We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incroyable, mon ami!!!!”

Hammer's House of Hog
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Southern Barbeque at its best!
Oliver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Incroyable, mon ami!!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My dear friends, take it from me, a local who knows much about culinary delights. I have reviewed ALL restaurants in the area and if anybody knows the real deal it is ME. Now that we have this out of the way, go to Hammer's and give it a shot. You will not regret it! The wonderful smell and the beautiful presentation will negate the owner's love of the Saskatchewan Roughriders or the Montreal Canadiens. You can eat at a picnic table on site or be whisked away to a nearby beach to devour the culinary delight of your choice. Here is the procedure you must take...write this down:
1. Get in your car
2. Drive to Hammer's
3. Place your order
4. Pay for the order
5. Decide on location at which to eat
6. Say grace (optional for many..not for me)
7. Immediately DEVOUR the delight before you!
8. Repeat steps 1 thru 7
9. Lie down and rest and be thankful that you have found this place (largely becuz of me!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VanDelay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish he was here year round”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We live in Oliver. Every year we await his return, every year we weep at his last day. I haven't tried the beef brisket yet, that's first on my list upon the season opening. I'm a hard core fan of the House of Hog. I'm also blunt about food reviews, so I wouldn't give a 5/5 easily. I believe in good honest reviews as everyone works very hard for their spending dollars and you need a good guide. You cannot go wrong spending here. Excellent value, superb food, excellent service.You can also order ahead of time a huge meal take-out package for 8-10 people to have your own gathering, without all that hard work of having a barbecue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doe1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the real deal”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

stopped in for lunch after reading these good reviews and it's true - Real BBQ with great sauces.
stopped in the next day for more!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELGORDO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of that pulled pork!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend is a conesseur of pulled pork-gets it whenever it's on the menu. She loved Hammer's pulled pork sandwich, as did I. Worth the special trip up from Osoyoos. Note that the ribs, are also tasty, but their "tips" style which is more meaty and less fatty, but also slightly less tasty than normal ribs because of it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic sandwich”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Simple, quick, and tasty, just what every sandwich should be. Highly recommended if you want a quick bite to eat. Oliver can be hot as hell and there is only one table with shade to eat at this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrueReviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammer's House of Hog also viewed

Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Hammer's House of Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing