We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Atmosphere & Staff Spot On”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The lounge Bar at The Bear has good quality food, a lovely atmosphere & super staff. Warm inviting atmosheric setting. Food is glorious, specials menu offers daily variety.They serve all day & Sunday lunch until 9pm. So civilised. 5* service. All of the staff are superb. The whole experience is enhanced by excellent customer care.
We love to be served by Louise who is from Figi. An interesting & absolutely delightful young woman. Louise is destined for a Managers role & I do hope that the management of The Bear recognise & promotes Louise at The Bear. Otherwise I fear Louise will be 'poached' & that would be such a shame for all the regulars who so regard her.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 522 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just stayed here for one night.... Lovely traditional rooms.... V v v comfy beds... A bit like staying back at your parents.... Everything very neat and tidy with warm lush bed sheets and a nice big comfy bed.

Food at the restaurant next door was,.... Ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlands F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Delicious morning coffee (free refills) and mince pies, served by polite and efficient staff. Lovely cosy room, with open fire. An enjoyable start to the day!

I've had lunch here in the past and been impressed with that too.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdavies2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

An old, 12th century coaching inn with some character but highly modernised. Good bar snacks, terrines, salads, home made soups, and real ale. Can get a bit busy so be prepared for a slow service. Outside patio for summer use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by a colleague. We were very impressed with the hotel & the small town of Cowbridge. We were given Room 5, which was lovely & had everything we needed although we did have noise from people walking upstairs - creeky florboards etc.. The hotel is lovely & I wouldn't change a thing, we booked their winter offer £99 which inc breakfast & £30 towards dinner in the resaurant (per couple) The food, atmosphere & service couldn't be faulted. We really enjoyed our evening. After dinner we wandered across the street & had a drink in 'the old wellington' which is a very nice pub, lovley & modern decor but cosy with it. Breakfast the next morning had a good selection - although the hot selection seemed more luke warm!! Overall we were impressed & wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great Hotel, good food and such polite staff from the main street this hotel looks nothing but inside is a hidden treasure would beat most 5 star hotels for quality of food and service room are spotless and what great value for money only issue which needs addressing is sign posting the carpark which is at the rear of the hotel maybe on website give details of where to find it. Will definetly stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anydutyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been visiting Cowbridge for 40 years, always staying with relatives, and our only experince of The Bear has been the odd drink.This time we were down for a family funeral and our stay at The Bear made it a little easier to cope with. Our reception was rather lukewarm but efficient.. We were given room 44 which was a lovely room, large, warm and well furnished, but when we realised it was above the function suite we asked to be moved. 2 minutes after ringing reception the key to a different room was delivered to our door. Service!
The new room was smaller but perfectly adequate for our needs. We found one or two things that could be addressed, though. The lighting was very poor, for one..Only one bedside lamp and very dim overhead lights. Reading in bed was an impossibility for one of us. Secondly, we could not turn off the stand by light on the TV and that, coupled with the glow from the telephone on the bedside table meant I had to hide under the blanket before I could get to sleep. But those are minor points, really...just annoying.
The breakfasts were superb, and on the second evening when we returned to the hotel after a harrowing day, even though the place was jumping, the staff managed to find us a comfortable place where we could wind down and enjoy a quiet snack.
The staff were all friendly and efficient and we commend Mr Hitchcock for his management.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms our party had in the annexe were all very good. The court yard is a bit noisy though...I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
4.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
460 reviews
4.0 mi away
The West House
The West House
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
189 reviews
5.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
668 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
301 reviews
8.1 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range: $177 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear has origins as far back as the 12th Century, but it's best known as the inn where they changed the horses on the mail run from Cardiff to Swansea. This famous Coaching Inn is steeped in history. Nowadays, this privately owned 3 star hotel is famed for its fine home-cooked food, friendly atmosphere and really good ale. During the 18th Century, Napoleon's troops were held in the 'Bear Pit' en route to London after a failed invasion at Fishguard! The Bear rests in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan, surrounded by beautiful rural hills. The Brecon Beacons and the Welsh Valleys are close by, with breathtaking views. Some of the Valleys still have the mining houses visible as you drive through. The hotel is on the main high street of the historic town of Cowbridge. This chic market town boasts some fabulous boutique shops, lingering walks around the Roman wall and some of the most beautiful town-houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing