We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do!!”

Beyond The Road Adventures
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your spectacular journey to Desolation Sound with Beyond the Road Adventures begins in Lund, British Columbia, where the road (Hwy 101) ends. Cruise with us on our 37 foot tri-cabin yacht, the Agate Pass, while viewing the magnificent scenery and wildlife of our protected coastal waters. Leave your cares behind as you enjoy an afternoon of comfort and relaxation. Sightseeing, lunch and dinner cruises to Desolation Sound and the Copeland Islands are available, as well as custom day trips and multi-day cruises through the tidal rapids for bear and whale watching. With our personalized service and care, attention to detail, and extensive knowledge of the area, we are able to provide you with a unique sightseeing experience that will make memories to last a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you on board the Agate Pass and showcasing the natural beauty our area has to offer!
Powell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had the good fortune to go on 2 separate charters this year with Beyond the Road Adventures. Joanie & Ted were outstanding hosts, very experienced & knowledgable making each trip the best possible! It is so special to have some of the most beautiful scenery in the world right in my backyard & for Joanie & Ted to make it possible for me to be able to share it with my friends & family. See you next year!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best way to see some of the best coast in BC”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Taking Agate Pass our for a few hours into some amazing coastal waters is an awesome way to treat yourself or your visitors to a great day on the water. This is not just a cruise, Joni does an excellent job providing a taste of BC ... We Had BBQ salmon that was better than we have been served in Vancouver finest restaurants. Highly recommend you use Ted and Joni if you are looking for a great day on the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
971 reviews
407 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“A nice day out, and good value”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

From out of Lund, Joanie and Ted operate 'Beyond the Road' excursions on the 'Agate Pass' - a very nice power cabin cruiser that hints slightly of a trawler but isn't one. In the cabin was an area to sit around the table, a bedroom for guests to store any extra clothing, and the 'head'. Also on board with us were 4 other guests for a total of 6 guests and 2 crew. Apparently they will take up to 12 guests out at a time which I think I would find crowded especially if the weather should be inclement. For the ride out we all sat up top for the view - a very nice open seating area for 6-8 people on the built-in seats and then enough room for at least 4 or more plastic chairs. It was nice being able to see on Ted's GPS where we were and were going. They had several pairs of binoculars for guest use, too. We went outside the Copeland Islands to Sarah Point then turned north-east up to Desolation Sound. The Sound was very pretty with many small and larger islands, a few pleasure boats, quite a few kayakers and many seals. We anchored for lunch around 12:30 or so. We guests enjoyed a complimentary wine or beer and had a nice visit on the back deck while Joanie prepared our lunch with Ted BBQing. The other 4 guests had pre-ordered spot prawn skewers and we had fresh Steelhead from Lois Lake. Each plate was served with mixed garden salads and flowers from Joanie's garden and fried bread - everything was delicious. Both Ted and Joanie who joined us guests for lunch on the top deck were very pleasant, comfortable to talk to and knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife. After lunch a few of the others went swimming then we set off back this time touring the inside of the Copeland Islands. The scheduled 5 hour trip (10am - 3pm) returned to Lund close to 4pm - neither Ted nor Joanie seemed concerned about being out for the longer time but after lunch did courteously ask if we HAD to be back by 3pm for other engagements, which fortunately no-one did. So, all in all, a very nice day out. And good value. I would definitely recommend this lunch cruise but if you're flexible with your days be sure to inquire about the number of guests already booked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip even in rainy weather”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked the Desolation Sound lunch cruise as a treat for my elderly Mother and Aunt who were visiting from Ontario. The day of the cruise started out socked in and rainy. We left at low tide and the ramp down to the dock was quite steep and a little scary but Ted came up to give us a hand and ensured everyone made it to the boat safely.
The boat has a beautifully maintained wood cabin that we stayed in for the better part of the ride out. Ted and Joanie filled us in on the history of the area and points of interest as we made our way out to the sound. They patiently answered all of our questions and made us feel right at home.
By lunch time, the rain had stopped and the weather started to clear. We enjoyed an excellent lunch of local spot prawns with locally grown salad fixings. Everyone cleaned their plates.
When we pulled anchor to head back to Lund, the sun was out and the clouds were clearing. We were able to make our way to the top deck of the boat for the ride home so everyone was able to see the sound in all of it's natural beauty after all.
Gracious hosts, a beautiful boat, an excellent lunch and all it one of the most stunning settings you will ever see. What more can you ask for? I highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpuangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A fabulous day!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

4 of us locals decided to have a cruise in our own backyard and are so pleased we picked Ted and Joanie to tour us up into Desolation sound. The sights were beautiful, the lunch excellent and the entire experience was a real pleasure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bemac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond The Road Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Beyond The Road Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing