We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best little theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver Theater

Oliver Theater
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Oliver
Attraction details
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best little theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best popcorn possibly in North America, very much affordable & they don't charge an arm and a leg for candy/drinks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cchalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Neighbourhood Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Reasonably priced with comfortable seats and friendly staff. Great family activity in downtown Oliver.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WineCountryCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Oliver Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This a great vintage movie theatre. It is big, comfortable and has all the trappings of the theatres of my youth. Big screen, red velvet curtains and excellent acoustics. A must for nostalgia buffs and just a great place to see a movie for anybody.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BCbikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We buy tickets each year to attend the season. Best popcorn in B>C> I think. Foreign movies that have won awards.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely vintage theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Went to watch a festival movie with my wife ("The Hunt") and our night couldn't have been better. As we turned up to the booth and asked for 2 tickets, the lady told us someone had just handed in their tickets because they couldn't attend the movie. The lady gave us those tickets for free. We couldn't believe our luck!
Inside, the theatre was clean and had a very cool "retro" feel. The screen was large and new, but the draping, lighting, decorations all made me think of the movie "Nuovo Cinema Paradiso". It helped that the theatre was full, an somehow we felt we had both stepped back in time somehow..
Can't wait to go back there to watch another movie!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank el_ser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver Theater also viewed

Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Oliver Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing