We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very old charming hotel with a great atmosphere.

Would defintely recommend this hotel for amazing food and great service. You can eat in the main pub or in the historic cellars.

The parking is free and is situated behind the pub so no problems with worrying to park your car. The hotel has many restaurants nearby in the high street and even a Waitrose close buy.

Worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    152
    52
    19
    14
See reviews for
97
142
7
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had heard such good things about this place that when we finally made it we were bitterly disappointed and couldn't wait to leave.

When we arrived we wanted dinner (a bar meal) in the bar, but we were told that all the tables were either occupied or reserved. So we were shunted into the grill room and restaurant, and left alone. Although there were not so many people in the grill room, there were no empty tables, and we had to wait a few minutes until one came available. The place was certainly not busy.

Throughout the time we were in the grill room the staff were watching the Man Utd v Sunderland game (you can tell now which night it was), and they ignored most of the customers, except one, who turned out to be a staff member on his day off. In fact it was hilarious to watch the staff serving people - they never actually looked at the customers as they were so intent on watching the TV

The service from the waitress we had was appalling. She was so off hand, dismissive, and laissez faire about her job. Not only to us but to the other guests too.

The starters we ordered were interesting, but certainly not great.

Our main courses were a very long time arriving, and the waitress just shrugged her shoulders when we asked if the kitchen had a problem. There still weren't actually many people in either the bar or the grill room - we looked!

I had ordered fish and chips for the main course - it was hard to find any fish in the batter - I mean there was not much fish present in what was a large piece of batter. And the chips were awful - I suspect that they were of the so called "reconstituted type", which are made mainly from wheat. I left my chips, as did my son, who had ordered the ale and steak pie. Neither me nor my son could actually eat the chips, they were so lacking in taste. They certainly didn't taste like chips. Again the waitress just shrugged her shoulders when we told her that we could not eat the chips because they were so disgusting.

In fact, although we will never darken the doorstep of The Bear again, we did laugh a lot when we left the grill room and restaurant. Our visit had just been like being in a sketch in an episode of Little Britain - "Whatever!!! - Computer says No!". For that reason alone, our visit was priceless.

In fact, I have waited some days before writing this review as I wanted to reflect on the visit to The Bear before putting pen to paper. It was the right decision to delay writing the review, as if I had written the review earlier I do not believe that I would have been quite so objective.

Our recommendation is "Stay away, unless you want to find out what it is like to be in a sketch in Little Britain".

If the manager of The Bear reads this I can imagine her/him adopting the role of Vicky Pollard and saying, "Oh! Oooo. I can't just believe that you just said that!"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The building is fascinating, with lots of stairs and small rooms. Plenty of fireplaces and other features. Great car park at the rear - a necessity in busy Cowbridge. Excellent reception staff. The room was comfortable and made best use of the old building. However, that meant that the bathroom was small and cold. A new electric mirror and some heating would be a cheap improvement. We could not have dinner, as they were fully booked, but a reservation was made for us at Oscars next door; which is part of the hotel ownership, and was a fabulous restaurant. We did find that the bar areas were noisy, with large groups of local families and young children being allowed to run around. Not the relaxing atmosphere we wanted. The breakfast was fine, but nothing special. I did think the £110 rate was too high and would only return if it was cheaper

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richaliPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere, roaring fire and flavour-some food. Went with family for husband' s birthday. Shared meat/cheese and bread platter with extra olives - plenty for 4 as a starter and tasted great. Two mains of Steak pie, chips and pies was huge and the home made pie was delicious - tender steak and mushroom. Fish, chips and mushy pies with bread and butter was also tasty and huge. And finally med chicken was tender with great flavours. All washed down with excellent wine. Very attentive staff (Thursday ev) and we had a great time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angharad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Visited for Sunday Lunch on January 5th. We requested a Standard Sunday lunch. We received a very slow service. We sat in the bar which was fairly quiet, however I'm unsure how busy the rest of the hotel was. After our aperitif the main course took almost an hour to arrive. A premium price for a sub standard service

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were 2 couples who stayed in the cottage and apartment for New Year's Eve and attended the Gala Dinner. Both accommodations just a very short walk from the hotel and ideal for us to chill and relax in the afternoon before attending the dinner. The apartment was our personal favourite out of the two places, this was because it was more luxurious however both places were lovely and very clean and comfortable. In fact the cottage ideal as I could evict my snoring other half into the spare bedroom :) Bed was really comfortable. The gala dinner was really good, the food was an excellent quality especially considering it was mass catering. A good evening was had by all, despite the very cheesy typical party dated music of the DJ, but that's just personal choice he did manage to play 2 of my requests for something a bit more dance.
Brunch was included, but I was rather disappointed that their version of brunch was really just breakfast, served between 9 and 11, with choice of full English, toast, juice yogurts, so basically breakfast. But never mind it didn't spoil our stay, we had a lovely time and brought in the new year with some lovely people that were there that night. Would recommend and who knows, we might even do it again.

Room Tip: We loved the independence of the cottage and apartment, with full facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleysviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The setting for Weddings is really delightful in this enchanting old Hotel - the elegance of where the ceremony took place was delightful and the beautiful room where the Wedding dinner was served was stunning, the chandlers sparkled and it was a perfect setting.

The food was really lovely and importantly it was piping hot when served - all in all wonderful value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing