We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, private and beautifully located...”
other travelers have booked this property
Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Enjoy the perennial flowers and the butterflies they attract Winter sunset view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Enjoy the perennial flowers and the butterflies they attract
Winter sunset view.
World-class X-C ski trails here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sean A
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Tranquil, private and beautifully located homestyle cabin”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Cottage in Hills was the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. We loved how secluded and picturesque it was with easy access to the highway and near everything we wanted to be close to (but not too near). The cabin is very homey and comfortable and the wood burning stove made it that much cozier.

Lorna has lots of rules, but they are sensible and she is a gracious host. Sign up and enjoy a great experience at the Cottage :)

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The veranda overlooking a well kept garden and natural surroundings
Liked least: The bed was too hard, but Lorna remedied that quickly with a foam overlay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your romantic getaway, Sean, we hope you'll visit us again soon. We have some rules (mainly for guests with a dog) to ensure the Cottage stays in good condition for future guests. Glad you enjoyed the wood-stove in the dining room, a cheerful, cozy spot to curl up with a book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J F
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Rejuvenated by this comfortable retreat in the forest near Slocan Lake.”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This tastefully furnished and fully equipped cottage provided the tranquil and comfortable retreat we were looking for. It was spotless, spacious for the two of us and perfect when our friends joined us for Thanksgiving weekend (with a bedroom on either end of the upper level). The master bedroom has a very convenient half-bath "ensuite." The hosts, Lorna & Wayne, ensured that we had everything we needed from kindling for the wood-burning fireplace to freshly picked chanterelle mushrooms (in season just now) and farm eggs. They were knowledgeable about the nearby hiking trails, parks, wildlife and mountains – all of which was important to us.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural setting and comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
We're so glad you had a restful and rejuvenating time at the cottage. Please visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicola e
1 review
“Charming and peaceful, Cottage in Hills offers guests the perfect place to escape and completely enjoy the moment.”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic views from this impeccably clean and well equipped cabin near the lake.
The cabin was thoughtfully stocked with books, movies and games for quiet down time.
The cabin is conveniently located yet feels like it is in a remote part of paradise.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the thoughtful games, books and movies
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Glad you enjoyed The Cottage In Hills. We hope you'll stay with us again. How about a winter getaway: cross-country or back-country skiing, soaking in the nearby hot springs, and cozy evenings by the crackling wood-stove?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimy P
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
“Cozy cottage in the woods.”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay at the cottage in Hills was very nice. It is a cozy,secluded cottage stocked with just about everything you need. We really enjoyed our stay especially because our family was only a 2 minute drive away or a 5 minute walk through the forest,perfect!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could not get cold water out of the tub faucet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
Glad we could help make your summer time with your family enjoyable. We hope you will stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot v
2 reviews
“Most beautiful place I've ever seen”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Staying at this place was more than PERFECT! The beautiful ceder trees, Slocan Lake and the great people made it more beautiful than I could ever imagine. Looking back now I've had the best time of my life. When I see the pictures I can't believe I've been there for a while and all I want is to go back to this place that's more beautiful than heaven can be.

Right now it's over 35 C degrees in Holland, I can't wait to have such a nice and chilly lake nearby! See you soon!

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Alleen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
I'm touched that we made such a great impression on you and that you had the best time of your life here in Hills. This area truly is magical; that's why we live here -- clean air, clean water, soaring mountains, rich forests and a deep, cool lake. Our objective is to provide a rejuvenating vacation experience for our guests; it sounds like we did that for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat D
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Peaceful, Easy, Feeling”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2013

If you want to leave the world behind and get that "peaceful, easy feeling", this is the place to be! We loved escaping our busy city lives and sitting back on the porch and enjoying the sunshine and the quiet, with the only sounds the wind moving through the trees and the songbirds flitting from branch to branch. The cottage has a wonderful rustic laid-back vibe but has all the comforts of home. This is truly a gem!
Pat D.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: No Starbucks nearby - but that was actually a bonus!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! City folk need a little time out from their hectic lives, so pleased that we could provide that for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.