We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the end of the road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Lund Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lund
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not bad for the end of the road”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night before leaving on a kayak trip in Desolation Sound. It is very convenient, with only a short drive over to Okeover which was our launching point.

Its a twice rebuilt historic hotel with multiple services (restaurant, general store, liquor store). The rooms were updated and better than expected for a hotel at the end of the road. We had a reasonable size mini fridge in our room, which we were able to use to keep our food for our kayaking trip cold and refreeze our ice blocks. The airconditioner was loud and interfered with our sleep. We didn't notice any noise from other rooms. But there were adjoining rooms with doors between rooms, which could lead to noise transfer. Rooms were reasonably clean, with nice toiletries included. We couldn't get the hotel wifi in our rooms, but it was accessible from the lobby, and we found another wifi that we could access in our rooms.

We didn't eat the included continental breakfast as Nancy's Bakery across the parking lot was calling to us. But the hotel breakfast looked adequate for a basic breakfast.

Room Tip: I would be careful about weekend nights over the grocery store - the area gets quite busy. Better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    31
    18
    7
See reviews for
16
74
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

OK, it's the only hotel at the end (or start) of Highway 101, which continues, with many gaps for ferries, jungles, etc., all the way to southern Chile, over 15,000 km away. The zero milepost was across from our room.

We were in the newer part (not that new), attached to the actual historic building.The beds were too soft, and the a/c noisy, as others have noted. Fortunately, it wasn't hot and we could turn it off and open the screened window at night.

There's a TV in the room, but no reception or cable, so you get a voucher for one video rental per night, redeemable at the general store directly under our room. They have a minimal selection, but probably one or two films you would actually like to see. The store carries everything else you might conceivably need during your stay in Lund.

The staff was extremely friendly (pretty much a given in BC), and we had no issues with cleanliness.

Continental breakfast was OK, but unimaginative. We went to Nancy's bakery for some supplemental items to round it out.

Food and beverage in the pub was excellent. We did not try the restaurant and therefore can't compare it with the pub.

All in all, this was a decent hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyL759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Yes the photos do make it look nice . We had booked a superior room and were thoroughly disappointed by the standard of cleanliness - especially lots of human hair on the bathroom floor, dust layers on TV, DVD players . Also as per previous reviews the air con is very very noisy and wakes you up regularly every three or four minutes. Telling the receptionist at the front desk was not helpful at all - the reply I got was ' do you want me to clean your bathroom '!
Also we aere not allowed into several areas in the pub/restaurants due to a wedding - it seems that wedding guests get more priority over hotels guests who have paid for the custom.
Breakfast was rudimentary with no staff attending to refill the coffee pots , hot water kettle etc.
Overall - a bad experience which ruined our stay in Lund and forcing us to cut short our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lund hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff are nice and the hotel is clean, but perhaps the idea of the "Historic Lund Hotel" is more enticing than the actuality of it. It's rather pricey for what it is and there just isn't much around there. It might be better as a stop off while boating. Once you've been there, there is little incentive to return. We probably won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesuistom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our second trip to the Historical Lund Hotel and a much nicer experience (see my first review for our other trip) We returned here because we loved the peace and quiet and the stunning location. It's not a four star hotel by any means and please don't be fooled by how amazing it comes across on the official website. If you book a room with a balcony and a sea view, it is expensive but you enjoy what you get. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the views spectacular. A few comments on here about cleanliness but we didn't have any problem with that - our room was spotless. We did, however, have a terrible problem with mossies but what can you do? It's nature and nothing the hotel can do about that! The menu is not much more than pub food - this is not a criticism but an observation. We ate there and we liked it. We also visited Nancy's Bakery this time around and can see why people highly recommend it; cinnamon buns and coffee for breakfast, mmm mmm!
Cannot comment on anything else other than the hotel as for us it was just a one night stop over before heading over to Vancouver Island. Also didn't get to use the hot tub for two reasons: firstly we couldn't find it and then decided it was too hot to get in a warm bubble bath anyway! If you're expecting a four or five star Ritz with a la carte dining, then this def. isn't for you. If you're looking for a fairly mediocre hotel in a stunning and quiet location (and are willing to pay for the sea view rooms) then this is for you.
I don't know if he is still there but Korey was on reception when we arrived and he was fabulous; a real credit to the Lund team.

Room Tip: To make your stay worthwhile, spend a bit of extra money and pick a full sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamLouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The photos on the website give the air of far more space ... Don't be deceived
We had a room with 2 beds (not even a double I'd say ) and no room to swing a cat yet it was known we have 6 in our family ... Nightmare
The air con is noisy and the fly problem is pretty bad - I've came away with lovely souvenir insect bites
We didn't dine in the hotel at all as we entered the reception area to be greeted by a swarm of flies which wasn't exactly appealing , therefore we went to Nancy's for our meals during our two night stay ( fabulous bakery)
The views in Lund are stunning and the water taxi service over to the island is fab
However the hotel is barely 2 star in my opinion and if you are expecting comfort I'd suggest you avoid

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyrhona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in June 2013. It's not terrible but like previous reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are generally clean but a bit tatty. The wifi doesn't work outside of the lobby, There are TVs but no channels work. The front desk staff are super unhelpful.

There are better hotels in Powell River, stay here at Lund only if you have to. It's backpacker+.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jammers-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lund
11.9 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
319 reviews
14.5 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
109 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
817 reviews
16.5 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
206 reviews
2.4 mi away
Desolation Resort
Desolation Resort
#3 of 10 in Powell River
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lund Hotel

Property: Historic Lund Hotel
Address: 1436 Highway 101, Lund, British Columbia V0N 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Lund Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront 1905 Historic Lund Hotel is located at the tip of BC's beautiful Sunshine Coast, at the Gateway to renowned Desolation Sound. The heart of the quaint village of Lund, the Historic Lund Hotel features 31 renovated guest rooms, as well as pub, restaurant and decks featuring un-obscured ocean views and outstanding dining. The hotel offers activities such as dinner & sightseeing cruises as well as kayak rentals & guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Lund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Lund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing