We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views and a great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villa at Hester Creek
Ranked #1 of 22 Oliver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and a great breakfast”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked this Villa for a romantic weekend getaway. It was fantastic. We were welcomed with a bottle of Reserve Merlot which was a nice touch. We immediately enjoyed it on our patio which overlooks Oliver and the whole valley.

The rooms are well appointed. Features include:

-Heated bathroom floors!!! (not that you need it in the desert, but still!)
-Amazingly comfy beds (Stearns and Foster)
-Satellite TV
-Aveda products
-Soaker tub (fits 2 - we did it! :P)
-Wifi included
-Sinks, fridge, dishes, etc.

The breakfast was great too. We had yogurt with fruit and granola, and muffins on one day. The next day we had a quiche with banana bread and fruit. They accommodate allergies and vegetarians as well.

If you're in the Okanagan or Oliver, this is the place to go. It is $300/night in high season but I would say it is worth the expense. It is very luxurious and a great romantic getaway. The restaurant is great and so are the wines.

The only downside I could suggest is that being so high up on the hill it is a steep hike down to the wine shop and Terrafina restaurant. You can drive it though, so don't worry about that. Also, there was a scorpion on our patio one night! I never saw one before, so it was both freaky and exciting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_5703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
88
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. The apartment is immaculate with an amazingly comfortable bed. Great bathroom with walk-in shower and large bathtub. Patio has lounger, chairs, table and lovely views over vines. We saw hummingbirds, deer and marmots in the vineyard. Breakfast was served in our room as the weather was variable. We dined both nights at Terrafina on the estate - great food and wine. V busy so remember to book in advance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights in the Villas at Hester Creek, and it was fantastic. The rooms are beautiful, with high ceilings, and the view from the patio was amazing. It was quiet, the breakfasts (brought to our room) were delicious. If the weather had been better, we would have definitely taken a stroll around the vineyards.
We had dinner at Terra Fina on the first night, and it was great. The food was flavorful and fresh, and our server was nice, friendly, and not snobby at all despite our dismal lack of knowledge about wine. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conlexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at this Villa for four nights. The Villa overlooks the valley and has an amazing view of the vineyards, orchards and the canal. The view is breathtaking at all times but is particularly beautiful at sunrise and sunset. There are a number tracks in the areas around the villa if you feel you wish to explore the wilderness although you can see the wildlife from the villa if you are lucky at certain times of the day.
There are a number of vineyards with eateries not too far from the Villa - so you have a choice of trying local eateries but the villa has a restaurant on site with a good choice on their menu even for the vegetarians. There are a number of orchards in the area and you can pick up vegetables, fruits, bread, wine etc to enjoy lunch on the Villa balcony whilst admiring the wonderful view followed by siesta. The Villa has ample crockery, cutlery, glasses etc.
Our room was well furnished, modern, spacious and very cosy. The bathroom was well stocked to pamper you. The Villa was cleaned every day. The coffee or tea making facility in the room was excellent and additional complimentary top up was only a phone call away.
The Villa provides free wifi access and amazing music system t and offered a choice of TV channels including BBC World service and a choice of radio stations (good blues stations).

Breakfast was served at the main Villa on a balcony overlooking the valley. We had some hearty breakfasts whilst enjoying the view - I had to ask for the recipe for the muesli which was the best ever. Staff were very friendly. Our thanks go to Lee Ann who looked after us well. It was great to talk to her husband about the BBC and cricket.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safarisurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Last year in July we visited this place and LOVED it!! To share our great experience with other travelers, we immediately submitted a review on TripAdvisor. However our review was never posted, in spite of multiple inquiries with TripAdvisor staff as to reason for not posting our review. So here it is again!!
The Villas at Hester Creek are such a delightful place in the Okanagan! Besides their wines, some of the best in Okanagan, they have wonderful on-site facilities, such as the private Mediterranean-inspired guest rooms with lovely amenities, and a lovely restaurant.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a bottle of wine and our entire stay could not have been better. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean, and with a well-thought-out floor plan and amenities. The French doors open onto a patio with a table and chairs where you can enjoy a glass a wine along with the breathtaking views of Oliver. The staff is welcoming, knowledgeable, and make you feel at home. The villas are perched on top of a hill, surrounded by vineyards and with majestic views of the Okanagan. Who could possibly ask for more?? And yet there is more... breakfast is served on an outside terrace with Tuscan accents and lovely views of Oliver. The fresh-baked goodies are incredibly yummy, and the staff is friendly and accommodating.
We are big fans of this winery and feel they may have some of the best wines in the Okanagan. In fact, the staff at both the Villa and the wine tasting facility are some of the nicest people we met in British Columbia!! :-)
As wine connoisseurs and wine collectors, we have traveled to various places in N America and EU for wine tasting. We think this is one of the best possible wine tasting and vacation stays in British Columbia.
Thank you kindly for a memorable experience at the Hester Creek!

Room Tip: All rooms (I think a total of 5 or 6) are excellent. If you plan to have a party, you can rent the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ploosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Winery, staying in their villas, eating one night at their restaurant and taking in a cooking class. The Villas are lovely -- high ceilings, nicely appointed, large bathroom and lovely views of the valley and vineyards. The staff were attentive and helpful. The stay included a bottle of wine upon check-in; Hester Wines have become one of our favourite local wines. Breakfasts were inlcuded and although you did not choose what to have, they were very good. The first morning we were served in the breezeway with its lovely vews and the next morning breakfast came to us. The restaurant at the winery is very good and I would recommend it for the level of food and the setting. Taking in a cooking class was a great experience and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our overnight stay at Hester Creek. Our room was large and quite luxurious, with satellite TV, a really comfortable bed, two very comfortable chairs, and a small table and chairs. The bathroom had a large (separate) bath and shower, and a heated floor. French doors opened onto a patio with an extensive view over the vineyard and across the valley. Terafina, the winery restaurant, where we had an excellent dinner, is more than comfortable walking distance from the Villa, but is only a short drive on private roadways through the vineyard. An excellent breakfast, which included a hot frittata (cooked in a bowl) and delicious grapes, was served in our room. Service was excellent, and overall, our impressions were very positive. We would highly recommend the Villa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliver
10.2 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
3.3 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel Inn Towne
9.7 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Lakeside Resort
The Lakeside Resort
#5 of 8 in Oliver
62 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
10.1 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa at Hester Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa at Hester Creek

Property: The Villa at Hester Creek
Address: 877 Road 8, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T0, Canada (Formerly Hester Creek Estate Winery Villa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Oliver
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Villa at Hester Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing