We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one to miss”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Pandy B&B and Inns
Canterbury
1 review
“one to miss”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice looking building and garden, but poor and expensive hotel. In summary;

v poor noise insulation
terrible breakfast - cheap and nasty ingredients, little choice, the worst instant coffee served up in a cafetiere, tasteless tea
uncomfortable, tense, atmosphere, uncomfortable, tense, waiter
useless tv
soggy beds, wobbly bunks
tired furniture and decor, three hopeless coat hangers and no hairdryer
hugely over - priced
The Big B and B rip off! Travelodge does it for less than a third of the price but at least three times better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
11
31
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are hiking the Offa's Dyke path and wasn't to break your walk in Pandy your choices of accomodation are limited. But the Park Hotel is not a bad choice at all. The rooms are clean though a bit tired. In fact that's true of the whole place. It seems to have lost its grandure from a past era and needs an injection of cash to revitalise it. But the staff are very friendly and efficient and the food is simple but excellent. The hotel has very pleasant gardens too. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were staying in Llanvihangel Crucorney, and went in for an evening meal, the staff were very friendly and welcomed us in.

The dinning room was light and airy and décor quiet modern. My husband chose a T bone steak it was cooked to perfection. I chose duck in a cherry sauce which was very nicely cooked I just didn't like it, it was a bit too sweet for my taste.

I would recommend this hotel for the attentive staff and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Staff nice and friendly, breakfast was very good only bad thing is the walls are made of paper you could here the people in the next room walking, talking (every word) making tea, passing wind!!!!!!! room was nice and lovley views.

Room Tip: dont miss the Old Pandy inn 300 yards from the hotel, great pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night after a long day on the Offa's Dyke Path. Staff were friendly and as someone else said, the locals in the bar gave it a nice atmosphere - unexpected as it looks like it's trying to be more upmarket. Room was small and I really would have liked a bath not a shower, but at £40 it was OK value. OK food too - I had a good steak, cooked medium though I asked for rare.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Arrived at hotel in the evening. The barman meet us and was friendly and pleasant. The room was comfortable with a lovely view and very warm .. The landlady Jane was lovely could'nt do enough for us to enjoy our stay. We only stayed the one night but it was relaxing and enjoyable. The evening meal was superb lovely presentation and my huband was impressed with his steak. We then spent the rest of the evening in the cosy bar. Breakfast was great and the guy who served us was helpful and pleasant. Would certainly return and would recommed. Thank you Jane and team.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llynette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Deal bought through Groupon. Dinner, bed & breakfast. Beautiful venue overlooking Brecon Beacons. The landlady was lovely. Guy who met us when we arrived was a bit "oh bother another guest". Didn't really matter whether we turned up or not. Food was fabulous. Bedroom was a bit chilly initially. Fantastic duvet! Good sized room. Great breakfast. Ignore any bad reviews, I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteJones1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pandy
13.8 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pandy
23 reviews
13.4 mi away
Brynhonddu Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Ambala
The Ambala
#3 of 4 in Ebbw Vale
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#1 of 3 in Pandy
69 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Pandy, Abergavenny NP7 8DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Pandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Pandy, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing