We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming.”

Covert Farms Family Estate
Book In Advance
$36.72*
and up
Ranked #8 of 53 things to do in Oliver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1959, Covert Farms Family Estate Winery is located in Oliver, BC on 650 acres of benchland. Winemaker Gene Covert is a 3rd generation farmer who worked this land with his father and grandfather. Our certified organic estate vineyards are influenced by the majestic McIntyre Bluff and managed with biodynamic practices. We craft our estate wines with minimal intervention, using natural fermentation when possible to focus on vineyard and fruit. Our white wines display purity of fruit and a crisp natural acidity coveted by growers, and low yields result in terroir-focused artisan reds that are luscious and age-worthy. Those who love recreation dually appreciate our location at the gateway to the iconic Okanagan landmark McIntyre Bluff, which makes a great place to picnic, bike ride or hike. Secrest Organics at Covert Farms operates our seasonal fruit & vegetable stand, and visitors can get their hands dirty in the u-pick section - selecting ripe produce under the summer sun.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hard not to sound cliche, but this place is really and often-the-beaten track gem.

The farm is tucked away up a windy, dusty road, though it's location is part of the charm. The staff we met were very helpful and honest, and the U-Pick is massive.....several acres of land with a host of fruits and vegetables.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MykeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    12
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“WOW - Make sure you leave enough time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

What an incredible vineyard! This was our #1 vineyard/farm stop in the Okanagan and we didn't leave enough time. The tour with Gene was fantastic, fun, and the special luncheon prepared for our group was exceptional. With 206 vineyards to choose from in the region, this combines the organic delights of a farm and vineyard so you get a 2 for 1 visitor experience! Make sure you have time to shop - we brought some jam and wine home and both are delicious reminders of time well spent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is the farm for my table!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Took a bit of the road less travelled at the recommendation of our hotel and arrived at Covert Farms (West and up the plateau from Oliver). An adorable family run organic farm nestled in a valley with stunning views of towing cliffs and a sweep back to Osoyoos Lake. Owner Gene Covert gave us a tour and even let us pick a few early strawberries from the patch. It sounds like U Pick is something they really encourage here and the description of the fall tomato fest had me tearing up (yep you get to throw a few of the nasty ones!) With a real commitment to organics and lots fun distractions for families I would pack up the car and head to their general store for provisions and some of Winery Chef Derek's farm to table palate pleasers - we got to meet him too! The wines produced here are also organic and we particularly loved the Rose and MDC blend.

Can't wait to go back when there's more than just a few lonely strawberries to be enjoyed!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have been picking fruit and veggies here for over 20 years and it just gets better each year. Now it is all organic as well. Wines also very delicious. One of my favourite places for lunch on a lovely sunny day

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Covert Farms Family Estate also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Covert Farms Family Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing