We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, wines to match, good value”
Review of The Sonora Room

The Sonora Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Sage Road
Description: The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good food, wines to match, good value”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Large restaurant area, extensive menu. We visited as a party of 9 in June 2012, few other people so we had the place almost to ourselves. Selection of food was very good, descriptions accurate and if anything understated, when our food arrived the presentation was excellent and taste delicious. Wine very good too.
I cook a lot so I am not tolerant of poor food, here we had salmon which was firm textured and very tasty. I would go back again without hesitation.
You can visit an observation tower via a door off the restaurant, this gives amazing views over the winery and surrounding areas.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    112
    32
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very knowledgable and a beautiful view”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Knowledgable, patient staff who taught us a lot about wine and did not hurry us through our tasting. Absolutely beautiful!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JVern7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great View, Great Wine, Very good food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went to Burrowing Owl last weekend as a large party. The service was outstanding, they served us all simultaneously and promptly, it was like a big establishment in New York. The setting is astounding, beautiful views, great room. The wines are brilliant, we had the Athena - which is staggering value at 70 dollars (you could pay a lot more). The food is very good, some really good, not sure any outstanding. The portion size doesn't matter to us, but too much lamb and yet small salads. Price is upper end, dinner for two with lots of wine and dessert etc was about 200. If a budget, and a foodie, Hillside would be a better choice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gajgmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Cabernet Franc in the area!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nothing bad to report a little pricey but good for a special occassion. The outstanding factors are the views and the Cabernet Franc. Areas of improvement could be additional seating outside with water misters to keep the Mosquitos at bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yodatoadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The perfect lunch...”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had an opportunity to visit this restaurant while traveling through the Okanagan. I had a simple cheese plate for lunch and it was a most perfect blend of taste, portion and beauty. The presentation was gorgeous and the cheese offered were unique and tasty. The server recommended a wine pairing and it couldn't have been better. Nicely done!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonora Room also viewed

 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Sonora Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing