We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheepleys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheepleys
Ranked #3 of 9 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Roger was there to greet us on arrival and was warm and friendly. The room was very clean and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. One
thing we found which we have not had in any other establishments was a magnifying mirror much
to my wife's delight, apparently it aids in the application of makeup!!!! There is also a guest loung allowing me to watch that nights football match on a large screen. The following morning Roger and Wendy served up an excellent breakfast which saw me back to Lincolnshire without need of further replenishment. All in all a very nice stay and highly recommended. Will use again if ever I am back in the area. Roger & Wendy, thank you very very much.

Room Tip: With horses, a donkey and sheep it is an excellent place for children. You can even ride the donkey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sheepleys is just the sort of b&b I am looking for, but rarely find. Roger and Wendy are excellent welcoming and helpful hosts as are all the horses, donkeys, sheep, cats and dogs. Lovely quiet location - very handy for Llandow motor circuit less than a mile away but also for Cowbridge and Llanwit Major (where The Old Swan provides a wonderful steak and good beers)
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A lovely family run B&B with cozy rooms with lovely views over the Vale of Glamorgan. Fantastic breakfast with a good choice of locally sourced products.Animal lovers are welcome to meet the owners dogs, sheep, horses and Spice and Colin the adorable donkeys who love human company.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at Sheepleys for the National Eisteddfod - only a mile from the site. A warm welcome from Wendy and Roger, a very attractive and quiet room - spotlessly clean ensuite with lots of nice touches - a sheep theme, refreshments and a local information pack. Breakfast was superb- delicious bacon and the Full Monty was very tempting. Wendy couldn't have been more helpful in answer to queries. I would strongly recommend Sheepleys to anyone wanting a stay in a lovely peaceful area.There are dogs, but they are kept well under control.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernazoubres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the annexe at Sheepleys - perfect for us and our 3 dogs. We were made to feel very welcome and the annexe is practical for dogs as well as clean and comfortable. Great enclosed garden for the dogs to access and great local walks. Lovely breakfast and a very warm welcome - strongly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olwyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Sheepleys last year as a stop off on our way down to Pembrokeshire. We stayed in the Annexe at the back of the house which is dog-friendly and just ideal for our needs. The whole place was spotless, the breakfast lovely and I would have no hesitation in staying at Sheepleys again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereandthere2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our (my wife's and my) second visit to Sheepleys. The first time, two years ago, was so good that it was the obvious place to stay for this visit to Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan. We were not wrong.

The first thing one experiences on arrival is Wendy and Roger's warm welcome. The rooms are very comfortable, with small touches that make the difference between a good and a great place to stay. The breakfasts are generous and beautifully cooked and presented.

A couple of points to note:

1. You need your own transport (car, bike, horse...) to get to Sheepleys. Another guest had flown into Cardiff Airport for a weekend event at St Donats Castle and was not sure how she was going to get there and back.

2. You need not to mind dogs. Wend has dogs, cats, horses. The dogs are friendly and are kept well away from guests, but do make their presence known.

We would definitely stay at Sheepleys again. It's well located for some wonderful walks, historic sites, good pubs and eating places, and within easy reach of Cowbridge and Cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbarnabasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowbridge
2.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
419 reviews
2.4 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
118 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cowbridge Cabins
Cowbridge Cabins
#1 of 3 in Cowbridge
39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glyndwr Vineyard
Glyndwr Vineyard
#1 of 9 in Cowbridge
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheepleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheepleys

Property: Sheepleys
Address: LLandow, Cowbridge CF71 7PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the market towns of Cowbridge and Llantwit Major, Sheepleys is the ideal place to stay for weekend breaks, business trips, romantic getaways, visiting family and events in Cardiff. You will appreciate all the comforts expected in this former farmhouse with light and airy rooms which have been tastefully furnished and decorated. Relax in our cosy guest lounge and enjoy a delicious welsh breakfast in our elegant dining room. Twin/double rooms are £70 per night and single occupancy £50. Ample parking. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sheepleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheepleys Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing