We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ty Mawr Mansion Christmas House Party 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Mawr Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cilcennin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ty Mawr Mansion Christmas House Party 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived Christmas Eve for three nights, to a wonderfully decorated Hotel. Our room was really warm, comfortable and very well appointed. The food was out of this world. Martin and Cath and staff are so friendly and helpful. Boxing Day we had a clay shoot which was really good fun, unfortunately it rained. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants excellent food and a relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
207
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights in December 2012 and can confirm that both the hotel and the restaurant lived up to our expectations. The food really was fine dining and the service warm and attentive. The host Martin makes you most welcome. Three public rooms add to the feeling of space and quality. T & T

Room Tip: Rooms are all significantly larger than you could expect and the suites just delightful. They don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Smaller country houses make the best kind of hotel in my opinion, and Ty Mawr is no exception. It's small enough to feel homely, but big enough to offer everything that you could possibly want or need in a hotel. Martin and his wife are very welcoming and down-to-earth, and the rest of the staff are perhaps the friendliest I have ever met. My partner and I stayed in the Keira Knightley suite which has oodles of space to enjoy in comfort, and a fantastic jacuzzi bath! The public areas are beautifully decorated, breakfast was superb and dinner was out of this world. I was expecting it to be good from what I'd heard from others, but not that good! Thank you all so much for making our brief stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: If you're looking to spoil yourselves and feel like film stars, the Keira Knightley suite should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blorenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I know that Martin and Cath have worked incredibly hard for years to establish Ty Mawr and I had the pleasure of experiencing their hospitality there last weekend. Their reputation is fully deserved.
A really pleasant stay and for me the standout experience was the breakfast. Fabulous. I'd recommend any and all of the croissants, black pudding and eggs.
On top of that, in common with many other commenters, we were made to feel especially welcome and Martin provided us with his highly personal and unique attention at all times!
Well worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Martin makes you feel like you are visiting family (the ones you like) The food is fantastic, the breakfast croissants were actually as good as we had in Paris and that is extremely rare. I am writing this from the Keira Knightley suite which is definately worth the extra few pounds if you are planning a romantic break. If you are looking for a place to relax and recharge your batteries then I suggest a visit.

Room Tip: Stay in the Keira Knightley suite, it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was lovely to return to Ty Mawr for a relaxing two day break. As usual, we were warmly greeted and throughout our stay received first class service from Martin and his team. This is certainly the place to stay if you want to relax in luxury and comfortable surroundings enjoying fine food of a very high standard - taste buds are starting to melt just thinking about it! A stay at Ty Mawr is definately highly recommended. We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Stayed in Kiera Knightly suite which was special but know from previous visits that other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 707Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tymawrmansion, Owner at Ty Mawr Mansion, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you Steve and Sandra Knight for your lovely review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your comments to our team here.
We look forward to tempting your taste buds in the future and look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ty Mawr restaurant was a perfect experience with friendly staff and atmosphere in a beautiful old stone Mansion. We've dined out every weekend over the past four years in a variety of establishments throughout Ceredigion. This is by far the BEST in a class of its own, well done to Leslie and Catherine we will be back for another gourmet experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NormWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tymawrmansion, Owner at Ty Mawr Mansion, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you NormWales for your lovely review on Tripadvisor,
We try to offer a mix of good food, relaxing surroundings, and attentive and friendly, but no over bearing staff, so that our guests can experience the best local and regional produce in Ceredigion produced to a high standard.
We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilcennin
7.3 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
10.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.4 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Mansion

Property: Ty Mawr Mansion
Address: Cilcennin SA48 8DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cilcennin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cilcennin
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Mawr Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Country House in Ceredigion to have been awarded 5-Star Status, Ceredigion Tourism Business of the Year Award Winner, 2 AA Rosettes for Restaurant and AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Award for Wales. These are some of the accolades that have been achieved since the opening of Ty Mawr in 2005. Luxurious property with exceptional food, this is truly the new brand of Country House, with beautiful extra-large bedrooms with modern up- to-date facilities and not a hint of stuffiness. Ideal place to relax and unwind in peace and tranquility, yet ideally located for Aberaeron, Brecon Beacons, Heritage Coast and the surrounding areas. Chosen to host the Hollywood stars Keira Knightly, Sienna Miller and Matthew Rhys whilst filming in the area for a whole month. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Mansion Hotel Cilcennin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing