We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild Forest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lakeside Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oliver
Certificate of Excellence
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wild Forest Review”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Sweet little resort. I've been here numerous times over the past few years. Dawn and her staff treat you to a wonderful experience. This gem boasts a quaint motel for the travellers not camping. There are lots for sites here to enjoy. Full hook-ups to single tent sites are available. The Lakeside resort is exactly what is says. A nice beach fronting on a 15 acre + lake. Privacy and convenience are the stars here. A group of my buddies and myself make the annual trek for some early season golf and comeradery. The value is excellent. There are two great golf courses to partake in. Desert Canyon (formerly Nk'Mip) and Fairview mountain are rated top ten in B.C. If you have a larger group, request room #1. It has all the bells and whistles. Full kitchen, fireplace,two bathrooms that can sleep at least ten. Room #9,a corner suite has a full kitchen and is a very short walk to the beach. Great outdoor family hot tub steams daily for your enjoyment. Check this place out ,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildforestreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the stellar review! We really appreciate it! Our Steak-on-the-Lake Golf Packages have been a tradition amongst golfers for over 20 years. It's so nice to be able to have dinner and just hang-out on the property. There's free firewood if you want to enjoy a campfire, bocce balls, horseshoes, volleyball as well as just kicking back in a lawn chair. As well as Nk'Mip and Fairview we also offer golf at Osoyoos, Twin Lakes, Penticton, and Summerland golf courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bc canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed 2 night in the motel portion of the resort but would love to try a cabana or a rv site.Kids loved being so close to the beach and spent most of their stay in the nice shallow water.Close to town but feels far away from the busy downtown area.Plan on coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaurobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Looking forward to having you stay with us again. Kids love The Lakeside Resort!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

After traveling from Sydney Australia, we spent 2 days driving from Edmonton to Oliver. On arriving the service at the desk was welcoming - my cousin was returning for a second consecutive year. We were staying with family in a Cabana - 4 bunks and a double bed. Basic kitchen with no cooking facility but a fridge was supplied. Large BBQ table for the 5 of us to eat at every night. Only draw back was due to the heat during the day, no air circulated in the cabana. We had to buy a fan but this did not always help when trying to sleep. The location to town was good with about a 20 minute walk into town or if you had bikes there is a cycle path to follow. Lake was beautiful and refreshing given the 37 degree days we had. Lots of activities for kids - sand castle competition, penny sweets and a visit by the local fire brigade. Lots of local fruit stalls and plenty of vineyards to check out for something different. Great location and place to stay with a family as the kids aged 8 and 13 made lots of friends. The staff were friendly throughout our stay always saying hi or stopping for a chat. Facilities were very clean and well maintained. Showers were $1CAD for 7 minutes which was long enough to be honest. There were some issues with the hot water in the men's showers at times. All in all, we are looking forward to a future stay here when we are back in Canada.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post such a great review. You discovered the secret to our place during the busy summer months of July and August.... keep the children happy (meeting friends, building sandcastles, enjoying treats) and parents can have a relaxing time as well! I apologize for the problems with hot water - we are taking steps to resolve that and will have it corrected by next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had a quick trip to Oliver and decided to stay by the lake. What a beautiful spot!!! A cute room with a view of the lake, nice way to wake up in the morning. I will return for a longer stay for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Tuc-el-Nuit Lake is a beautiful little lake - quiet and motor-boat free!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were fortunate enough to attend a wedding at The Lakeside Resort and the event couldn't have been more perfect. The resort staff went out of their way to make the event go off without a hitch, lodging was clean and comfortable, and setting was beautiful. I can honestly say I have never been to such a large wedding that all people involved unanimously agreed was the "best ever!".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks Jessica! We're all so glad that you enjoyed your stay! The Lakeside Resort is committed to providing a wonderful vacation experience in the South Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this adorable resort during wine fest for a wedding last year, and had an amazing experience. We tented, and were just steps from the beach, and nice and near the washrooms (which were surprisingly nice). The wedding itself was the best I've ever been too - the ceremony was held on the clean beach, the reception set up in tents on the green expanse, and the party was concealed by all of the trees on the property. The best part was that no one had to drive home, or leave early - because we were all staying on site! Perfect idea!

I will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank-you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! The Lakeside Resort is hoping to host more weddings and other family events in the future. Please check us out if you're planning an event!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for a place to have your wedding or to hold a family reunion you have found the perfect spot. Located minutes from downtown Oliver the resort sits on a private lake with a beautifully treed property. The accommodations are very clean and comfortable. There are a variety of options from tenting to cabanas, to multi-bedroom facilities with full kitchen. The owners and staff are wonderful and go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need, to make it a memorable occasion. Put it on your list of places to go whether it be for an special occasion or just to go have fun, it is well worth checking it out.

Room Tip: Cabanas are like camping but with a roof, covered patio, bed frames and mattresses - perfect for &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank-you Kimberley! Our resort works well for special occasions because there's something for everyone. Our comfortable kitchenettes work well for those who aren't campers at heart. Then the cabanas provide just enough shelter and amenities for a more adventurous person and, of course, campers are well looked after in either RV or tenting sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliver
1.1 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel Inn Towne
11.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
11.6 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cactus Tree Inn
Cactus Tree Inn
#3 of 8 in Oliver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.0 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Resort

Property: The Lakeside Resort
Address: 6707 Lakeside Dr, Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oliver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Resort offers whatever type of holiday you're seeking! World-class wineries, golf courses and outdoor recreation amidst the splendour of Canada's only true desert. Soak up everything the Okanagan has to offer while enjoying our campsites, cabanas, or fully-equipped suites set on 150 m of private beach. Summer holidaying is ideal for families with the warm, clean, shallow lake and grounds with designated smoking areas, no power boats, or late-night noise. Spring and fall provide opportunities for golfers and wine connoisseurs alike. Take advantage of our famous 'Steak-on-the-Lake' golf packages. Explore the beautiful Okanagan terrain and sip your way through the Wine Capital of Canada with our Self-Guided Cycling Getaway. Ask us about hosting your next family reunion, wedding or weekend getaway at The Lakeside Resort. We are very accommodating. Free internet access puts a smile on everyone's face! Unwind at the resort:- safe swimming, sandy beach- canoe, rowboat, and kayak rentals- horseshoes and bocce ball- bicycle rentalsTour the local attractions: - Golf courses (ask about our famous 'Steak-on-the-Lake'golf package)- Hike and Bike Trail (ask about our Self-Guided Cycling getaway) - Wine tours - Horse stables- Orchard and farm tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing