We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage, excellant views and great hosts”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Deer View Lodge

This is the entrance for Deer view Lodge when approaching off the A48
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is the entrance for Deer view Lodge when approaching off the A48
This is the front of the deer view with wonderful views of the Deers This is a photo of the kitchen /diner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This is the entrance for Deer view Lodge when approaching off the A48
This is the front of the deer view with wonderful views of the Deers
This is a photo of the kitchen /diner.
The kitchen has an amazing  view
Kitchen with views both ends
The lounge has amazing views of the the Pond/ Meadow/ Deers / and garden
New tiled shower room
Twin bedroom En-suite
One of the New bathrooms
Twin bedroom with bath en suite and wardrobes with two chest of draws
New toilet space
Double bedroom with ample space for clothes ect...
Amazing views from double bedroom
Brand new shower room.
Another View from al fresco dinning table
The pond has a choice of sitting areas
Deer view gardens
A different angle of Deer view
More Deer view flowers in bloom
Trampoline for the younger members maybe?
Gardens
Outside Deer view relaxing over looking Gardens
Deer view Gardens
Places of interest cardiff bay always lots going on!!!!!!!
So many Places of interest.we are in among the best shopping in cardiff and Cowbridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GillT60
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, excellant views and great hosts”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had an amazing time at Deer View. The kitchen view was amazing, and the facilities were all we needed for a long weekend away. The bedrooms and lounge were lovely and comfortable. Only 9 miles from Cardiff, with a local corner shop, café and 3 pubs with good food.
My visit was with my sister and husband from New Zealand and they came away with great memories to take home with them. The hosts, Danielle and Martyn, were lovely, welcoming and friendly. A great weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and lcation
Liked least: nothing I can think of
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Hi Gill, thank you for you review , we are so happy that you had a great stay with us, and we welcome you to say again soon!:))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katydavie...
West wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Absolutely stunning place to stay gutted to be home to reality now!

The deer view has everything you want and need, Peaceful but also has everything you need on your doorstep.

Will definitely been going to stay again. X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to your return !:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie A
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little place”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved Deerview, it was the perfect location for us and the view from the living area, kitchen and master bed was wonderful, very therapeutic.....best of all were our hosts, Danielle and Martyn, they couldn;t have been friendlier and more welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the location and the hosts.
Liked least: Not much in the way of cooking items.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Hi Valerie,
Hope this reply finds you well, and a big thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt G
1 review
“Fantastic 5 star experience. excellent views and hosts”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

my wife and i stayed at the deer view in april 2015 for 2 nights and had a lovely time.

the views of the countryside are excellent and it overlooks the local deer farm, the access by road to cardiff and cowbridge is easy, the accommodation is 5 star and the hosts are extremely welcoming and helpful. i would recommend the deer view to you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Thank you for your kind and positive review, and we look forward to your return stay with us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were very disappointed”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at the property, we were very disappointed! First of all, the house was located right on the A48 - probably the busiest road in the Vale of Glamorgan. So, cars and lorries were literally running through our bedroom, which directly faced the road. If we had had known about this, we would never have booked this place. From the website, it looked like the house was at least 1000 yards away from the road! Second, the place was not appropriately serviced. For example, the oven in the kitchen was covered by months old grease. The lights were not working in one bathroom, and after this had been fixed, we were left without light on the landing because people just swapped the bulb.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
I am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the Deer View
We are situate on the A48 with stunning views of over 80 acres of land it is situate close to the road for easy access. Unfortunately it was not our own website that showed 1000 yards away it was the one of “property lettings” which we will ask them to change! With regards to the other issues these were dealt with as they arose, we always try to put right on the same Day and quests have even thanked us for quick and efficient response. We are sorry that we did not meet your requirements and will work harder to assure this is not a problem in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lalacraig
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accomodation close to Cardiff”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Enjoyed a 4 day stay at "Deer View". Beautiful accommodation kept to a very high standard. Clean, comfortable and only 15 minutes to Cardiff Park & Ride. Owners were very helpful and nothing was too much bother. A wonderful base close to the city, coast and valleys too. We hope to return another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Feeling restful due to lovely accomodation
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
We are very happy that you had a happy stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in this area. Many thanks Dan xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing