We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little sandwich shop in the world !!!”

The Apple Tree Sandwich Shop
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in New Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best little sandwich shop in the world !!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been coming into the apple tree since I was a young child !!! they have the best sub sandwich in the world !!! Loaded with sprout's fresh ham and turkey and tomatoes, with a secret sub sauce that is mouthwatering ! Great place to chat up the locals or grab a lunch to go !! Be sure to grab a table outside in the garden !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank erineliza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Real food by real people”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'm not quite sure why this establishment is getting such extravagant reviews. Yes it might well be one of the best places to eat in town but it is a pretty small town. You will get authentic food, sandwiches made up from scratch and served by friendly people. The price is reasonable and it is a quaint little shop. That's about as far as I would go. My own sandwich, a corned beef, was the first such that I had ever come to me not on rye bread. So far as I could tell it was pretty ordinary white bread. Tasted okay and, as requested, the mustard was hot. We had a little bit of a wait for it but as it was being made from scratch that wasn't too bad and they had a good rack of magazines to browse. I'm satisfied with what I had and might even eat there again if I need lunch in New Denver. Then again I might well try somewhere else. So call it a 3 1/2 or a very generous 4.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best sandwich shop ever”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visit New Denver BC once every year or so and NEVER miss going to the Apple tree, either for a breakfast bagel, Caliente or Monte Christo sandwich. The bread and ingredients in all their offerings is always fresh and the portions are generous. Always lots going on with the local business as well as the 1,000's of motorcyclists that ride through that part of the province every summer from all over North America, perfect, friendly little place with wonderful service, a must do when in New Denver.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food in a friendly place”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Since The Apple Tree consistently serves fresh, good tasting food, we make a point of eating there at least once during our yearly visits to New Denver. Their soups are outstanding as are their sandwiches and desserts. It's always a bonus when the weather is warm enough for us to sit outside in the garden amongst the trees and flowers. On our most recent visit, it was obvious that many of the people eating there were locals. People in New Denver are friendly to visitors and make a point of greeting you and talking to you. The friendly atmoshere and good food make eating at the Apple Tree a treat every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank contemplativecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a quaint place to eat :)”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The place was cute n comfy even for a traveller looking for a rest. The people are friendly. The meal was outstanding and very filling. One place you should stop to eat at. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apple Tree Sandwich Shop also viewed

New Denver, Kootenay Rockies
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies
 
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Apple Tree Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing