We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we were hoping for”

Review of Blue Sea Cottage

Blue Sea Cottage, Lower Milovaig, has superb views over Loch Pooltiel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Sea Cottage, Lower Milovaig, has superb views over Loch Pooltiel.
The generous family home is a traditional house. Through the hallway there is a family sitting room with TV, DVD and open fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Blue Sea Cottage, Lower Milovaig, has superb views over Loch Pooltiel.
The generous family home is a traditional house.
Through the hallway there is a family sitting room with TV, DVD and open fire.
There is an open plan kitchen and dining area.
The dining area has a wood burner giving a great atmosphere whilst sampling the local food.
The sun lounge has amazing views, a wood burning stove and music system, perfect for relaxing in.
The sun lounge also has access to the garden and BBQ area.
The master bedroom.
Cosy twin bedroom.
The family bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower. There is a W/C downstairs as well.
The garden and BBQ area, perfect for the long summer evenings!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glendale, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AlainaMRZ
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everything we were hoping for”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking for a place to be away from everything for a while, and we found it at Blue Sea Cottage.
Our view was incredible, the fire was cozy, the bathtub was awesome...the property had everything we needed to facilitate a needed getaway.
This place feels like the end of the world. We only saw one neighbor the entire time we were there. There is a maintenance vehicle that sits open and apparently abandoned in front of the property which is unfortunate. It's not a big deal but it's a surprising eyesore in he midst of so much beauty.
I would come back to this place.
We had no issues. We loved every bit. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dangary
Todmorden
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A wonderful stay at Blue Sea Cottage. This is probably the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in. The accommodation is excellent with everything you need for a memorable stay. The views from the large window are even better than the photographs. We were blessed with wonderful weather all week and made full use of the BBQ and patio area. There are some great walks from the cottage, with the dramatic Neist Point and lighthouse only 5 minutes drive away. The only downside is the derelict building site and abandoned caravan set down in front of the cottage. Don't let this put you off. It's not visible from the window, so didn't spoil our stay, just a pity this is allowed by the authorities in such a beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquibry...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have been regular customers to Blue Sea Cottage for the last few years, loved it and treated it as we would our own home. When booking our fourth visit, we were contacted by the property manager regarding the 'state of a pot' left by ourselves at the end of our stay. On our departure from the cottage. I had thoroughly cleaned the kitchen, wiped down all surfaces, cleaned floor, hoovered all rooms and cleaned the two bathrooms. There had been one pot left steeping as the cleaning utensils required were not available, however everything else was left pristine- my husband commented that the cleaner would have had an easy time of I! It turns out that he house keeper was on her own that morning due to personal reasons and was perhaps having a difficult day. We were regular, returning customers with a proven tack record and it seems very bad business sense. We rent villas every year all over Europe, returning to many properties and have never encountered anything like this before. The house is beautiful with wonderful views and a lovely ambiance and it is with deep regret that we will never return as a family where we have spent lovely holidays. If you are prepared to holiday in a 'show home' and ensure that you leave it in 'show home' condition (no need to hire a cleaner) , then this is the place for you and you will love it. However, if you are looking for a holiday ( still ensuring that the property is left in a respectable condition) then think twice as there are plenty of other beautiful holiday properties in skye with ' holiday ' expectations. It has taken me a long time to write this however I feel that others need to know.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2016
Many thanks for posting your review regarding your stay at Blue Sea Cottage. Unfortunately after you left the cottage last October, the house keeper contacted us to advise that it had been left in a poor state and additional cleaning had been required. We were surprised and somewhat saddened by this but as you were regular guests we did not make any issue of it and said nothing to you at the time. Then when you came to re-book Blue Sea Cottage we politely mentioned there were a few small issues so it would not happen again.


I am sorry that you were unhappy we raised the issue, we were very polite and said you were most welcome to stay. We do aim to keep the cottage as nice as we can for our guests and have many regular visitors on account of this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ms”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place was stunning. Very remote but so peaceful and calm and relaxing. The cottage was beautiful with fabulous views no expense spared in the cottage. You definitely need transport it is very remote. The honesty boxes are lovely. Fab places to eat as well. Audrey was sweet and extremely helpful. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim C
Insch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing Peaceful and well equipped”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a very relaxing week at Blue Sea Cottage.

The cottage is VERY well equipped. It was on par with your family home in terms of cooking facilities, bedding, linen, music, broadband, Wifi, music docking station, DVD's and anything else you could think of or need.

There is a comfy double bed and two singles, however the cottage is huge and provides enormous amounts of space for many more than the 4 people it could sleep.

There is no need to take anything except your clothes and a smile (and a warm waterproof coat!) as everything else is provided, including shower gel and soap in the bathroom.

The cottage is warm (underfloor heating) and cosy. We only lit the log fire to add to the atmosphere and spent most of the week enjoying a glass of wine and watching the nautical traffic out of the MASSIVE picture window in the large lounge - we even got to see the Sea Eagles !

It is a short drive to the Three Chimneys restaurant, and only a little further on to the village of Dunvegan (approx. 10 mins from the cottage).

Can be a little hard to find in the dark so study a map before you go as it's not that confusing with the benefit of daylight - maybe a sign at the end of the driveway would help.

I would HIGHLY recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Trying to find it in the dark.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extraordi...
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you so much for your review of the cottage. It's great to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the views so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing