We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quant little winery...BOLD taste!”

Castoro de Oro Estate Winery
Ranked #31 of 54 things to do in Oliver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Family owned and operated! Award winning wines –always made in small batches from pure South Okanagan, British Colombia grapes. Rose, white blends Heart of Gold and Radiant Rhapsody, a bold red blend Crimson Rhapsody, pure varieties of white and red wines and a unique style of dessert wine. With a hands-on approach, the owners facilitate every step of the process, from grape to glass. Castoro de Oro welcomes both children and pets to its fun, cozy atmosphere. Castoro de Oro Estate Winery’s name and label pays homage to its vineyard’s terroir and the founding of Canada. The 35-year-old (planted in 1980), eight-acre vineyard is located on the Golden Mile and blessed with a unique soil combination and a small lake located at the base of it. This terroir provides an ideal foundation for growing superior grapes and a longer growing season than many other Golden Mile vineyards. Beavers helped to create the small lake during their manipulation of earth and water. And early settlers’ search for gold led to the beavers’ vast contribution to the history of the nation; the then-booming fashion industry’s need for beaver felt and fur ultimately allowed settlers to thrive, formally establish the country, and choose the beaver as Canada’s national animal. Now, deservedly so, the dapper mascot appears on every old-photograph styled label.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a great little pit stop to make if your driving by. Caught one of the owners who went out of her way to bring out some amazing wines from there collection. I was pleasantly surprised at the full bold taste of some of their reds for a BC winery! I was thrilled with the scenery and will stop by again next time. Got some nice bottles for my wine rack and owner was eager to share the history of the winery. Great little place!

1  Thank Shellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks very much for posting this wonderful review, we appreciate it!
We sincerly enjoy hearing from our customers.
Look forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Stella
The owner who served you, I'm guessing, since I'm the only female here ;-)

P.S. if you're around the area for one of our "Open Mic" events (details on our website) they are always a fun time, perhaps then we might deserve / generate a coveted excellent rating from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

On a dreary Alberta day knowing we are down to our last bottle of Castoro's 2010 Merlot, we look forward to our annual summer trip to Oliver and to a visit to Castoro de Oro. During our last trip we put an order in for a case of the 2010 Merlot knowing it would be spectacular and we weren't disappointed. The owners put special care into all aspects of their winery. You must try the Vin de Cure...if there is any left on the shelf! Cheers!

Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Wow, Thanks for taking the time to post this great review. We really appreciate hearing from our customers and you're not the only one looking forward to your visit in 2013, we are too!
P.S. It's a bit winter-like here in Oliver at the moment also (Feb 6, 2013), but there will be that great Sunny South Okanagan heat soon we hope ;-)
Cheers!
Stella & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

What could be better than taking a trip to BC wine country? Enjoying the incredible scenery and stopping at the local wineries along the way. My favourite winery is Castoro de Oro - love to go into the shop and taste a few wines - very informative and fun! My favourite wine is Pinot Noir - well okay - might be a tie with Merlot!! Nice to sit on their patio and enjoy a glass of Castoro de Oro award winning wine - mountains behind you with a view of the lake - nice weather - really what could be better!!

Thank Millie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our last visit was actually October 2011, and if I had not heard another negative opinion, probably would have shrugged off the lack of hospitality by the lady serving us. She was inattentive, very cold in her delivery, and seemed like she would have rather been at the mall than serving wine to hundreds of eager beavers... however, prior to leaving on our yearly trip into the Okanagan to stock up on our favorites this year, a business associate shared a story about his recent visit to Castoro de Oro (formerly Golden Beaver). An American couple had just completed their purchase, and commented that before they headed home,they would like to stop for a bite to eat, and asked if she could recommend a restaurant. Rather than offering up some suggestions she said "What do I look like, a tourist guide?"! Hello? No, dear, you are not a tour guide, you work in a winery, but any one who works in this business should know that if you want repeat clients, you accommodate them with helpful suggestions as to where to eat, other not to miss wineries and attractions, and perhaps hotels where you will enjoy a relaxing sleep.

As for the wines? We have not been able to finish a bottle to date. It really is not the greatest wines we have had from the Okanagan, and we have a bottle Pinot Noir that is getting long in the tooth, but we have a bottle of cooking wine we are working on at this time, and we just can not bear to drink it, We will not go back, and we unfortunately do share our wine stories with family and friends, so Castor de Oro will have that many fewer visitors in the years to come. I have read the other reviews here, and am surprised that they got such friendly service, when all I have to recall is the cold shoulder service we were given, as well as the couple from the USA did.

1  Thank maitiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to Castoro de Oro, we find it very surprising that anyone asking for Restaurant Suggestions got the response you quoted, perhaps it was said laughingly as a joke? We do like to tease and laugh! We also have for several years had a booklet up in our wine shop with "Recommended Restaurants" on the front cover which includes not just a list but many of the actual menus from local restaurants, so people can decide also based on price or food style. And it is offered to anyone who asks for restaurant suggestions, this booklet has been exclaimed upon by many customers as wonderful and way above what most other wineries provide.
As for the wines... many of our wines have won awards, did you not taste the wines before you purchased them? We are confused that you could have purchased what appears to be many bottles that you didn't like? We do provide free tastings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A must stop along the "Golden Mile" Vineyard area of Oliver, BC. Stella was very helpful and the wines are fantastic. Their Merlot is awesome !!!!! We will be back !!!!!!

Thank Boof55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Ola Boof55, Thanks for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor... we appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castoro de Oro Estate Winery also viewed

 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Castoro de Oro Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing