We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Fox

The Red Fox
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Charming village pub serving home cooked meals, real ales, great wines. We offer a choice for most diners including Gluten Free and Vegan.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found the pub on the website. It looked lovely, the restaurant in particular, with crisp cotton tablecloths, shame this is only open on certain nights and not on a lunchtime, therefore we had to eat in the bar which wasn't a problem as it was extremely cosy. We were greeted warmly upon arrival, shown to our table and our drinks order taken, after a few moments our drinks arrived and we gave our lunch order to the member of staff, who was very efficient, well informed and friendly. We ordered, steak[rare], gammon and cod. The steak came back medium, we didn't complain as we had already decided we wouldn't be back.
Why is it, in so many cases when you visit, the ladies or the gents, they fall far short of what they should be, SPOTLESS!!!!.They really need a good cleaning and new flooring in the ladies, how unhygienic to have a carpet on the floor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gay_dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    58
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A dissapointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited The Red Fox for the first time recently as we wanted somewhere in the area to meet friends for lunch. This is the first time Tripadvisor has let me down. At the time of writing this review, the pub has 4.5 stars.

The Red Fox is in the pretty village of Penllyn in the Vale of Glamorgan. It is easy to find and has plentiful parking. There is a seating area outside the front of the pub and a large beer garden to the rear.

The staff are lovely. We had a warm welcome and throughout the meal, everyone was friendly, considerate and helpful. However..... we waited over an hour and a half for our food! There was a large table (approx 20) ahead of us but even so, we thought this was an unreasonably long time. I'm afraid that when the food arrived it was also a bit of a dissapointment. I went for the sunday roast and the meat was of fairly poor quality and had been overcooked. It reminded me more of school dinner than a good pub meal. The veg were ok - nothing special but not overcooked.

The bill was was pleasantly low - 4 adults and 3 children, non-alcoholic drinks, maincourses only..... just over £60. However,, to be honest, I would rather the food had been better and the bill had been more like £80.

I always feel a bit bad giving a critical review to a pub/restaurant where the staff are so nice. However, the food was really not great and I wouldn't want another Tripadvisor user to have the same dissapointment we had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, friendly staff, what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've just returned home with my family from a very enjoyable Sunday lunch at the Red Fox, Penllyn - what an absolute corker of a place!
A beautiful country pub restaurant, it has a relaxed, homely feel with a welcome as warm as the weather (heatwave now hitting 28 degrees - phew!). We were met at the door by smiling happy faces and were shown straight through to be seated in the restaurant. Tables here are well spaced and with fourteen of us for lunch, the waiting staff were exceptionally efficient, taking our orders and even going out of their way to slightly vary the menu options to accommodate our preferences. After ordering, drinks were served promptly with food arriving after a very acceptable pause. The food here is delicious - I had the homemade crab-cake with chilli jam which I can definitely recommend, and for main, the salmon with a tasty leak sauce, new potatoes and salad was just perfect! Other members of the family opting for a traditional Sunday roast agreed there was a generous portion of pork, turkey and lamb and the accompanying vegetable were both plentiful and well chosen. With a further choice of puddings to tempt even the strictest weight-watchers, we finally rounded off the meal with teas, coffees and the slightly indulgent but much appreciated 'floater' coffee liqueurs. The whole meal, plus assorted coffees and drinks came in at an average of twenty pounds per head and for this, it represents excellent value for money. However, counting in the friendly, unhurried, 'looked after' experience we received, the cost is the only thing below par about this place.
Well done Red Fox! This is one place we'll definitely be revisiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Came for a meal at lunchtime after a friend recommended. There was a warm welcome, great service and the food was excellent and very well priced. Had Brie and the whitebait to start and Thai green curry and foxy burger for mains. Special mention to the week day lunchtime bar lady/waitress who made us feel really welcome and advised on serving times, booking etc in the future if we were eating at the weekend etc. The food is traditional pub grub, sometimes with a few twists on the specials menu etc

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MPSKEETY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
153 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent As Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I frequent the Red Fox on a monthly basis as I work near by.

Service is always attentive and friendly. The food is fresh and of a high standard, perhaps the portions are a little large.

Overall it offers great food at a very good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Fox also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Red Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing