up at 7:45 PM – about 15 minutes after it had already closed. However, the server/host/owners were all happy to have us stay and wait to get take-out – very hospitable of them! We were very thankful and it was worth the wait.

When we got our food, a mere 10 minutes later, they suggested that we may want more spice (I guess we looked like we enjoy hot food!). I nodded enthusiastically and they promptly gave us a container of spices! The naan bread certainly wasn’t the best I’d ever had, but the palak paneer and daal had good flavour and spice. If you enjoy spicey foods, definitely as for “hot”, not medium.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_C_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best of India, Oliver, B.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We only eat there once a year, when we are up in Oliver on vacation. But we make a point of it. On our last visit there were three of us, we had three different dishes, chicken curry, butter chicken and chicken vindaloo all accompanied with rice naan and pikoras. We each asked for different amounts of heat, from medium to hot and were all very happy with what we received. This is a family run restaurant and the owner always makes a point of coming over to say hi and make sure that every thing was okay. Menu is note huge but it is adequate and prices are reasonable. Already looking forward to next years visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The atmosphere is small town cafe but the food is excellent and is tailored to your ability to handle "hot". Jas and his family are always friendly as are the other staff. Phone first; they are not always open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“NO NO NO”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went there they are over priced the service is bad they want to chat up friends and family rather than look after the customers.
NO did not like it one bit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ppeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best of India Restaurant also viewed

Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Best of India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing