We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carters Rest Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Glendale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful location in early September 2012. Steve and Julie were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed visiting with them and they offered excellent advice on things to see and do. The breakfast's were wonderful and the few from the dining area is breathtaking. We also had supper each night we were there and it was excellent as well. The peace and solitude of the location was delightful. We just wish that we could have stayed much longer. Our room was clean and comfortable and we slept like babies. Weather was unpredictable, but we still enjoyed going to nearby Neist Point lighthouse and hiking to the Old Man of Storr while we were there. Steve and Julie will probably remember us as the "Hoosiers" that visited, and we will always remember our way too short a stay at the wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Suite. It was outstanding with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick51Irene53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
329
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kronberg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights with Julie and Steve and from the moment we arrived, we felt instantly at home, receiving a very warm welcome.

We had room no. 1, having a wonderful huge bed, tv, minibar, tea, coffee and even an ipad was provided (free of charge). The internet-connection was very good and if you were forced to stay indoors due to bad weather, Steve has tons of DVDs and books to choose from.The bathroom is well sized with a shower and a jacuzzi tub. The towels were changed daily (even though this wouldn't have been necessary) and all rooms throughout the house are very clean and have their own charm. Really feels like home.

Breakfast is included and tasted just lovely. Don't miss out on the porridge ! Breakfast (and dinner if you choose to eat at Carters Rest) is taken in a little alcove with huge windows providing a fantatic view out to the sea. There are even books about birds and binoculars to watch them.

Since we spent 4 nights at Carters Rest, we choose to dine 2 times with Steve and Julie, the other 2 nights we visited the "Three Chimneys" and "The Old School" restaurants. Both restaurants are well worth a visit, offering great food, but to be honest, since Julie is a terrific cook, the dinner we had at Carters was just as wonderful. Don't miss out on the venison and the selfmade icecream !

Carters Rest lies very secluded and it takes some time to get there, but the location is fantastic and excatly what we were looking for. Getting away from hectic life, this place is truly paradise.

Julie and Steve are doing anything in their power to make your stay as lovely as possible, providing fun talks and tons of useful informations about Skye. We can't really give enough praise to both of them. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 provides you with everything you can wish for. Huge bed, mini bar, TV, iPad and the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_Natascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were staying at the Seagull's Nest for just one night, arriving late and leaving early the next morning. Despite this, Julie and Steve went out of their way to make us welcome.

The apartment was spotless, and contained everything we needed. The decor and equipment is smart and practical, and we felt comfortable and at home.

The double bed and the sofa bed were comfortable, and this and the complete peace and quiet resulted in a great night's sleep. A fresh and comprehensive continental breakfast was provided.

All in all, I can't fault the Seagull's Nest, and it'll be my first choice the next time I travel to Skye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner and I have just spent 2 nights here staying in the Self Catering Sea Gulls Lodge. The introduction in the hand book describes the journey there as battling through sucidal sheep and taking longer than we thought. This matches our experience, but the journey is well worth it to get to this beautiful setting.

Julie and Steve were most accomodating especially after we had to change our plans at short notice. On arrival (quite late) the heating had been turned on and the fridge was filled with next mornings breakfast. The accomodation was lovely and spacious with a decent sized kitchen/diner with everything you would need to cook a normal meal at home. The bedroom and bathroom was well decorated with fluffy towels and a memory foam matress.

The area is remote, but dramatic. You are 3 miles from Neiss Point, which can either be driven to or walked in 45 mins. A walk back around the cliffs on the Glendale Penisula is well worth the effort. Maps and Guide books are provided in the accomodation.

If you want remote and quiet then go here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotlandwell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in the Seagulls Nest self catering apartment for 3 nights with my 10 year old son. Was pleasantly surprised at standard of apartment. Very modern and bright and super clean with all appliances catered for.

We received a very warm welcome from steve and julie, fabulous hosts who were only to happy to help with any needs that we may have had. Truly fantastic value for accomodation as well. Plentiful supply of eggs from the hens in the garden, bread and milk in fridge. Perfect!

Ideal location for glendal and surrounding areas. Fantastic scenery, truly breathtaking views. Very close to Neist point lighthouse which is a must visit. Especially late evening when sun going down. Also worth visiting the coral beach (just follow road through dunvegan past the castle.)

All in all we had a very busy break, with the seagulls nest apartment providing the ideal haven to relax in at the end of the day.

Well done steve and julie for showing how a guesthouse should be run.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a brief, but fantastic stay at Carters. The place is very remote, but offers the most stunning views you can imagine. Steve & Julie were great hosts. Steve knew we were running late making our way to their place and offered to make dinner reservations for us at a near by restaurant. We could have been more pleased with the offer and with dinner. The room we stayed in was very nice and quiet, which we thoroughly enjoyed after a long day of driving. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the self catering accomodation named Seagulls rest for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Steve and Julie gave us warm welcome on our arrival, showed us around their modern and well equipped accomodation before pointing out Neist Point a short drive away, a perfect location to blow the cobwebs away from the long journey. Some lovely touches added to the enjoyment of the stay such as fresh egg's from their hens and use of the laptop. Additionally they were most helpful with organising the short taxi ride to The Three Chimeny's restaurant. We would without doubt stay here again on another visit to Skye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale
11.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
142 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
40.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hillstone Lodge
Hillstone Lodge
#1 of 3 in Colbost
201 reviews
15.8 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carters Rest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carters Rest Guesthouse

Property: Carters Rest Guesthouse
Address: Carters Rest Carters Rest 8 Upper Milovaig, Glendale IV55 8WY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Glendale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Carters Rest Guesthouse & Self Catering situated in Milovaig on the west coast of Skye. Overlooking the Little Minch and Loch Pooltiel we have stunning views of the highest cliffs on Skye, Dunvegan Head. From our dining room you can enjoy the outer Hebridean island of Harris . If you are looking for seclusion in an area populated with wildlife this is the perfect destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carters Rest Guesthouse Isle Of Skye, Scotland - Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing