We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Water with Beyond the Road”

Beyond The Road Adventures
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your spectacular journey to Desolation Sound with Beyond the Road Adventures begins in Lund, British Columbia, where the road (Hwy 101) ends. Cruise with us on our 37 foot tri-cabin yacht, the Agate Pass, while viewing the magnificent scenery and wildlife of our protected coastal waters. Leave your cares behind as you enjoy an afternoon of comfort and relaxation. Sightseeing, lunch and dinner cruises to Desolation Sound and the Copeland Islands are available, as well as custom day trips and multi-day cruises through the tidal rapids for bear and whale watching. With our personalized service and care, attention to detail, and extensive knowledge of the area, we are able to provide you with a unique sightseeing experience that will make memories to last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you on board the Agate Pass and showcasing the natural beauty our area has to offer!
Powell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On the Water with Beyond the Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my second trip taking visitors from abroad to Desolation Sound with Ted and Joanie. Both trips were much enjoyed by me and my guests. The scenery, of course, is stunning and very photogenic. Our cameras were busy. The boat is very comfortable and Joanie and Ted are friendly and knowledgable hosts. The lunch of spot prawns or salmon served with lovely organic salad (made with very fresh organic veggies and flowers from Joanie's garden) and tasty garlic bread was perfect and enjoyed by all aboard. A memorable and relaxing time among friendly people -- how can you go wrong?
I have been with other tour companies on similar trips to the Sound but Beyond the Road is the best by far.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Water Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our group rented this beautifull boat , lots of room inside and out , fantastic 5 star meal for lunch.
Well run by Ted and Joanie , very friendly , knowledgeable , informative, made us feel at home and comfortable. Incredible views ,overall wonderfull experience , we will venture out again in this craft with these fine folks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful day with Ted and Joanie at Beyond the Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a great day with Beyond the Road into Desolation Sound. Our weather could have been warmer but that did not curb our enthusiasm and delight in viewing the incredible scenery and enjoying their hospitality. Mouth watering steelhead salmon grilled to perfection on the BBQ and a fresh salad of greens and edible flowers right from their garden, Nancy's bread, and a tasty glass of wine was served for lunch to 11 of us! Ted has a wealth of information about the area and islands. We took extra time to visit Prideaux Bay, well worth it.
We hope to have more trips with Ted and Joanie!
Bette Grant

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing cruise ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I had the job of entertaining my Mum and Aunty that were an overseas vacation and this trip was one of the highlights. It is a relaxing and magnificent way to see the beautiful BC Coast, we were all amazed with the beauty of the area. Joanie and Ted were perfect hosts and very knowledgeable of the local area. As predicted by the many other reviews on here, the lunch was just lovely. It was great fun cruising through the area and spotting all the wild life with the binoculars they provided. We stopped for a swim and the water was very warm. I would suggest this tour for people who want more of a leisurely cruise, 5 hours was just the right amount of time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a perfect day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Taking a charter with Joanie and Ted aboard the Agate Pass was a perfect day to end a beautiful weekend with family at our Dad's 100 birthday. Family came from as far away as Toronto and Reno, Nevada. Each of them that were lucky enough to get on the boat were completely thrilled and excited about their trips. Our captains were wonderful and the meal they prepared is material for bragging rights! Joanie was very accommodating with organizing our charters and ensured that we had everything just right. I can't say enough to recommend this charter company and they are an asset to our local tourism as well as province wide. Again, thank you and we hope to do it again soon, cheers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_clamhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond The Road Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Beyond The Road Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing