We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Stay”

Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Pandy B&B and Inns
Mifflinburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming Stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

It was a bit difficult to find our way, but once we were there, we were treated to an extraordinary stay. Keith and Carol are most welcoming and anxious to make our stay memorable. They are more than willing to share their knowledge of area history as well as local amenities, from where to get the best food, to where to get the best beer. Keith's breakfasts are a dining delight. It was our last night in Wales, and a most pleasant memory.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmildew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We arrived from Orlando Florida and loved the restful atmosphere of this B&B. Our host and hostess were a world of information regarding the surrounding area, where to eat, hike, enjoy the countryside. Also gave us other information we asked for including local history, geology, maps to direct us around. Coming from the USA, we loved the helpfulness of the owners. I would highly recommend to anyone from another country with little local knowledge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We chose this B&B for it's location and value. Did not know what to expect when we got there. Run by quite friendly couple and helpful in most ways one can imagine. If you are expecting a 'leave me alone I am the guest' treatment or if you are a 'touch me not' and cringe at people contact - forget it. They are friendly and they will talk to you and the owner Keith will tell you about the local history. Anyone there will do the same. We felt very much at home there. The property is offset from the road and that is it's greatest plus point. If you don't like walking and hate single track roads this is not for you. Dont believe your TomTom - it will lead you astray - use a map instead. My family and I do intend to go back there provided we get the opportunity - especially for walking on to Offas Dyke pathway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristleWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mönchengladbach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

First of all, Brynhonddu is not my first B&B and will definitely not be the last one. During several other stays in the UK, I was always satisfied with other B&Bs and happy to receive such a warm welcome so that I am still definitely convinced that this is the best way to travel through the country. However, now I had to learn that bad examples might meet you on your way as well.

When we arrived, our host and hostess had some heavy renovation works done in their „beautiful“ 16th century house (bluntly speaking, to us it did not seemed to be well-kept). Walls were painted and the smell of paint was penetratingly, especially in the breakfast room. The carpet in the hall was covered with dust, some doors were missing and wall paint tins were stored in the kitchen next to the fridge.

Our room, though small, was clean and tidy so that I of course didn’t want to object and decided not to complain first of all.

However, a bad surprise followed the next day - when we returned to our accomodation a little earlier as probably expected, we found out that renovation works unfortunately did not stop in front of our room. After entering the room we only had to discover that our stuff was poorly covered by a bed sheet, as some cableworks and drilling was just being done in our room. To us, however, they never ever wasted a word on that!

Even though, the landlady explained that a change of the room was not possible, as some other guest were to arrive (I suppose some family members, as they told us that we were the only guests and that their son would visit them two days afterwards). They suggested to reduce the amount due, however, after that we definitely had enough and left.

Eventually, I just can join some of the others, also with regard to the landlord who seemed to us rather strange, and say NEVER AGAIN Brynhonddu, but UK again and again ;-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffsgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pandy hotels

london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Its true the somewhat eccentric owner likes to natter on about history, though he's harmless. The single room is tiny (ie single bed plus 18" carpet : thats it, no storage...) with no direct window, and the e/suite is a miniscule shower/loo.
The main problem if you are walking is that its a good mile and a half uphill from the village (for an evening meal), so its a daunting trek if you've been walking all day as I had. (He did offer me a lift down , but its the coming back that would be awful) . Average breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My fiancee and I wanted to have a quiet potter around Wales (castles, countryside, gardens etc) with somewhere cheap and well placed as a base. By going via various B&B lists, we found Brynhonddu country House B&B which judging by the website looked like a mini country-hotel.

Our entire two day stay was a start-to-finish catalogue of inappropriateness which made it our most uncomfortable stay anywhere ever. Before I garnish with a few examples, I should say that all services provided were adequate and as advertised - comfy bed with en suite, T&C making facilities, cooked breakfast etc - but the proprietor (a rotund and nasal academic named Keith, who never actually introduced himself by name) belittled almost everything we said from the moment of arrival. Some lowlights for you (in order);

Satnavs will not guide you there unless you own a TomTom. This is not mentioned on the website. Having been guided half-way up a steep single track road and resigned, I called to ask for directions, which worked. As we pulled up outside reception to drop bags, before rereating to the car park, we were 'greeted' by the owner proclaiming, "Sir, you have parked on my neighbour's land!" Although a hello would have been nice, we were unphased by this. It was the uninvited lecture about the glacial history of the area we received after breakfast which started to make us feel slightly harrassed, along with derision of all the places we had so far visited. The real clincher was when Keith warned us that there was a particular walk we shouldn't attempt as my fiancee appeared to be pregnant! Need I tell you that she was not, nor did she look it to anyone else we've ever met. This did not go down well with us.

In summary, it is like staying in the cluttered house of a retired professor who has a Masters in Rudeness from the University of Out of Touch.

Never again - please don't go there unless you are writing your own sitcom.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pandy
5.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
7.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.8 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.5 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bwlch Trewyn Estate, Pandy, Abergavenny NP7 7PD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast Pandy, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing