We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plas Llanmihangel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Llanmihangel
Ranked #5 of 9 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming Experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visited Plas Llanmihangel last weekend as part of a large group. Arriving at night made it somehow more magical, as every door lead you down another passage/staircase and it became a bit of a game as to whether you should put the light on and investigate!! The rooms are all different, many with four poster beds. Clearly the decor isn't modern......it is a grade 1 listed building after all!! The dried/plastic flowers have seen better days but it all adds to the charm. Bathroom facilities are all shared and there is a mixture of showers and bath.
The owners are very accommodating and let us have the run of the house, in fact we only really saw them a breakfast. Breakfast, served in the main hall, was great, fry ups all round plus cereal and toast.
Like some other reviewers have said, you don’t go here if you want en suite, air con, mini bar etc. This place is something else (in a good way).

Would defiantly recommend.

NB – not really suitable if you have mobility problems, due the amount of stairs and uneven surfaces.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csalmon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I've just returned from my second visit to this magical place. As noted below, if you're looking for a sterile, Holiday Inn-like environment, then this home is not a place where you'll find happiness. The sheets aren't matching the rest of the room décor, the bathroom maybe down a few steps (I was in the "turret" room" and watch your head on the beamed ceilings. This is Sue and David's home that they welcome strangers to experience life in a home that hasn't changed much in many, many years. when you sit in the dining room in front of the roaring fire sipping your tea you can well imagine the costumed inhabitants of the 16th century around you and can't help but feel so privileged to get to spend a night here. Sue is the first to say she wants people who embrace all that this house is - and isn't. Your hosts love this home dearly and hope you will too. The setting is glorious and if you have navigation in your car just put in the postal code and its directions are spot on. But, like most country roads in Wales, be prepared to drive in reverse on several occasions giving way to the occasional tractor, herd of sheep or a neighbor, as they wind narrowly through some of the prettiest countryside around. The town of Cowbridge, unlike my previous visit, now boasts several great places to eat - just don't drink too much for the drive back.

Room Tip: make sure you tell Sue if you're unable to navigate steps - she's very honest and will tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK2LA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are someone who likes to nit pick over lack of Wi-Fi or uneven stairs, then perhaps a soulless place like a Holiday Inn would be more to your liking. Or, you can have the privilege of staying at Plas Llanmihangel and all that it offers: a wonderful house steeped in history, warm and attentive hosts, and a sanctuary of peace and quiet. It's not a hotel, it's a beautiful historic home that has been lovingly restored by the owners who extend a friendly welcome to those who stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank witchfromthnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Plas Llanmihangel is extraordinarily charming, as are its owners. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Roaring log fires welcomed us in the winter, whilst in the summer we sipped white wine in the late afternoon sunshine and enjoyed the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: All the rooms have character and individuality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhidownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our dinner was for twenty one people and it was in the old wood panelled dining room. The food was good. It was an old and interesting house but it felt tired and in need investment.
Ladies should wear sensible shoes as the steps and stairs reflect the years that the house has been in use.

If you want old world charm with personal service you will enjoy Plas Llanmihangel.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a torch because it is in the countryside with no street lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff690_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Huge thanks to Sue & David,we stayed one night ,the evening meal is amazing(Sue is a great chef)breakfast is as you would like,will being staying here again.The house had the wow factor for us.We were allowed to have a look round,Sue & David are very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013. It certainly is different, and if you like chain hotel comforts don't stay here. We had a ball. Sue and David were very accommodating (even did some washing for us!), with lovely food and very understanding of the needs of children. We were shown 5 bedrooms in one wing of the house and were given our pick. We had 2 bathrooms to use, including a bath with a view. For Dr Who fans this house was used in a recent episode.

Good points - great experience in this ancient house. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts are very accommodating. Comfy soft beds and great views. Very quiet, but could hear the sounds of the hunt in the morning. Nice pub nearby for dinner and an easy drive to Barry island for some family fun. Breakfast in the hall is communal but enjoyable. Lovely garden to sit and enjoy (and chat to the sheep).

Not so good - bit of a drive our of Cardiff and we did get lost once, but the people we asked for directions seemed to be very used to this. Lots of stairs and low ceilings, as a building of this vintage would have, so watch your head. No wifi, and the thick stone walls makes internet difficult unless you're near a window.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
0.0 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#1 of 9 in Cowbridge
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Llanmihangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Llanmihangel

Property: Plas Llanmihangel
Address: Cowbridge CF71 7LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Plas Llanmihangel Hotel Cowbridge
Plas Llanmihangel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing