We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Barley Mow - CLOSED

The Barley Mow
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: A superb little find, in the heart of the picturesque village, Craig Penllyn. Traditional 18th Century building with many original features, including log fires and low beams. Recently under new management, Freehold pub, with weekly guest ales, and a wide range of spirits & wines. Our menus change to compliment the seasons, always using fresh & local ingredients. We offer everything from A la Carte, Lunch, Bar snacks, Sunday Roast, Home Made Desserts, to private functions, buffets, wedding receptions, all tailored to your specification. We accept Gourmet society cards, and you can follow us on face book. Our Quiz night is the first Thursday of every month & our acoustic open Mic/busker evening is the last Friday of every month. Last but not least why not bring your faithful friends along - as dogs are allowed in our cosy bar area also!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Can't comment on the food because we didn't get that far. Thought we'd head over for a midweek evening bar meal. Checked the website for opening times, no mention of promotions or need to book. Was a busy evening in the restaurant as they had a 'half price' promotion on which was (obviously) popular. The bar was pretty empty however, with a couple of people eating. Asked about ordering a bar meal but told the restaurant was fully booked. Explained that we hadn't booked and wasn't here for the promotion and would happily pay full price - just wanted a quick bar meal (like the other people in the bar). Again, told quite rudely that the restaurant was full.

Sort it out guys - do you serve bar meals or not? And are these promotions for regulars only? I live a mile away in cowbridge and knew nothing of it.

You had your chance - won't be coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amancalledstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Keep clear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Received a Groupon voucher for my birthday, they only had rump steak as they had run out of rib eye and sirloin, also no salmon for my wife, very disappointing meal and then charged extra for pepper sauce, when I phoned the following day they said what did I expect for £24 the price I was unaware of however they have already lost custom due to these remarks and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockerneil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Groupon deal was very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good points: We went in September, the pub itself is nice and the waitress service was very good.

However... we purchased the groupon deal (and the expiry date was extended) so we went end Sept 2012.

Two course steak meal deal (or equivalent value). Unfortunately the menu was seriously reduced for the groupon deal and the only thing on offer in terms of steak was a small thin rump. My wife could not have the salmon even, it was taken off the menu for this deal - only the cheapest menu options were available (not that we wanted the most expensive!). We complained at the severely limited choice and were told that they extended the expiry date because of the huge take up of the offer and apparently, since that time, meat prices had also increased and therefore they had to offer reduced options..

No manager available at the time so we called the next day and he actually said 'what do you expect for the money you paid'.. before hanging up! Actually we expected the two course deal on offer.

His attitude was disgusting... the food was nice but nothing special, and as it is in a rural area we had to drive.. Really wasn't worth the effort. Have complained to Groupon and do not recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jacobsyummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is obviously a destination gastro-pub, well off the beaten track.
Full of character, our expectations were high. This is our preferred type of venue, not too formal and with decent beer as well as the wine list.
Our sharing platter starter was good, not too much cooking involved but an enjoyable start to the meal. The steak surf and turf main was very good, quality meat cooked perfectly. My sea bass was a bit disappointing, with one modestly sized and rather dry fillet (although the nicely cooked vegetables added some interest). But for £18 I would have expected more. The chips were excellent though! We passed on dessert although there was a good choice on offer.
Service was good and the staff pleasant. The music for us was loud and inappropriate to the type of venue (seems to be the case in so many places - is it for the benefit of the customers or the staff?) and didn't encourage us to linger.
Might go again, but probably not in the evening. The lunch / Sunday lunch menus would probably be worth trying and not so expensive as the evening menu,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seelybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and good Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I live in Watford and wanted to take my dad out for Sunday lunch for his 85th birthday. I did an internet search for pubs and restaurants in the Cowbridge area and having perused various sites came across the Barley Mow. I liked the look of the location and the menu and decided to give it a try. I wasn't disappointed. The food was excellent, I had Duck and Chicken Liver Pate to start and it was delicious, this was followed by Roast pork with all the trimmings and Apple Pie and Ice Cream. The pork was cooked exactly how I like it and the Apple pie again was delicious. I'm sure it was totally home made, all too often I find the apples in pie are under-cooked and hard but on this occasion it was cooked perfectly.
Mike our host came and introduced himself which was a really nice touch, the staff were attentive and friendly. The rest of my party were all equally impressed and we will all definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saskatoondave1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing