We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sonora Room

The Sonora Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Sage Road
Description: The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had our Sunday lunch at the Sonora Room, on the patio. It is a lovely view, and a beautiful place to sit and enjoy.

The food was excellent, as were the wine pairings. I had the Dungeness Crab Salad and my husband had the daily special, lamb on naan bread with blueberry dijon mustard. Both were excellent!

We highly recommend this restaurant! We ate at many of the winery restaurants, and this was our favourite!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlennAndYvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    105
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in a Wonderful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We started our evening with wine tasting in the tasting room, then walked around the winery. The views were wonderful of the valley and lake in the distance from the balcony. I think this is one of the best restaurants that we visited on our trip. One of the items we ordered was duck confit, something we had never had before, it was amazing! Followed by an equally amazing main course! I would have to recommend a visit here if in the area. The wine list includes some older Burrowing Owl wines that are not sold in stores.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromnorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service, Stunning Views, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I consider this our favorite restaurant in the Okanagan. We live in Vancouver and at least once a year build a trip around an evening at this restaurant. The view over the vineyard instantly transports you to Tuscany, and the food is locally sourced, and prepared to perfection. Service is friendly and attentive and atmosphere is relaxed. We go hungry so that we can enjoy a shared appetizer and dessert as well as our delicious mains. I appreciate that they always have a vegetarian option prepared with thought and care, and use a wide variety of local, organic ingredients. We also enjoyed the small but interesting assortment of chef's specialties sold by the front door - such as dressing and salts. We will enjoy having the flavors of the Sonora Room at home!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Dining in Osoyoos/Oliver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

One of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time, every thing was exceptional. First the winery setting is absolutely gorgeous only to be exceeded by the quality and presentation of the food. There were four in out party and each meal was outstanding the leek potato soup of the day exceptional as was the capressi salad and fresh crab cakes. For the dinners I had the steak accompanied with wild mushrooms, my wife had the Salmon, daughter the duck and her friend the lamb and each dish was prepared to perfection. Don’t miss this place for lunch or dinner (or both) if you are in Osoyoos.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John-Cypress-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner with an amazing view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just had a wonderful meal paired with really great wines! Ask for a table on the veranda for breathtaking scenery ...we enjoyed every moment!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lettara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonora Room also viewed

 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Sonora Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing