We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey”

Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Enjoyed it, but didn't feel it justified the reputation

Helpful?
Thank Jantwokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your visit, but apologies for falling short of your expectation.

We try our best to ensure every guest has an enjoyable experience at the Bear. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Made a nice Anniversary”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Love the place, the staff, and the amazing chunky chips!! We stayed there and ate there. Very accommodating and great value. Will be going back for another weekend to unwind.

Helpful?
Thank FatJack1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Happy Anniversary and thank you for your glowing review.

Keep an eye out for our special offers and we hope to see you back here for another relaxing weekend break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A relaxed and welcoming experience with great food”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I decided to treat my 'oriental' friend (and chef) to a traditional lunch and this was a new venue for me. It's hard to be 'foodie' about Sunday Lunch but the Bear was everything I had hoped for - warm, welcoming and totally relaxed. The lunch was excellent and we chatted for ages AND one foodie comment - a really interesting and unique cheese board!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Sunday Lunch here.

I'm glad to hear your experience of the hotel was relaxed and welcoming. I'm intrigued by the comment about the cheese board and will have to try it this weekend at the Cowbridge Reindeer Parade.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great food with good service in a relaxed setting. Very nice.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cojiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks you for your lovely review and hope you visit us again when you're next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good quality easy dining”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The bear Hotel provides an interesting menu with many of the traditional favourites associated with bar eating. The restaurant/lounge also provides a relaxing environment despite often being busy.
The staff are very polite and efficient; including the bar staff. Reasonably priced menu and tasty food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it's always a pleasure to receive such lovely feedback.
Hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing