We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Llanmihangel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Llanmihangel
Ranked #5 of 9 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

We were a party of eight - celebrating my Husband's 40th Birthday at Plas Llanmihangel.

Six of us were returners to this ancient, beautiful family home. We were treated like family, made incredibly comfortable and nothing was too much trouble.

Sue cooked a wounderful three course evening meal which we ate at the large table in the dining hall.

As always the Beers were wonderful hosts and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Liked — History
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Sher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

it was a nice place - just ashame the owner was very rude to my fiancee - i think because we were young, which spoilt the experience for us.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — staff / owner
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ally_uk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The nice thing about the location is that it's remote. It was quite and very relaxing. David and Susan are outstanding hosts and give you an excellent value for your money. We got an entire wing of the castle to ourselves. It's a wonderful novelty and a very welcoming.

If you have allergies, you might want to know that ours flared up. It's avery old castle, which means it can be a bit damp. It didn't ruin our stay in the least, as it was definitely a charming location and well worth it. But if you're susceptible, as we are, it's good know ahead of time so you can go armed with some Benadryl.

  • Liked — The hosts David and Susan Beers.
  • Disliked — It was damp and flared up the allergies.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank abigailheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2007

Charming, and romantic! David and Susan could not be better hosts. Everything was better than we hoped for! Next time, we'll stay longer.

  • Liked — the scenery and the history
  • Disliked — it was all great!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank abbeysome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2006

I was returning to the British isles for the first time in many years (was born here) and wanted to stay in an historic property far from the madding crowd! I wasn't disappointed - this place is absolultely wonderful. The road there takes you back in time and then you round the corner to a place that will take your breath away. the delightful and lovingly quirky owners, Sue and David, were there to greet us - no pretenses here. They're down to earth people who have faithfully restored this magical place just to the point that to have done anything more would have moved it into a more modern era. If you're looking for a Hilton, this isn't the place for you. If you're fussy about not having one speck of dust, this isn't the place either! And if you want to be waited on hand and foot, stay home. David's architectural background lends itself well to his pride when describing the various special corners of the house. We were allowed to explore and I relished the opportunity to just sit in the gorgeous wood paneled reception room imagining the times gone by. Our evening meals were scrumptious and made even more enjoyable when joined by our hosts, especially Sue, who loves to talk politics over a good glass of wine. We loved them both and were sad to say goodbye. I plan to return with my kids next year - it's really an experience every history buff should have at least once in their lives! By the way, the price was astounding in its value too.

  • Liked — historic beauty and intrigue of the property
  • Disliked — hmmmmmmmm
  • Tips/Secrets — stay as long as you can
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank uk2lalorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for two nights in April while attending a wedding in Cardiff, and loved it. The house is fabulous - a really beautiful old building (dating back to the 12th or 13th century, as far as I recall) - the present owners have been restoring over the last 20 years or so, and have done a wonderful job. There's just so much character - thick walls, lots of nooks and crannies, gargoyles, panelled rooms, a baronial chamber for dining in... The furnishings are traditional, comfortable and homely. There are several acres of grounds to wander round in. The house is set in the most beautiful countryside, about 3 miles from the town of Cowbridge. It is easy to find, as the directions on the website are very good, but the roads are very narrow and twisty. There is a wonderful old church opposite the house, so you can't miss it. You would need to have your own transport staying here, as there doesn't seem to be public transport. The house is surrounded by greenery, and the setting is so peaceful, you'll have a wonderful night's sleep. The hosts were very welcoming, and we had a bedroom and private bathroom in a little tower. Breakfast was the standard cooked fare. I believe that dinner is available by arrangement, but we ate out in Cowbridge, where there are several restaurants (we highly recommend the 'Shampan' Indian restaurant, and also the 'Bush Inn' at the medieval village of St. Hilary, not far away). Cowbridge also has numerous appealing small shops, selling antiques and the like. Overall, we loved staying here, and would definitely stay again if we were in Wales - it doesn't have the facilities of a hotel (pool etc), but has so much more character. The only downside was the cost of taxis to Cardiff (a distance of about 10 miles) - we were charged £39 for a return trip, which seemed extortionate.

  • Liked — Character and tranquillity
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Tips/Secrets — Own transport required
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Galwaychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

The owners of this well-run B&B, David and Sue Beer, are very welcoming and helpful. The house itself is extraordinary: a lovingly restored, rambling, 16th century manor with 13th century parts. The walls are a couple of feet thick. Rooms are nicely furnished with old furniture. We had a whole area of the house to ourselves (which is apparently not unusual for couples when the B&B is not too busy) - a room and a bathroom down a passage. It was silent at night. The communal area comprises an oak-pannelled 'baronial' hall, where breakfast is served, and a beautiful sitting room. Sue and David provide an outstanding dinner on request. The surrounding area is idyllic - just two or three miles from Cowbridge (and not far from Cardiff), but hidden down a good but empty single-track road.

  • Liked — The house, the setting, the dinner
  • Disliked — Nothing bad
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
0.0 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Cowbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Llanmihangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Llanmihangel

Property: Plas Llanmihangel
Address: Cowbridge CF71 7LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Plas Llanmihangel Hotel Cowbridge
Plas Llanmihangel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing