We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here this weekend, the staff were faultless, especially to the young lady who served us at both our evening meal and breakfast, ensuring that we had everything we needed always with a lovely smile! The receptonist made sure that we had everything we needed! the rooms were lovely, modern but still having character. Very clean hotel and i would recommend it to anyone who was thinking of staying in the area

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests at the Bear.

I'll make sure the team see your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 574 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My two teenage children and I stayed in the top floor apartment near to the hotel. It was only a minute walk from the main building. It was quiet and airy. Internal decor is to a high degree. There was a lounge with TV. Both bedrooms had TV. There was a spacious kitchen. Everything one needed was there. We ate breakfast in the hotel. Full English breakfast were delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clubable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We would ike to inform you that the apartments newly renamed 'Stockwood Mews' have just been awarded 4 Stars by Visit Wales for Self Catering and as of January 2014 will be completely self catering, ideal for short holidays or extended stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The room was a nice size, clean and spacious. We didn't like the mattress, it was very soft and my husband woke up with an aching back. The hotel bar is nice and modern. The breakfast was good. I didn't like being in a separate building from the main hotel, it was raining when we were there which meant we had to run across to the main building. Also the front door of the building was not locked so anybody could get in from the back lane, we did have two keys so I'm not sure why it isn't kept locked.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the ones in the main building but they might be worth investigating if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJandLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your review.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here last weekend with friends whilst the food festival was in full flow. The welcome and help we received from Chrissie on reception was exceptional. Both of our bedrooms were modern and very comfortable. We were told when booking that one room was small but have to say we were very pleasantly surprised.My only complaint would be that the room on the second floor was very warm during the night even though we had the bedroom window open.
The restaurant food was excellent and very good value....our lunch, and evening meal were most enjoyable however breakfast was unfortunately understaffed for the volume of people staying which meant the buffet food lacked being replaced. Overall we had a great time and would definately visit again

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the second floor especially in summer as warm air rises and there was only one small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your kind review.

We aim to provide a first class service to all of our guests at the Bear and it is only through receiving customer feedback that we are able to continually review and improve the services and facilities we offer. I will pass your comments to Kristy, she will be pleased to read them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel last night and although comfortable the rooms are tired and dated, they were totally unprepared for a full house at breakfast and waitress huffed and puffed when we asked for items on the buffet that had ran out, glasses for our juice and bread for toast.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Tracie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with your stay.

Customer feedback is important to us and your comments will be actioned with the team.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to show this is not the normal standard of service evident at the hotel and hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Called in for another pint and a wiskey after one in the duke, nice old hotel and bar but not as good as it once was in the sixties and seventies . There was a nice little cocktail bar at the far end where we called in on a Sunday evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffytaf_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value all feedback both the good and the not so good as it is only with this that we can further improve the product & service offered at The Bear Hotel, Cowbridge.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had our wedding reception here several years ago - It was lovely then - A perfect winter wedding venue really.

Went to meet a friend for evening dinner, and it still holds its charm. This is proof that period buildings do not need to be shabby and chilly but can indeed be cosy and well maintain.
The food is always excellent - highlighted by the its popularity at all times of day. It is worth waiting for a table just for the cake selection!

A treasure of the vale.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrueTraveller060, Front Office Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's always a pleasure to hear from our regular customers.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the venue for Weddings, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the Wedding Team who will be delighted to read them.

Keep an eye out on our website for accommodation offers and perhaps treat yourselves to an overnight stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
4 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
224 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
516 reviews
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
305 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing